OLD BARLICK BY WILLIAM ATKINSON

Post Reply
User avatar
Stanley
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 38185
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 12:01
Location: Barnoldswick. Nearer to Heaven than Gloria.

OLD BARLICK BY WILLIAM ATKINSON

Post by Stanley » 20 Apr 2012, 15:15

OLD BARLICK
BY
W. P. ATKINSON.


Foreword.
When I first took an interest in the local history of Barnoldswick I naturally looked at what published work existed. To be truthful, it was very disappointing. But then I came across a manuscript history which had never been published which was written around 1914/1915 by William P Atkinson, a local tailor and outfitters. In the later version there seem to have been further drafts and additions as dates as late as 1922 are mentioned in the added text. The most complete draft carries this inscription on the second page; Presented to Mr and Mrs Alban Atkinson (unbound) by his father W. P. Atkinson, 36 Skipton Road Barnoldswick.

What follows is a goldmine for the local historian as it is full of the ‘trivial’ facts that never seem to find their way into more formal histories. It is a gold mine of names and incidents that give a very clear impression of the close-knit and basically caring society of the time.

In all the years I have been using Atkinson as a source I have found few errors. He can be regarded as entirely trustworthy. Embedded in the text are clues as to what his views were on certain matter in the town but which good manners and a healthy respect for the power of those in authority dictated. Reading between the lines, while he pays lip service to the works of the Bracewells he has his doubts and quite correctly identifies the end of the Bracewell hegemony with the take-off point for modern Barlick.

His views on the benefits of access to rational and healthy exercise as a relief from the pressures of work are startlingly modern. In many ways William Atkinson was a man born before his time and what he describes as his ‘Little History’ is a marvellous resource and well worth close reading

A word about copyright. I am certain that no copyright exists in this work and so I felt safe in digitising it so that it could have a far wider audience. If I have offended anyone by doing this I apologise. On the whole though, I have a feeling Old William would be tickled pink if he knew that his work was regarded as important enough to disseminate more widely. What would he have made of the world wide web I wonder. Read on and learn, he has much to teach you.

SCG/27 April 2004














Very Ancient History
BARNOLDSWICK or, as it is more anciently called, Bernulfeswick and also Bernoldswick, is a place of great antiquity and probably derives its name from Bernulf, a Saxon Thain and ‘wick’ which according to some of our Saxon glossarists signifies a grange, villa, mansion castle or fortified place. However this may be, it was most certainly a place of some importance during the Saxon period of domination and at the time of Edward the Confessor’s survey it was in the possession of one Gamel, a Saxon.

1041 Edward the Confessor was crowned king in 1041 and he reigned 25 years which brings us up to the date of William the Conqueror, namely 1066.

The Gamel, above mentioned, had been the Saxon possessor at the time of King Edward’s survey and that Berenger de Todeni was the first Norman grantee, and that he transferred it to Roger of Poictou who was at this time Lord of Lancaster and also of Clitheroe Castle.

1085. THE DOOMSDAY BOOK
This great statistical account of the condition of England was drawn up by the Special Commissioners sent down into every shire to make enquiry into its resources, population and ownership. Therein was set down the name of every landholder and the valuation of his manors and an account of the services and money due from him to the King. We therefore conclude that this Roger de Poictou was in possession of Barnoldswick at this time.

The ancient Parish of Bernoldswick comprehended Bracewell, Marton, and perhaps Thornton. From the records of Doomsday it appears that King William bestowed upon his favourite warrior Roger of Poictou who had contributed so largely to his victory at the battle of Hastings, three hundred and ninety eight Manors. Viz; three in Essex; fifty nine in Suffolk; Ten in Norfolk; eleven in Nottinghamshire; Seven in Derbyshire; forty four in Lincolnshire; Seventy six in Yorkshire; and one Hundred and eight in Lancashire, including that fine tract or Country lying between the rivers Mersey and Ribble, from their source to the ocean, and in which Barnoldswick was included, so that Barnoldswick must have formed part of those vast possessions bestowed by the Conqueror on Roger of Poictou.

Roger, like the other great Leaders of the Norman Army among whom England was divided, made a sub-division among his Barons, who held their land from him by Military Service on the same tenure by which he held his from the Sovereign.

Sensible of the oppression exercised upon the Saxons, he seems to have been apprehensive of their rising against his Countrymen, and prudently provided the means of defence, not only by building Castles, but by the appointment of those Barons on whose fidelity he could rely to places which were most liable to annoyance from an enemy. According to ‘Gregson’s Fragments" as quoted by Corry in his History of Lancashire, we are informed that Roger Pictavensis, then Earl of Lancaster, prudently stationed his barons in the most dangerous places to preserve his Earldom in quiet, and that amongst the hills of Clidero, he placed ILBERT DE LACY a Baron, near the adjacent passage into Yorkshire.

Ilbert Le Lacy, a Norman Knight in the train of William the Conqueror, had vast estates allotted to him by that Sovereign, One Hundred and Fifty Manors in the West Riding of Yorkshire, besides others in Nottinghamshire and Lincolnshire. This Knight established himself at Pontefract and built a castle there and enclosed it within a Park eight miles in circumference.

Ilbert De Lacy died early in the reign of King William Rufus and these vast domains descended to his eldest Son Robert and afterwards to Robert's son Ilbert and finally to Ilbert's Brother Henri de Lacy. We may here presume that these large estates about Bernoldswick had become the possessions of The De Lacy family, and that they (either from death or other causes) no longer remained in the possession of Roger of Poictou.

1147. Henry de Lacy in performance of a vow made during a dangerous sickness founded a Monastery at Barnoldswick, began the building, finished the offices and necessary Lodgings, and in the year 1147 translated thither twelve Monks and Ten Conversi under Alexander prior of Fountains, who named the place Mount Saint Mary. For the support of his new foundation he assigned the whole town of Barnoldswick, and probably the Church too: as we are expressly assured, that Henry Murdoc, Archbishop of York, by his pontifical authority confirmed it to the monks. [We are now quoting from Whitaker's History of Craven] Nothing is more blind or mischievous than Liberality, when it loses sight of Justice, for here was a Rector in possession of his benefice and a parish with legal claims upon their own Church neither of whom, it seems, were disposed to make a compliment of their rights to these intruders, The Priest, and his clerks continued to perform divine offices in the Choir and the people assembled as usual, but the Monks bore this inoffensive and even laudable conduct with such extreme impatience that the Abbot, in a rage, levelled the church with the ground.

Even our historian Serlo acknowledged that this was done ‘minus consulte’ The dispute was not brought before the Metropolitan, who was himself a monk. But it seems probable that Alexander had some apprehension of an impartial sentence, and, therefore avocated the cause to Rome. This step had the intended effect, The Rector and parishioners were put to silence, and their plea dismissed with contempt; for it seemed a Godly work, and deserving of encouragement. that a Church should be destroyed to make room for a Monastery; that a lesser good should give way to a greater; and that cause prevail which would ultimately be most beneficial to the interests of religion.

I (says Doctor Whitaker) never think of this sentence without astonishment. The pernicious doctrine that ends sanctify means prevailed it seems thus early in the Church, and a vile casuistry had silenced alike the voice of natural conscience and
the precepts of Scripture. Such judges, though Ecclesiastics of the highest rank never reflected, perhaps did not even know that a ‘woe’ had been denounced in the Old Testament against ‘him that buildeth his house by iniquity, and his chambers by wrong.’, or that is had been forbidden in the New Testament to ‘do evil that good may come’ The work however, thus inauspiciously begun, did not prosper in the hands of the Monks; The climate would not suffer their crops to ripen and after six
years of labour and disappointment, they abandoned Barnoldswick in despair June 14th, 1153, and retired to Kirkstall. ‘The Doctor's astonishment’ writes the Author of the History of Kirkstall Abbey, is the only thing astonishing in the affair. Long previous to the above period, the See of Rome had applied the same infamous principals to its own aggrandisement, and has since continued the practice on every seasonable [sic] and safe occasion. The consecrated Banner with which the Pope presented William Duke of Normandy to inspire into his Army a holy zeal for seizing and adding England to the spiritual Territory of the Pontiff was stained with this abomination.

After the abandonment of Barnoldswick by the Monks not many years elapsed before the Parish Church was rebuilt, though at a distance of a mile and a half from the former. This change of situation was intended for the convenience of Marton which did not long want it as we are told that the Church at Marton must have been founded and the Parish separated from that of Barnoldswick previous to the year 1188.

