Craven Harrison’s – Jeremiah 1740 vs Jeremiah 1741

HarroOz

Craven Harrison’s – Jeremiah 1740 vs Jeremiah 1741

Post by HarroOz »

Hello fellow Genealogist’s and Craven Historians.

I am an Australian Harrison Family researcher with ancestral ties to many of the areas around the Craven area. My GGG Grandfather William and his son Henry are in my line (from Earby) and almost all the Harrison’s buried at Broughton All Saints Church are my relatives.

I have a research request that is born out of my inability to solve a puzzle that has haunted me and many other Harrison researchers for many years. I have exhausted all my accessible on-line resources, co-researchers ideas and my interpretations and understanding of the information that I either hold or have accessed.

To make a long story short and hopefully clear, there were two Jeremiah Harrison’s Christened at Broughton.

In 1740 Jeremiah to William Harrison (laborer) and Martha (Nutter) of Elslack.
In 1741 Jeremiah to Francis Harrison (Taylor) and Mary (Greenwood) of Elslack.

One of these Jeremiah Harrison’s married Mary Clark and they farmed at Smearber Farm in Elslack for many years, Jeremiah Lived until he was 90 - 1830 and Mary until 76 – 1818, both apparently buried at Broughton All Saints, but the headstones are missing.

My quest is to determine which Jeremiah Harrison married Mary Clark, the son of William OR the son of Francis? Because of this confusion there are many published Harrison Family Trees that are split, some go the William direction and some go the Francis direction. One is clearly wrong?