Woodturned Jewelry Box

micktoon
Regular User

Woodturned Jewelry Box

Post by micktoon »

Hello everyone ,
I thought I would post some photos of a wood jewelry box I have made for a birthday present , the box and finial is made from ash and the lid and ring pegs from mahogany. The design is just something I came up with and the idea is the rings will go on the pegs, earrings on the shelf area and bracelets and necklaces in the lower hollowed out section. I will post photos of the box getting made at various stages.

This is the finished box .

First the wood blank is cut to shape on the band saw.

I am quite new to woodturning and was unsure about what tools and system to use cutting the shelf part out so a more experienced friend helped me with this part of the box, the marroon lathe is his machine we did this part on his lathe ( thanks for the help John :grin: ). The underside of the box is turned to shape first while it is held with a faceplate and screws, the wood the screws go into will be removed later, the recess in the bottom of the box is where it will be held in the chuck for turning the inside.

Once the outside is done , the face plate is removed and the half turned blank turned around so the inside can be hollowed out the expanding jaws on the chuck now hold the box via the recess in its base. This is done with various gouges and then the box is sanded to remove tool marks, the outside can also be sanded while held from the base.

I will post more stages of the lid and pegs getting done and the finish being applied tomorrow. I hope this is of intrest to someone and please ask questions if you have any.
Thanks Mick.
Wendyf
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Woodturned Jewelry Box

Post by Wendyf »

It is lovely.
micktoon
Regular User

Post by micktoon »

Hi Wendy , Thanks, I am glad you like it. I have a bit more time than I thought so will post more pictures of the box getting made.