The same may be said of Bracewell Church, for in the Feoffment in which that benefice was conveyed to Kirkstall by Richard, son of Roger Tempest, who lived in the Reign of Henry 1st. betwixt 1100 and 1135 we have satisfactory proof of this assertion. Also, with respect to the Church at Thornton, the tradition is that Thornton, which also included the Townships of Eureby (Earby) and Kelbrook, was originally a portion of Barnoldswick. And it is presumed that the Church was built about the same time as Marton or shortly after that period, and. thence would become separated from Bernoldswick. History tells us that the proposed Monastery which was intended for Bernoldswick, were never advanced beyond the humble offices constructed for the reception of the Monks by Henry De Lacy the founder. Yet after six centuries and a half, the situation of the Monastery is still remembered, and in some degree visible. It stood on the brook immediately to the west of the village where tile and lead pipes and other articles have been dug up within memory. (Dr. Whitaker's 1805 Edition, page 57).

The writer having searched all through this Old history, is unable to discover any actual date of the original Saxon church inhabitants up to the time of its destruction by the infuriated Abbot and his Monks from Fountains Abbey, who arrived here in 1147. Also the same may be said as to the exact situation of that sacred Edifice which has allays remained a matter of doubtful uncertainty.

Again the exact date of the erection of the present St, Mary-le-Gill Church is somewhat confused, with the departure of the Monks in 1153. A few years must have elapsed before the new Parish Church was built at Gill. and taking four years or more for the accomplishment of this work, this would bring the date of the St, Mary-le-Gill Church up to 1157, which is a most reasonable conclusion, and the writer cannot understand how or why the date of Gill Church is so often erroneously given as 1147 which was the date of the advent of the Monks who lived here for six years afterwards.

[End of the first period]


Medieval history up to 1800

The old Parish Church of St Mary le Gill stands upon the brink of a deep glen, from whence it derives its name and is in close proximity to the parish of Thornton-in-Craven.

The Choir, from its long lancet windows, three of which occupy their original position in the East end, together with its slender buttresses, seems to be the identical building by which the Monks replaced their own works of havoc, about the reign of King Henry the second 1154 to 1189

But the Church has been raised at a much later period. The steeple which is strong and handsome, has the following date CCCXXIIII intended for 1524 the millenary number being omitted. There are three bells, all having inscriptions on as follows; First Bell, ‘Peace and good neighbourhood’ date omitted; second bell, ‘Render unto Caesar etc. And unto God etc'’ 1723; Third bell, ‘William Drake, Churchwarden 1723’

These bells were re-hung in the year 1880, and new floor and also new framework by Mr. Thomas Mallaby of Masham, at a cost of £65-10-6.

In the year 1913 a new oak credence bracket was placed on the North side of the Communion, and into which was inserted the old oak block, showing the arms of Kirkstall Abbey, namely three swords in fess, this relic formerly was underneath the Chancel Window and immediately over the Lord's Table and the same is undoubtedly the most ancient piece of carving now in the possession of the Church,

In a ditch, near this Church, were found some years ago an Old English tankard of wood with a broad rim of copper gilt and richly chased, together with a small jar of bell-metal, they were probably thrown there in some of the plundering excursions of the Scots.

The Parish of Barnoldswick contained the hamlets of Salterforth, Brockden, and Barnoldswick Coates.

William Drake Esquire, Justice of the Peace in 1667, was the Owner of Barnoldswick Coates Estates (which at one time belonged to Salley Abbey). He had a Son and Grandson William successively possessed of the estate, the latter of whom died in the year 1758.

The Drakes built Coates Hall and after the year 1758 these Estates became the property of William Bagshaw Esq. The gravestones of the Drakes' family are on the floor within the Communion of Gill Church. Three infant children of the late Rev. R. Milner were given the same sacred resting place, Adelaide was interred there within the writer's memory.


1183. In this year the Barnoldswick Coates Estates were purchased from Mr. Bagshaw by Mr, Roundell’s Trustees, and during his Minority. And the same are now the property of Lieutenant Colonel Roundell of Gledstone House. Since 1915


the Gledstone Estate and including Coates. Colonel Roundell has disposed of his Estate to Sir Amos Nelson.

The Old Monks House, Barnoldswick, and also the Monkroyd Field which still retain their old names. Monks House (now rebuilt and in the possession of Mr. Mark Hacking) was originally the Farmhouse, and had a saw-pit in front of same. in the days of Old John Dean, who had sons, Thomas Benjamin, William, Henry and Aminadab. The central ward now stands on the greater part of the land once belonging to that farm. The Monkroyd Field is said to be the site on which the Monastery of the Twelfth Century was to have been built. It may be presumed that the Monks' at that time were in some way connected with the Monks' House. There is a date at the back entrance of Monks House 1735 which no doubt has been put there during some alterations of same.

The following is a list of incumbents to Gill Church, Barnoldswick from 1596 to 1890-1923.

1596 Robert Coldocke
1613 John Eastwood
1626 Francis Peele
1643 George Stott
1671 Thomas Garfot
1678 Isaac Lancaster. (also vicar of Bracewell)
1717 Arthur Tempest. (also vicar of Bracewell)
1750 Charles Pinder
1751 John Riley
1772 Wilfred Burton. (also minister of Newchurch in Pendle)
1785 David Greenough
1791 Edward Capstick
1820 Mordaunt Barnard BA
1836 Richard Milner BA. (first vicar)
1870 Samuel Henry Ireson MA
1879 Thomas Ayes
1887 John Woods
1890 Frederick William Patten
1923 John Calderbank MA


Even so it is now as in the days of Homer when the great poet wrote:

‘Like leaves on trees, the race of man is found,
Now green in youth, now withering on the ground,
Another race, the following spring supplies,
They fall, successive, and successive rise,
So generations in their course decay,
So flourish these, when those are passed away.

1694. The Baptist church at Barnoldswick
is acknowledged to be the oldest in this part of the Country. The first records are unfortunately lost, and the real knowledge begins with Crossley's purchase of property in 1694. The Church register dates from 1697. There was however, a Church here as early as 1500, for at that time there were at least six eminent Baptist families in and around Barnoldswick namely - the Mitchells, Higgins, Edmondsons. Hargreaves, Barretts, and Greenwoods. In 1661 certain property consisting of a messuage, barn, croft and garden, held in trust by three of the members namely Edmondson, Higgins and Watson, was conveyed to John Taylor, another member, who in 1694 transferred it to David Crossley the Minister of the Church whom in 1701 transferred it to an Elder of the Church named John Barrett who ultimately bequeathed it to the society as a meeting house for the perpetual use of the Baptists at Barnoldswick. This property still remains in the possession of this Church also this good Christian man John Barrett, before his death made a Deed of Gift to the Baptist Church as follows: I, John Barrett, of Wood End in the Parish of Barnoldswick, in the County of York, yeoman, do Give devise and bequeath unto William Mitchell, Barnoldswick; John Hargreaves of Bracewell, Yeoman; John Greenwood the elder and John Greenwood the younger of Cockerhill, Foulridge, All that messuage, Garden and one close called Park or Parrock, situate in Barnoldswick afore said. The Trustees to pay all rents or incomes arising from this property half yearly to the Minister or Supplies of the Baptist Church at Barnoldswick (abbreviated). This Deed of Gift was dated 1731.

In the year 173- another member named William Mitchell bequeathed the sum of £30 on similar conditions. The Baptist historian tells us of the sufferings and trials of this Church in its early years, and even of the twice imprisonment in York Castle of one of their preachers from Bacup named William Mitchell about A.D. 1664.

Mr. Alvery Jackson, a minister who introduced the singing of Psalms and Hymns and Spiritual Songs, had a very severe task in persuading this Church to abandon their Songless Service. He died in 1704. The next Minister was John Parker, he died in 1793. After which Nathan Smith became very popular as a Minister and in A.D. J797 erected the new Chapel which was considered to be a handsome and commodious sanctuary. Nathan Smith died in 1831.

1770. The Leeds and Liverpool Canal, which traverses across the whole of this Parish viz. Coates, Barnoldswick and Salterforth was commenced in 1770, and not entirely completed until the year 1816. The total estimated cost being one million pounds. The summit pool, which commences at Greenberfield, has a fall eastward to Leeds of 409 feet, and has 44 locks. And at the Barrowford Locks, the fall westward to Liverpool is 431 feet. This gives the approaching sea Level.

The summit tunnel at Foulridge, was commenced in 1792 and completed in 1796 and is 1630 yards long. 1793, Construction of the large Reservoir at Foulridge, This is the largest of the four reservoirs on the summit, one of which is partly in the Parish of Barnoldswick on the slopes of White-Moor. The capacity of these four Reservoirs which supply the canal for 128 miles is as follows:- The Great Reservoir, which was raised in 1812 covers 108 acres, the greatest depth 13 feet, and contains when full, 480,870,000 gallons. The Slipper Hill 12 acres, 26 feet deep capacity 48,825,000 gallons; White-Moor, 31 feet deep, capacity 160,290,000 gallons, no acreage given. The new Reservoir constructed in 1865; 35 acres, depth 28 feet 6 inches, capacity omitted.

One of the best sources of supply to the White-Moor Reservoir, is the well known Lister Well spring in this Parish. In addition to this last named Spring, there are also two other large springs in this Parish which contribute to the support of the summit pool of this great waterway, namely the White-House and the Hall Spout springs, both of which are situated in the township of Salterforth. These never-failing sources of supply are invaluable, particularity so in the dry seasons of the year. No one can grudge these natural resources becoming so useful. May we not more reasonably ask ourselves what would Barnoldswick have been without the Canal and particularly so up to about A.D. 1850? When there were three Limestone quarries and also a freestone quarry near Salterforth. The Limestone quarries were named Gill Rock, Barnsey Rock, and Rainhall Rock. All these were sending forth an amount of stone and also a portion of lime in the scores of heavily laden canal boats to their different destinations, which all required enterprise and manual labour, and which realised and brought home the one thing needful at this time, namely, money. It is well known that the three limestone quarries have been long closed down. The Barnsey Rock was used as a tip, and its place is not now recognisable, next the Gill Rock is also being used for a similar purpose, and the Rainhall Rock, is also dormant with its ‘Little Cut’ and may at some future time become a pleasure resort. We will now consider a few of the inconveniences of this Parish before the Canal was opened for traffic in A.D. 1796, and taking into further consideration that there were no railways near Barnoldswick for fifty years after this date.

Coals, comes first as an important necessity and an indispensable commodity, and where did they come? Out of Lancashire most likely, and in all probability from Marsden, some nine miles distance. Fancy a journey of eighteen miles in order to provide a load of coals for one's home. However coals were very cheap in those days, only about five pence per hundredweight at the pit's mouth (a bit of consolation). And thus, taking this important item into consideration. a load of coals with the long journey and the cost of carriage included would not amount to anywhere near the same money in 1796 as they do at the present day in 1915 and all this has been caused by the enormous advance in the price of coals during the last sixty years.

Also it may be asked, how did all the groceries and the other needful staff of life find their way to Barlick? It way be assumed that all this work was left for the carriers to accomplish, while even if the flour and the meal were ground at the mill with its water-wheel, the grain would not be forthcoming, and the same would have to be procured from distant places elsewhere as this part of Craven had ceased to be ‘grain growing’ and became almost entirely a grazing district. In corroboration of this statement, it may be said that in 1850 there were only three corn-fields in the whole Parish, namely, one on Coates Flatt Farm situated between Barnsey Rock and. Hudson's Meadow. The next was on Coates Hall Farm on the right hand side of Gill Lane and terminating at the last gate of the same. (there was formerly a gate at the entrance of this lane) The Third and last Cornfield was on Greenberfield Farm. These Corn-Fields are now entirely abandoned and not an acre of Corn has been cultivated in this Parish for the last fifty years, all the same being used for grazing purposes.

The following bit of "good advice" is to be seen near Rimming ton, inserted in the wall and on a stone tablet and in close proximity to this Parish.

1819 Field House, Wm, Rushworth.

Repeat no grievances
Study to be quiet
And mind your own business.

Surely in this little bit a great deal is enjoyed. And happy is the man who can accomplish the same.

1800 - One branch of industry in Barnoldswick at the end of' the Eighteenth Century was the old cotton mills which undoubtedly were entirely dependent on their water-wheel up to the time when the Canal brought coals into this Parish, after which the steam engine became so popular. There was a steam engine at Mitchell’s Mill (better known as Clough) and also one at the old Coates Mill. The steam Engine was the signal for a great improvement in the production and output of the necessary weft and warp which was required by the hand-loom weavers in order to meet the increasing demands of the population for this useful commodity called 'Calico Cotton’. The two small mills at Gillions had no Steam Engines.

We may here reflect upon the useful part those little old mills played, and which was so conducive to the comforts of bygone generations, although in ruins here, or elsewhere it may be up Dales as far as Arncliffe they ''yet speak'' of the part they played before either canal or may-be steam engines became known in this part of Craven.

Since the following article on Salterforth Bottoms was written, and also a similar traditional account of Whitemoor Enclosure in 1815, the Historian has learned that an official document relating to both these improvements may be seen on payment of a small sum. The former one being deposited at Thornton, and the latter at the vicarage Barnoldswick and called the Butler Award.

SALTERFORT11 BOTTOMS.
(tradition tells us) which extended from Sough Bridge and across the County Brook into Lancashire was at one time a marshy swamp and the cause of much low fever or hague. This was however entirely remedied by the assistance of the Authorities in London, by causing deep cuttings to be dug out, into which the land was properly drained, hence all those straight cuttings prove that they are there to answer the purpose for which they were originally intended, and that they are not natural water courses. The next paragraph is devoted to a few old dates, the dearth of which is to be regretted, (on buildings particularly) Gill Church Steeple, 1524. Friends' meeting house, commonly called Quakers Chapel at Salterforth, date on guesthouse 1652; date on gravestone at same place Thomas Wilson of Thornton in Craven 1714. I think those dates correct the information given by the late Mr. Stephen Hall, in an old Manuscript-book of his. That gentleman may have been wrongly informed when he gave 1764 as the date of the Quakers Chapel. The Inghamite's meeting-House at


Salterforth was built in 1764. (this is taken from reliable history) Date on old barn at Barnoldswick Coates 1674. Date on old barn in New Close Meadow C.B. 1670 (now pulled down) Date on old house in Barnoldswick 1714, this is at the top of Back Lane on opposite side of Baptist school. Date on oldest grave-stone in Gill
Churchyard C.B. 1609, this stone lies a few yards east of the little door, there may be some stones inside the Church of equal antiquity.

A little humour may be pardoned here, before closing this period. The writer admits his inability to find any information regarding the date or period as to when, or where, or how the middle syllable became detached and omitted from the word Barnoldswick, and also the substitution of the letter ''L'' in place of the letter “W” at the beginning of the last syllable, thus curtailing and rendering a more abbreviated and familiar expression, namely "Barlick", which has been used from time immemorial by the inhabitants, and in preference to the twelve distinct letters of the alphabet which are necessary in forming the original and proper word, Barnoldswick. Before proceeding, I introduce another kindred incident, namely there is a small hamlet about three miles distance from either High or Low Bentham and about one mile up the river Greta from Burton in Lonsdale, this place is spelt exactly the same way as ours, namely, Barnoldswick, and it is also remarkable to find the people in that district have a familiar, although not abbreviated name, and which may be considered rather clumsy, namely Bar-ne-wig. This cannot be compared equal to the way in which it is here rendered, namely Barlick. The simple hint arising out of and conveyed by this word, may be applied in various ways at the readers discretion.

[End of Medieval History]

OLD HISTORY; 1800 TO 1845.
IT must have been gratifying to the inhabitants of this Parish who lived in the early years of the Nineteenth Century, to the fact, that a single horse could then by boat, bring within easy reach of all, over forty tons of useful commodities which they could well remember a few years before would have required the same animal some fifty journeys in order to accomplish similar result.

POPULATION OF BARNOLDSWICK


1802 Barnoldswick 769 1821 Barnoldswick 1334
ditto Brogden 189 Brogden 239
ditto Coates 45 Coates 97
ditto Salterforth 396 Salterforth 686
total 1401 2350

This gives an increase of 949, for the nineteen years up to the end of 1821. This increase compares very favourably with the Statistics given regarding three of our Neighbouring Towns by Mr. Carr in that gentleman's ‘Annals of Colne’ to whom I am
indebted for several items of reliable information.



1801 POPULATION 1851

Colne 2,476 Colne 6,644

Burnley 2234 Burnley 20,820

Accrington 1,946 Accrington 7481

1806. Wesleyan Chapel or meeting house, Barnoldswick, otherwise called Methodist Chapel or Preaching House. Erected on a site at the top of Jepp Hill, said to have been a deed of gift from a Mr. Smith of Thornton Hall in Craven, and owner of the plot of land on which the Chapel was built and conveyed 31st of October 1806.

1815. WHITEMOOR.
And for several years about this time. Enclosing of the Whitemoor Common called the ‘Intake’ which divided this great tract of moorland into the numerous Allotments which are now seen. This work was (more or less) superintended by a Government Official named Wasney Toothill, and provided employment for stone-getters or quarry-men, and also for dry-wallers or masons. Most of the stone required was quarried in the separate Allotments and was called top-rock, forming excellent material for the building of all the miles of strong and substantial fence walls required in this great enterprise. All this work was very much appreciated and doubly welcome at this time of depression, when poverty and distress was so very prevalent, and manual labour at a stand-still in Barlick. After the completion of this great work, the various allotments were sold and conveyed to the several different gentlemen, land-owners of the parish, and were used by the farmers for summering a part of their sheep, or in other instances, they were utilized for preserving game for shooting purposes. There was also a small plot of land supposed to be a tenth granted to the Churches of Bracewell and St. Mary-le-Gill, as an augmentation of the living of those two poor parishes. The aforesaid disposal of the land now enclosed, was rendered necessary in order to re-pay the treasury and defray the expenses incurred in accomplishing so great an undertaking, and erecting maybe nearly twenty miles of substantial fence walls on Whitemoor Common.

A little episode in connection with this subject may interest my readers, namely, a retired old Barlick Veteran whose name was George Sharpe (Old George Sharpe was Grandfather to the !ate George Rushworth Esquire of Colne whose Mother's Maiden name was Mary Sharpe of Barlick) who took a fancy as a hobby in his leisure hours to breaking up and enclosing a bit of this ‘nobody’s land’ at Sandyford. On discovering this, George was summoned to York and on his appearance in Court, a swell K.C. put the first question ‘George Sharpe, have you had your breakfast?’ ‘Well’ said George, "I had summat but had rather had my porridge on Whitemoor.’ KC. No equivocation George, were you ever ten miles away from Whitemoor in your life?’ ‘Well’ Says George, ‘I've been years in India. I've been in China, and some years at Gibraltar.’ This brought down the Court, and roars of laughter followed, during which the KC hung down his head, after having found out that old George was not the ‘flat’ for which he took him to be but as ‘sharp’ as a swell K.C, from London. George was now treated as a hero and every consideration was given to his case, and the matter was amicably settled by the Court.

1816 - 17 THE VILLAGE GREEN
The Town of old Barlick was at this time deprived of its old play ground, called 'the ‘Village Green’ in the centre of the town. This plot of spare ground was sold by
the Authorities, or Guardians at that time, and nearly twenty back-to-back houses and cellar-dwellings, and also a Public-house called "Commercial Inn" was erected on the site. All the houses and cellar-dwellings on the front side, which were approached from Town-gate (now called ‘Church Street’) had not the least sanitary accommodation and consequently had to tramp round the gable at either end of the row where two separate yards were provided for all the block which included front houses with cellar dwellings and also the houses in the yards at the back. Truly a joint stock affair. Whatever may be thought of this transaction, it is well to reserve criticism on the action of those in authority at this time, one thing suggests itself, namely, that they might be prompted by a desire to accumulate funds which could be utilized for the benefit of the Town in the near future, and knowing that they would shortly be called upon to remedy a long felt want which existed at the bottom of the town and in one of the main thoroughfares caused by the town beck being entirely open and flowing across the public highway, thus forming a great inconvenience and a nuisance to all vehicular traffic. However the case might be, we ought to use gentle expressions regarding the actions of those who held responsible positions at this time and give them the credit for doing their best for the welfare of the town, and thus speak respectfully of the dead.


1825 - TOWN BRIDGE
or near this time, erection and construction of the Town Bridge as described by an old native of Barlick. The foot-bridge at the bottom of Lamb Hill and the new culvert over the stream was a great length on account of the diagonal position of the beck and the roadway. There was a steep rise out of the watercourse, more so at the Lamb Hill side than at the Westgate side, the watercourse being at that time five feet below the present level of the new Town Bridge when completed. It may be easily imagined what Collar-work was forced upon the poor horses at this particular dip in the roadway. All the coals or Raw Cotton for Clough Mill (there being no road then through Monks Fold) and all traffic Westgate or Town-Head-way, and also the farmers requirements, this had to cross the town-beck, which was sometimes in flood, and always so when the water-wheel was running at Mitchell's mill.

Just fancy poor old Dick Water or old Kitty Crier, (neither of whom could grip a cabbage betwixt their knees) with whip in one hand and holding the horse's head with the other hand plunging through Town beck on their errand of mercy to supply the wants of the folk in Westend and Town-Head district with pecks of coal at three pence a peck measure, supposed to be a half hundredweight. All these improvements have long since been entirely forgotten and at this day we may safely say that not ten per cent of the inhabitants even know that a culvert exists, or that a beautiful stream is wending its way under one of the principal streets commonly called Town Bridge.

My readers will naturally want to know the name of the old native of Barlick to whom reference is made in the early part of this subject, the same was Mr. John Lamb’s daughter, Alice, late of Lamb Hill, who afterwards became the wife of Mr. Benjamin
Dean. This venerable old lady, Mrs. Dean, outlived all records of a similar nature in Barlick being born on the brink of this stream in 1822 and lived the whole of her life In the same house and could well remember the building of Town-Bridge when she was a little girl. Mrs. Dean died in 1908 at the ripe old age of 86 years.

1824. New stable outside Gill Church Yard erected, Mordaunt Barnard incumbent of Barnoldswick and also Rector of Thornton-in-Craven. This was before the "Plurality of Livings" was abolished.

1828 - Erection of property at Town Head by the Barnoldswick Friendly Society.

1828 - Crowfoot Row built in Barlick Lane district (about seven houses) all minus back doors in one long block and not back-to-back.

The second floor in most of those houses used for handlooms and bedroom combined, with the bobbin-engine into the bargain. The writer can verify all these statements, having had the privilege of visiting two Uncles named George Livsey and James Dugdale, (although into the teens of years after this time) they lived in Crow-Row and in addition to weaving themselves, they also employed several others. Some of my own sisters were thus employed during the time when I visited those places of industry, namely, workshop and bedroom combined in which a single loom was called a ''pair of looms''.

1829. First power-loom introduced into a Colne Mill.

1834 - The Oddfellows Club at Barlick erected a block of three-storied houses, with entrances in Town-gate and on the left side of Jepp Hill, extending up to the Wesleyan Chapel. It is rather remarkable that all those buildings were being erected at a time when trade was so bad, and poverty prevailed over the whole district.

1837. Queen Victoria, born in 1819, began to reign in 1837. Crowned 26th June 1838.

1837. St. James' Church Barnoldswick erected.

1837. St Thomas’s church, Barrowford erected.

1838. Kelbrook. ‘To the Glory of God and to the memory of her grandfather Henry Richardson, and of her father, Henry Richardson Currer, successively rectors of Thornton in Craven, Frances Mary Richardson builds and endows the church of St Mary’s, Kelbrook.

1838. Hudson’s Buildings erected at Town Bridge.

1838 - A discriminative account of Barnoldswick, chiefly taken from a West Riding Directory to which will be added short references to three of our neighbouring Parishes and taken from the same volume of that date, namely 1838.

BARNOLDSWICK, a large village, near the Skipton Canal, in a valley sheltered by lofty fells, five miles north of Colne and four miles South-East of Gisburn, has in its townships Five Cotton Mills, 1683 inhabitants, 2030 acres of land belonging to R. H. Roundell Esq. and Sir J.L.L. Kaye, and several other proprietors. The Parish of Barnoldswick or Gill comprises also, Brogden, Coates and Salterforth. A monastery was founded here in 1147, but after a troubled residence of six years, the Monks pulled down the building and removed to Kirkstall. The Parish Church (St. Mary-le-Gill) is an ancient edifice, on the brink of a deep Glen, from which it obtained the name of Gill Church. It is a perpetual curacy valued at £160 and augmented since 1731, with £1.000 of Queen Anne's Bounty in Parliamentary grants, and £200 given by Sir J.L.L. Kaye and Mrs. Pyncombe’s Trustees, the latter in 1824. R Hodgson Esq. is patron, and the Rev R. Milner B.A. is the incumbent.

St. James' Church and School is a neat structure in the lancet Gothic style, erected by subscription in 1837 nearly in the centre of the village, at the cost of about £800 to serve as a National School and as a Chapel to the Parish church which is more than an mile from Barnoldswick and Salterforth where the chief part of the population is situated. The Methodists and Baptists have chapels here.

BROGDEN one mile west of Barnoldswick, is a hamlet having in its township 229 inhabitants and 1670 acres, including the hamlet of Admergill, which adjoins Lancashire, three miles south of Barlick and is annexed to the Chapelry of Colne.
Directory; John Midgley, vict, Greystones. William Watkinson, vict, Moor Cock. Admergill: James Duckworth and John Waite, Yeomen. Henry Buller, John Carr, Richard Catterall, James Cook, Thomas Edmondson and James and John Hartley Farmers.

COATES. near the Parish Church, and the extensive limestone quarry called Gill Rock, one Mile North-East of Barnoldswick is a hamlet and township, with 88 souls and 700 acres, mostly the property of J.W. Bagshaw Esq. and Mrs. Busfield. Directory: John Green, Lime and Coal Merchant; William Holdsworth, Cotton manufacturer, John Atkinson, Thos Eastwood , Thomas and William Edmondson,
and John Rawsthorne. Farmers.

SALTERFORTH. A Village and township on the Leeds & Liverpool Canal four miles North of Colne and a mile east of Barnoldswick, has 725 inhabitants and 850 acres, including part of Whitemoor enclosed in 1815, an extensive limestone quarry, part of which is in this township and a part in Barnoldswick township is worked by the Canal Company and is called Rainhall Rock. There is also an excellent free-stone quarry in Salterforth Lane belonging to R. H. Roundell Esq. Directory: Joseph Brunskill vict. Canal House, John Simpson vict, Lamb Lane Head; Francis Peel, Coal and Lime Merchant; Peter Hitchin, Blacksmith; John Wilkinson, Gent.; William Barrett, Henry Hartley and Henry Whittaker, shopkeepers. Stephen Broughton, Stephen Cragg, John Hartley, John Heap and Brothers, John and Joseph King, Sarah Pollard, and Stephen Preston, Graziers.

BARNOLDSWICK. Directory I838. Post office at George Hargreaves, letters are despatched to Colne 8 o’clock morning and to Skipton 1 o'clock afternoon: Armistead Wm. Land Valuer, Clark John and William Auctioneers,
Dean Henry and Duckworth Thos, Farmers; Ellison James, Corn Miller; Milner Rev Rd., B,A. incumbent, Petty Richard Surgeon, Shuttleworth Robert Farmer; Spooner Rev. John, Baptist Minister, Waite Henry, Registrar; Waite William, Parish Clerk. Inns: Commercial George Hargreaves; Cross Keys, Ann Edmondson; Engine, Thomas Robinson; Greyhound , Henry Wigglesworth; Syke House, Seven Stars, Thomas Smith. Blacksmiths, Bell Samuel, Hewitson Thomas, Uttley James. Butchers, Armistead William, Clark William, Smith Thomas. Cotton Manufacturers, Bracewell John, Grimshaw and Bracewell, Smith P, Gillions. Wigglesworth John. Mitchell’s Mill. Joiners, Crook Henry, Crook James, Hartley Christopher, Hudson James, Robinson Robert. Shoemakers, Demaine William. Pickup George. Strickleton John. Waters James, Wilkinson E. Shopkeepers; Appleby Ralph, Armistead William, Broughton Richard, Lamb John, Livsey James, Mitchell. Edward, Waite Henry, Edmondson Robert. Stone Masons; Broughton Richard., Broughton William, Curwin Thomas, Smith Thomas. Tailors; Merriweather J, Knowles Robson, Turner Christopher, Atkinson Thomas. Carriers; Slater Henry and Thomas, to Manchester, Mondays, and to Skipton Tues. Thurs. and Sat. Turner William to Colne, Wed. and Sat and to Settle Tues and Fri.


1838 BRACEWELL. a village and parish in the liberty of Clifford’s Fee. Two miles east of Gisburn, has 160 inhabitants 1920 acres. The ruins of two ancient Halls, and the hamlet of Stock. Earl de Grey owns a great part of the soil and is Lord of the Manor and patron of the Church of St. Michael, which has a Vicarage valued at £125. Directory. Thomas and James Cockshott, Yeomen. And John Carr, John and Luke Hartley, Thos Lancaster, and William Roberts, farmers.

1838 MARTON EAST AND WEST. Two neighbouring Villages, with the hamlet of Marton Scars % ½ to 6 ½ miles west of Skipton, constitute the parish of Marton, and contains 443 inhabitants, and 2310 acres of land. Mrs Mary Cholmondeley, as heiress of the Heber family, is Lady of the Manor and owner of Marton Hall, in which was born, Reginald Heber a learned Divine, who died in 1804, and of whose family was Bishop Heber. R. H. Roundell Esq., has a large estate here, and a pleasant seat called "Gledstone Hall" . The Church (St. Peter.) stands at East or Church Marton. The Rectory, valued in K.B. at £14..4..4 and in 1831 at £150 is the gift of Mrs. Cholmondeley, and incumbency of the Rev. H. C. Wilson M.A. The School was founded by the parishioners in 1775 and endowed with nine acres and nineteen perches of land. The master has also the interest of £56 given by Rebecca Heber and others. Directory: John Aldersley, vict, Cross Keys. Eliza Bolton and Henry Bradley shopkeepers. Rev. William Cooper: Thomas Hodgson, [black]Smith, Thos. Holmes, Schoolmaster. Tps[sic] Hastings Ingham Esq., Marton House: Henry Langstroth. Vict., Heber Arms. John Atkinson, tailor; Rev Henry Currer Wilson MA, rector. and Thos, and William Bradley, Thos Croft, Rd Garforth, Geo Hayhurst. Thos Pawson, John and Thos. Peel, Rd, Slater, Benjamin Snowden, Graziers.


1838. THORNTON-IN-CRAVEN. a, pleasant village six miles SWS of Skipton has in its parish 2,246 souls, and 6710 acres of land consisting of the four united townships and Manors of Thornton, Earby, Kelbrook and Harden, extending southward to the hamlets of Hague and Hawshaw, in Kelbrook, 3 miles North of Colne and 4 miles South of Thornton. Sir John L.L. Kaye is Lord of the Manors and owner of most of the soil and patron of the Church, St, Mary, which is a rectory valued in K. B. at £19-15-2 ½ and in 1831 at £248. The Rev L.S. Morris is the Rector. The Parish free school at Earby was founded in the 17th Century by
Robert Windle who endowed it with £40 a year. The Almshouses at Thornton for five poor woman of this parish, were founded in 1815 by Rachel Smith, who endowed them with the dividends of £8,000, three per cent consols, controlled by the Society of Friends. A Directory follows: Rev W. A. Wasney, Fence-End. Earby William Bracewell Manufacturer &.c ( I correct this last name which ought to have been Christopher, the father of William of Barlick fame E.D.)

The writer wishes to make a few comments and remarks regarding the 1838 history herein before quoted, as there are statements which are not very good to understand, and also some omissions being of interest to the reader. The five Cotton Mills, of which I never heard of more than four, and unless Ouzledale Mill was numbered as one of the five and. of which I never heard spoken of as such, then there would only be four namely, Two small mills at Gillions, one at Coates and one at Clough.

The Daubers Dole is left out altogether in the same records, such small mercies as those are surely worth recording, and consisted of the annual payment of £3 to the teacher of the National School at Barnoldswick and the amount payable yearly to the vicar for extra clerical duties performed twice in each year at the Church, This was the act of a generous man, who owned the farm called Daubers near Foulridge. I believe a like sum was left to the Parish of Colne on similar conditions.

Mr. John Slater's name is also omitted in the Directory, he being a Carrier, and also an employer of labour for the hand loom weavers. This place of business was in Barlick Lane.

St. James' Church; it is very interesting to learn how inexpensive building operations were at this time, 1837. St. James’ Church erected at a cost of Eight Hundred Pounds. This seems almost incredible, but we must accept the same as a matter of fact from records of 1838.

A similar instance at Rathmel will assist us to realize this problem. A small, neat chapel of ease was erected at Rathmel four miles South of Settle at a cost of Four Hundred Pounds. Evidently, contractors secured very cheap labour in those days when the ‘Knights of the spoon’ enjoyed robust health, and invigorating fresh air. Another name omitted in the Directory was John O'Bailey a Mason and a shopkeeper.

I cannot overlook the honourable distinction with which a very few old Barlick worthies, and also in the near neighbourhood, are connected, and who can look back on their father’s name at or near this time and who are still in the land of the living
in 1915. Mr. James Hartley, son of Luke Hartley of Bracewell, the honourable Landlord of the ‘Railway Hotel’ for nearly the last forty years. Next, the octogenarian, Broughton Atkinson, son of Thomas Atkinson who for half a century, was a Tailor in old Barlick. Next William P. Atkinson a brother of the former, and son of the latter. Next Wright William Bailey son of John O’Bailey mason and shopkeeper. Next John Whittaker, son of Jenny Whitaker. Harry Holdsworth son of Richard Holdsworth of Esp Lane Bottom, next Lambert Robinson, son of William Robinson joiner, son of Jack O'Dollies. Next, James Slater of Barnoldswick, Coates, a few years younger than the names of those previously mentioned, this gentleman, an old Barlicker is the only survivor of a large family of Mr, John Slater of Barlick Lane. Those few who are still here and able to confirm this story, are the only remaining links in the memory, who are connected with the generation of 1835 to 1855
and thereabouts. Surely then, to be serious, we may ask the question with secharia[sic] of old, Chapter 1. verse 5. ‘Your fathers, where are they? and the prophets do they live forever?’

1836 ORGAN IN GILL CHURCH purchased from Burnley Parish second-hand. An unsightly gallery in which the Organ was placed and thus obscuring a grand arch at the West end, after being erected across the nave, and thereby rendering the beautiful window in the Tower comparatively useless, after which a roof light was made as a sort of compensation to throw some light on the gallery and Choir. Also a small window underneath for light under same.

1836 NEW PEW FOR CHURCHWARDENS. and Constable at Gill Church. Brass plate on door inscription as follows: - R. Milner, Curate, T. Rathmel, T. Heap, J. Rawsthorne, and Jas Duckworth, Church wardens. John Waite Constable.

1837 (and some years previous) The much appreciated Sunday School held at Gill Church on Sunday mornings, were now transferred to the New St, James' School Church after the erection of the same at Barnoldswick. Gill Sunday School was well attended, young people did not need a prize as an inducement to attend a Sunday School in those days, both from Barnoldswick and Salterforth they came in numbers. Henry Kendall the dwarfe from Bancrofts, was Organ Blower at Gill. The information regarding events relating to Gill Sunday School are from first hand sources, my late father T, Atkinson was a teacher there, and he told me how the school was managed and that the total expenses never exceeded Five Pounds a year
for Bibles and testaments and spelling and reading-made-easy books and all other incidental expenses included.

The late Mr. Greenwood Hartley, and his brother Roundell and also Mrs. Dean, were scholars there, and it was amusing to hear those elderly people tell how they enjoyed their dinner, either inside or outside the Church after School hours according to the seasons of the year, and the state of the weather, This luncheon consisted chiefly of a small bottle of milk and a currant bun or pastie. Each scholar bringing the same from their own home. How harmless and primitive this must have been when neither knife nor fork nor spoon were found necessary in order to complete this old time banquet. After dinner a short interval, the bells rung out their call to prayer. And Divine Service was held at the shrine of their ancestors, in which both scholars and teachers, and congregation reverently joined.

There was at this time also a Sunday School conducted in the Baptist Chapel near Town Bridge, Barnoldswick, and also most likely another such school at the Wesleyan Chapel on Jepp Hill,

1830. FIRST RAILWAY. The first railway enterprise employing steam as a propelling power, was the Liverpool and Manchester Railway, opened September 15th 1830. since which time, railroad communication has been extended with wonderful facility to nearly every part of the kingdom. (Barnoldswick included)

1840. THE PENNY POSTAGE. Rowland Hill published his pamphlet on Postal Reform in 1837 thus one may affirm that it was Queen Victoria who brought the Penny Post with her. In 1839 the charge for letters inside London was lowered to a penny. In 1840 this boon was extended to the United Kingdom and today the annual number of penny stamps is said to be not less than 2,000 Millions. Imagine what all this signifies, in closer and more constant intercourse, of home with home, heart

with heart, mind with mind, locality with locality, friend with friend, parent with child, lover with lover, customer with dealer. In 1836 a letter took ten hours in transit from one to the other extreme of London and cost over a shilling while today a letter may be sent thousands of miles for a penny.

1838 The Electric Telegraph invented, and comes into use.

1839. Photographs first produced by Daguerre, a Frenchman.

1841. NATIONAL SCHOOL. Erected at the bottom of Butts and the small old school which stood a little higher up the Butts was demolished. After this, the school held at St, James Church was transferred to the new School and the Church was consecrated and one of the doorways was walled up opposite the lower gateway and a porch was erected at the other door.

The, Rev. S.H, Ireson, Vicar from 1870 up to 1879 discovered that this Church had never been licensed for Marriages, however this may be, I can well remember several marriages being solemnized there, during reparation at Gill Church. One such wedding at St, James' Church consisted of Eighteen couples and after the service vas ended they formed a procession which reached half way to Dam Head down Mill Lane now called Skipton Road, on their way to Syke House, at which Inn the remainder of the day was spent with fiddler and guests, all the necessary requirements being there provided by the Host and Hostess for their comfort and jollification. Old time weddings, when returning from Gill Church were frequently met by a fiddler who headed the procession to a Public House where the large Club room was prepared for the occasion, and twelve couples were considered a very moderate affair. No one thought to suggest the advisability of reason and temperance on such occasions, in as much as there was no other available or suitable accommodation in -the town.

Origin of the phrase ‘Old Ship and New Ship’.

1839. THE BENEVOLENTS withdrawal from the Wesleyan Methodists. In 1839 the people at Barnoldswick were like all other industrial communities of that day, very poor, but not withstanding this, the officials of the Colne Wesleyan circuit considered that the money sent to them from Barnoldswick was inadequate. A man named Robert Slater, was appointed to take the money to the quarterly meeting at Colne. When it was put on the table, one of the officials seemed surprised at the smallness of the amount and said ‘Is this all you have brought?’ This seemed to be the beginning of the rupture which ended in five class leaders sending in their resignations. One of the Ministers from Colne, hearing of this and seeing his own place almost empty, preached a sermon which has made history. The text was taken from Acts Chapter 27, verse 31; ‘Except these abide in the ship ye cannot be saved’ This was the beginning of the familiar expression of ‘Old ship and New Ship’. The Benevolents. as they called themselves, worshipped in an house for a short time, kindly lent by old George Pickup, after their emancipation and freedom. On one occasion when the Colne parson preached he bluntly told his flock that unless you give better tonight than you did this afternoon myself and family at Colne will have to live on potatoes and Salt all next week. And no doubt such language insulted some of the poor folk who couldn't afford an ounce of tea but used parched thorn-leaves as a substitute for same.

1843. THE CHARTISTS or Huntites, as they were commonly called. A large crowd of these men came to Barnoldswick from Colne and on their way to Skipton they made a halt here in order to enlist more sympathizers in their cause and thus to swell ranks. Before this time these men had created much disturbance in some parts of Lancashire and at Colne there were frequent riotings, followed by imprisonment. They were not very successful here, and very few men were found willing to march to Skipton. My late father was accosted by one of the ringleaders for his cowardice in staying at home and following his regular employment ‘Come along man, and help us to defend our rights, we are starving, and muddent we as weel be killed as clam’d to deeath?’ Their visit to Skipton however ended in their utter failure to accomplish any redress and after the soldiers made their appearance the Chartists took to their heels helter skelter, homeward bound. Whatever else may be said of this misguided movement, one thing cannot be gainsaid namely, that poverty and distress are hard to bear and that whenever such calamities do happen and where peaceable citizens are willing to work for their daily bread, surely then charity ought to step in and thus enable those who have enough and to spare that opportunity of coming to the rescue of their less fortunate brethren in their dire distress and that through no fault of their own. However, the Chartists went to extremes in the wrong direction and provoked and abused the very people who had the power to help them. The writer concludes this subject with a little story in connection with these unhappy times. This took place on Elslack Moor now becoming famous in Barlick on account of our contemplated water supply. There lived at Low Ground Farm near Elslack two stalwart young brothers, named Phillip and Ben Harrison who, out of curiosity, took a stroll up the Moor one Sunday morning in order to visit the Chartist’s rendezvous where they were accustomed. to hold their meetings and could give vent to their grievances without let or hindrance. Here they found all in full swing. A crowd of people, accompanied. by several hucksters donkey-carts from Colne, these contained the necessary eatables and drinkables for the occasion. It so happened that when one of the speakers was thus earnestly engaged, a sudden applause burst from the sonorous lungs of one of the long-eared tribe, and best he could do was Hick e.o. Hick e.o. This so enraged the speaker, that he stretched out his arm and pointing to the offender, exclaimed, '’You hold your noise you B…. (nearly a swear word). ‘Let one speak at a time!’ Another tanjib weaver dead. Philip nudged Ben with a ‘Come on let's go down home. That's well said, let one speak at a time'' another Tanjib Weaver dead. [sic]


1845 And long years before this date, the decline of hand-loom weaving, both here and all round the country area, put an end to a long and dishonourable practice called "Ronge". This system was carried on by a few unscrupulous and selfish hand-loom weavers, the traffic in which was to be deplored as the reverse of virtue. ‘Ronge' was the weft left over after the weaver had completed his pieces, and the weft so obtained was secretly hidden and stored away awaiting for the call of a ‘ronge dealer’ instead of the same being returned to its proper and rightful owner, namely the Putter-out and employer, who supplied the same. This weft was sold in a clandestine manner to middle-men as could stoop to, and thus encourage others to indulge in this dishonourable business. After which this commodity found its way into the market, as it was neither too hot nor yet too heavy for those who believed in making money right or wrong. All this was done under the pretence that such weavers, after returning the cloth to the employer had fulfilled the requirements of the same and were entitled to what remained. Thus they ignored the generosity of their masters in allowing sufficient margin for the completion of the cloth, and also for accidents or misfortunes made during the process of winding the hanks on the bobbin-engine. It must therefore be agreed that Ronge was a dirty business from first to last, and that there was nothing approaching fair and honest dealings in connection with the same and also that a large profit was realized by those middle-men who no doubt procured such material at their own prices, and we may guess that such prices would be very small, and also that the same would be re-sold by them to such employers in this business as cared to dabble in such underhand transactions, and would fall far short of the proper market prices under honourable circumstances, as we presume that an
employer would not like to buy his goods twice over.

Happily the before mentioned paragraph does not apply to the great majority of folk who were thus employed in hand-loom weaving and who nobly resisted such temptations and remained as ‘honest as the day’s leet’ and some of these good folk
looked upon the introduction of the power-loom as just punishment upon past wrongdoers which would deprive them of full liberty which they had so enjoyed in perfect freedom, and thus compel them to leave their homes, and to rise before six
o’clock in the winter time. This was considered a great hardship, as they never advocated the lighting-up in the morning practice which constituted ‘two neets in one day’, on the contrary, they would willingly work on when required to do so, until both fingers pointed straight up. [midnight]

A farewell denunciatory ode to Old Ronge.

An old knave, an old cheat, an old swindle was he,
This barefaced old rascal, whoever he be,
Nobody could tell where ere he did dwell,
But some old folk thought, by the actions he wrought
That his trade and his kinship smelled strongly of H***.

Please do not judge too harshly as the letter ‘H’ may possibly mean a Happy Home, happen.

Those were the days when poor folk had to be content with ‘Chaff-Beds’ and plain wooden bedsteads with cords across both ways and minus mattresses. However, when money became more plentiful the chaff beds were emptied out, and cotton or woollen flocks with Iron Bedsteads and comfortable mattresses took their place as the years rolled on.

1844. SALTERFORTH NATIONAL SCHOOL ERECTED.

1845. THE VICARAGE erected for Barnoldswick Parish.
This must be considered a wonderful achievement for the Rev. R, Milner, who came to Barnoldswick Parish in 1836, and in less than ten years accomplished all this colossal work in connection with the Parish, namely, in 1837 St. James' Church erected. In 1841 National School Butts erected. In 1844, National School Salterforth erected. In 1845 the vicarage erected, and what is most surprising is that all this took place at a time when Barlick was considered to be in such poor circumstances. We may therefore judge for ourselves that the greater part of the funds required for the accomplishment of all this work were subscribed amongst the Vicars own friends at and around Kirkham, his native home. The writer had this information from Mr. Milner’s own lips.

1842. HAND LOOMS. Up to this time hand-loom weaving was one of the principal industries in Barlick, the grown-ups being weavers while the juniors were bobbin-winders, and one half of the folk were thus employed either at their own homes or at some convenient place, including the Dandy-shops, the largest of which was Mr J Slater’s in Barlick Lane where fourteen looms were run with one person to each loom (a single loom was called a pair) with the necessary bobbin-winders included. There was a smaller dandy shop at the left hand side along down Butts called ‘Little Hudson’s’ John Hudson’s…

There were also others who put out work here, Namely Christopher Bracewell of Earby who had as his manager here, his son who afterwards became so famous in old Barlick. His place of' business was in King Street, and the self-same house in which Mr. Joseph Blezzard so long resided, with iron-bars outside the window facing old Tom Slater’s orchard. There was also a putter-out of work from Colne, named Tom O'Bobs, his place of business was up the steps at the corner of Green Street. This place has also iron-bars outside the windows. There was also several weavers who fetched their work on their backs from Colne and returned their pieces, when finished, in the same manner.

The before mentioned Mr J. Slater of Barlick Lane was the largest employer of hand-loom weavers in this district, he having several horses constantly engaged. in transit of goods and conveying work to and from the outside places namely to Gisburn, Grindleton, Long-Preston, Settle, and Austwick which afterwards were forwarded by Mr. Slater into Lancashire en-route for Manchester. This old native employer also obtained a twenty five years lease of the Eight acres plot of Moorland belonging to Bracewell Church, from the Rev Thomas Haves. This plot was broken up and drained and properly cultivated. This found work for several men, and was well done, and has never gone back, but is still a useful addition to the Hey Glebe Farm and far more remunerative to its owner after the expiration of the Lease than it would have been had it remained in original and unbroken condition.

The so called ‘Double loom’. This was an invention which never became either popular or successful. It entailed a great amount of manual labour and also a reduction of the speed. In addition to the manipulation of two looms by one weaver, the difficulty was greater than the advantage gained However, one ingenious weaver of an inventive frame of mind, tried to construct an improvement in dealing with the shuttle driver or picking stick arrangement for the double loom and in doing so he earned for himself by his patent apparatus (which so resembled the operations of the ‘pretty milkmaid’) a fancy name which never left him but stuck to him to the end of his days; namely ‘Milker’.

The Sick Clubs in Barlick were another evidence of thrift and economy. The Free Gardeners Friendly Society, who built the row at Town Head. This Society embraced both male and female members, and had it’s headquarters at the Seven Stars Inn. The Odd-fellows Club, which built the block of buildings on the left side of Jepp Hill, this society had its headquarters at the Commercial Inn. The Forrester’s Club, ‘Court Henry-de-Lacy’ whose headquarters were at the Cross Keys Inn. All these institutions seemed to flourish, and no doubt they did a great amount of good, both in cases of sickness, and also at the death of any member or their wives, a certain amount of money being allocated in case the wife predeceased her husband.

All this points to the conclusion that Barlick, even in its hand-loom days, practised frugality and was not altogether dormant or slothful, but on the contrary, was a
plodding and industrious place, and if the earnings were not great, the spendings were proportionately small and extravagance in dress, or wastefulness in diet, or household finery, or unnecessary travelling expenses, were altogether unknown, and the first considerations were home comforts, in opposition to pride and vanity.

1845. Or about this time a new hearse was procured for this Parish before which, the majority of corpses were carried by hand in relays of bearers, or otherwise on the shoulders of strong young men, with changes of bearers at intervals, on the long journey to Gill Church, The writer remembers the discontinuation of these customs and has seen solemn mournful processions with one or more singers walking in front slowly through the town. Abe Crier, Jim Crier’s son was the last to be carried so. He died in King St at what was called ‘Congress Hall’ and had two elder brothers called respectively George and Tate Crier.

Before proceeding further I am anxious to interest my readers in an attempt to enumerate a few names of the dwellers in Barlick before the mixture off the L and Y took place. After which a full list of all will surnames be appended. The three largest
numbers of family names to the writer's knowledge, were the Edmondsons, Hartleys and Slaters. The two of the former had many peculiarities. As most of my senior readers can well remember, people were called (in those days) after their fathers' or
grandfathers or even their mother's Christian name, while the surnames of such were entirely omitted. The first illustration which comes to our notice is proof of this assertion, and which takes the lead in the list of honours is the Edmondsons. This must, in order to be properly understood and duly appreciated, be given in pure and original Barlick dialect. Old Joan O'David's (Edmondson), sons of same; Tom O’David's, Bob O’David's, Dave O'David's, Kit O'David's. Daughter, Alice O'David's, (The name Edmondson carries with it the Lord of the Manor rights of
Barnoldswick Parish and is at present held by a descendant of the Lidgett Flatt family, namely Haigh Edmondson Esq. of Nelson)

A great many of the grandsons also inherited the same distinction. Old Jim O’Patience, and his brother, Old Kit O’Patience (Edmondson). These last two were called after their Mother's Christian name and Kit had three sons which were called after their Grandmother's Christian name, one of the same was Nick (Nicholas) O’Patience. They left Barlick before Butts Mill started and went to about Skipton. Old Tommy Hudson built a new shop at Butts Top. Jim O’Patience lived in same, with weather cock on top and also kept the Post Office there. Old Bob O'David's lived at town-Head and had a large family. His two sons (who for a wonder) were called Thomas and Joe Edmondson.

Old Jack of Allan’s, Harry of Allan’s and Allan of Allan’s, Edmondsons. Those three brothers married three sisters, daughters of Old Allan Crier. Allan of Allan’s family all were called after their mother’s Christian name, thus Jim O’Molly’s (Mary), Jack O’Molly’s, Roxhannah and Tilla (Matilda) O’Molly’s. By the way of variety Harry of Allan’s two elder sons, Johnson and Norman received their proper surname Edmondson, whilst the younger brother got only Harry at Tibbey’s after mother’s Christian name, Tibby, supposed to mean Elizabeth. Willie O'Joe’s had a dwarfe called Roxhannah. Jack O'Dozie’s and Tilla O’Dozie’s and old Harry of Allan’s, all four had their dwelling places about half-way up Wapping and their proper surname Edmondson was scarcely ever uttered or even known amongst their neighbours.

The ‘Long Tom’ family, and old Nanny at Cross Keys are also of the same category. The Lidget Flatt's off-springs always used Lidgett in place of their proper surname. Old Tommy and Young Tommy at Lidgett, Old Will at Lidgett. sons, Jim, Harry and perhaps will at Lidgett. Although those Edmondsons partly lived at Salterforth, yet their acquaintance and connection with Lidgett was indisputable. It was often remarked about the female members of old Tommy at Lidgett’s family that ‘clogs dared not to go, and that shoes cared not to go’. A humorous remark which might apply in a good many similar instances. Old Kit (Christopher) Edmondson had sons, John and Tom O'Kit’s, and most of their children inherit the title of their grandfather's
Christian name.

After the Butts Mill started in about 1847 a large number of the Edmondsons arrived here from Salterforth and same as Barlickers they also inherited the same peculiarities. Thus Old Johnny at Spen, after which the ‘Spen’ was dropped and the father’s name, Johnny, was considered quite sufficient. Thus Joe, Will, Harry, Jim and Jack O’Johnny’s, also Betty and Maria O’Johnny’s.

Having overstepped my supposed boundary I will proceed as promised, namely the Hartleys. Old Tom O’Leonard’s had sons James and Valentine O’Leonard’s. Old Val had the misfortune to be minus one of his legs. Old Alexander Hartley had sons Kit at Allex, (Tasker) Old Temp [sic], Tom, Peter, Jack, and Charlie at Allex. Old Lennie Hartley had sons Stiv, Jack, Len and Dick O’Lennie’s also two daughters called Jane and Elizabeth O’Lennie’s. Old George O’Dick’s had a son George O’Dick’s (Married to Mary Ann Sellers) also four four daughters who in due time had their surname changed after which they were called respectively, Mrs. D. Jenkinson, Mrs. J Uttley and Mrs T Strickland. Those four good sisters of ‘Quiet George’ as he was often called, did not fail to add their reasonable share to the prosperity of the town as the years rolled on. Old Dick O’Len’s (Hartley) was Mr. Fawcett’s trustworthy steward.

Having now endeavoured to outline the category of the Edmondsons and the Hartleys, it may be interesting to relate a few kindred references to other names, although somewhat diversified, yet bearing on the same subject. Old Bill Waterworth had five sons and four daughters. The sons were always called after their Mother’s Christian name ‘Milly’ (Amelia), thus Dick at Milly’s, Jack, Lob, Will and Tom at Milly’s while the four daughters received their proper surnames thus, Bella Water, Betty, Margaret and Alice Water. Old Jacky at Barnsey had a large family of sons and daughters, thus, Bill. at Barnsey, Harry, Tom, Kitty and Jacky at Lower Barnsey. One more case which clung to an old native who only died about. twenty years ago, and whose proper name was John Tillotson Smith, and this was a double diversion namely, Jack O’Robins, also John O'Mary's.

The before mentioned article is sufficient to enable the reader to perpetuate the remembrance of old names and how they were diversified and used in their various and quaint forms set forth therein as examples of that olden time. More might have been said, but not without repetition and useless similarity.

SURNAMES. The following article will be devoted to the surnames representing the inhabitants of Barlick about 1845. The most numerous of such names were the Edmondsons, Hartleys, Slaters, Waites, Broughtons, Waterworths, Robinsons, Hudsons, Houldsworths, Hargreaves, Pickles, Brooks, Smiths and Windles. The surnames representing the smallest numbers, or even in some cases, a single individual were Ashworths, Atkinsons, Bennetts, Beezleys, Brothertons, Bilsboroughs, Carrs, Drivers, Dawsons, Dodgsons, Emmotts, Fells, Gates, Hewitsons, Heys, Holgates, Jenkinson, Kellys, Milners, Masons, Nutters, Nunicks, Pickups, Pinks, Rathmells, Lambs, Speakes, Sutcliffes, Sharpe’s, Wigglesworths and Waltons This last list of over thirty names may be classed as the small fry so far as numbers are represented. All the other surnames constituting the medium number of families will be included in the following and complete list of surnames in use by old Barlickers in 1845.

Appleby Corwen Hargreaves Nelson Shepherd
Armistead Crier Hornby Nuttall Shuttleworth
Ashworth Clark Hacking Nunick Shuttsuthers
Atkinson Duckworth Hey Nutter Speak
Broughton Dugdale Houldsworth Pickles Sutcliffe
Bracewell Dean Holgate Preston Sharpe
Bradley Dodgson Heap Petty Sugden
Bootham Demain Holden Parkinson Simpson
Banks Dawson Jenkinson Pollard Townson
Brotherton Dickinson King Pickup Thornber
Beezley Driver Kendall Parker Tillotson
Bennett Edmondson Knowles Proctor Turner
Bailey Eastwood Kelly Pickover Uttley
Barker Emmott Lowcock Pink Waite
Brooks Eccleston Livsey Robinson Waterworth
Bilsborough Fell Lambert Riley Whittaker
Blezard Green Lamb Ridge Wilson
Barrett Gates Lancaster Standing Watson
Hardacre Hodgson Milner Suthers Wright
Bell Hartley Mitchell Strickland Whipp
Brown Hudson Myers Slater Wilkinson
Bulcock Heaton Metcalfe Sellers Walton
Crook Harrison Smith Windle
Carr Hewitson Midgley Starkie Widdup

1845. Four articles embracing a variety of subjects and including cottage, house, food and Diet, Mode and manner of dress, household expenses and a few bits of dialect and short stories at that time in use in Old Barlick.

FIRST ARTICLE- Very few cottage houses had a back door and one objection to this was that a back door caused a "draft" and made too much wind in the house. All ordinary cottages had flagged floors and stone stair steps to approach the bedroom, cellars were not general. The back part of the house was used instead of same. No carpets or even hearth-rugs were in use up to this time, and the floors were scattered over with sand, the same being swept off at regular intervals after which a fresh layer of sand was used in like manner, this process was repeated several times each week, and the week-end cleaning-up did not start until after dinner on a Saturday when regular work had finished. There were few tablecloths and lump sugar seen only at the School tea-party. There were no sun screens inside the windows but only a curtain to draw across the same at night, there was a low blind about a foot high either crocheted or plain. Most of the cottages had a garret and this was approached by a broad staved ladder, all such rooms were open to the slate. Also, where there was no garret the upper storey was open to the slate. There were no under-drawings or ceilings either upstairs or down and the woodwork joists and boards were absolutely bare. Poor Joe Parker lost one of his eyes when a child by peeping through a knot hole in the bedroom floor while another youngster took aim with his bow and arrow from the lower room. The bare joists and boards style of building was not abandoned until twenty years after this time, when lath and plaster in most new buildings were generally adopted. There were four back-to-back three storied cottages the first block on right-hand side going up Barlick Lane. These were known as the ‘blue slate’, (the only blue slated houses in Barlick Town at the time). Old Jammie Pickles lived in one of these houses and had a large family. The youngest boy Josiah, after his father's death, lived alone at Moorside where he composed the well known ‘Moorside Polka’ Josiah was a clever musician, the flute being his favourite instrument, and in after years he obtained appointments at some of the leading opera houses in London.

Cottage house windows, though not so large as modern windows, would average from two to three dozen panes of glass in each window, and were very rarely constructed with up and down sashes. A single pane of glass on hinges called a casement which
could be opened or shut at will. This contrivance gave a mouthful of fresh air to the folk inside the house if they desired it.

The Cottage fireplace was formed with a 1arge opening at the bottom of the chimney, to allow Jack Sweep plenty of room when climbing up inside the ‘luvver’. On those occasions an old rhyme was chanted by the children outside as a sort of greeting to this black visitor from Skipton, while he was plodding his way up the luvver with a poke over his head and face, the rhyme ran thus ‘Sweep O, penny O, sweep the luvver clean O’, and finished up with ‘Jack, put the brush out at top’ This cruel practice has long become illegal.

DOMESTIC DUTIES: The milk and water were to fetch. The skimmed milk generally from the outside farmhouses, the water from Damhead or Town well, or from the becks if required for household purposes such as washing or cleaning, there being no milk or water hawkers. There were a number of lads came in for this kind of work, the writer himself has gone hundreds of times to Jack House Farm, quite a away with backtin strapped on his back, and on the return journey, with perhaps six quarts of milk which allowed the bearer no chance of stooping, which caused the milk to bob down the back of his neck. The writer's late father witnessed a fine episode in connection with the backtin business. This occurred at Lower Park Farm, while his father was sowing out there, or what was called 'Cat Whipping’ for eighteen pence a day and food, the breakfast table was all spread and ready for the family's meal, but before the guests sat down a milk-fetcher from Barlick put in his appearance and turning himself round placed the backtin on the table into which the good Mrs. poured his regular quantity of milk. While all this was going on Tommy the tailor was quietly sat on another table near the window, when suddenly the good lady of the house screamed out ‘Stop, stop, stop!’ The poor lad seemed dazed, and marched towards the door, with the table-cloth stuck fast between the backtin and his own back and before you could say ‘Jack Robinson!’ all the pots along with breakfast came crash to the floor. Thus we may say that ‘Accidents will happen!’

SECOND ARTICLE. Food and Diet. We may thus understand that skimmed milk formed one of the most useful household commodities and was used along with meal or flour or rice or sago or for baking purposes, or even at supper time when a large piece of oatcake, after its being well toasted and broken into some milk, formed a nice and light supper and no after effects were feared or nightmares experienced. There were two kinds or degrees or ways of making either meal or flour porridge. One kind of favourite mess namely ‘Hasty Pudding’. Flour also contributed to the making of the Yorkshire and numerous other kinds of puddings and pancakes. Meal was sometimes used for making ‘Stirabout’ in the frying-pan after the bacon was taken out and a little warm water added to the bacon drip, this last named beverage called Stirabout has gone out of fashion. A large amount of meal was required for baking the indispensable food called oatcake. The so-called Back-stone was a thick. Iron plate arranged on brickwork with fire grate underneath. Most of the farmers, and also some of the larger families possessed a backstone. There were however several public bake-houses for oatcake, such as old Polly Slater's, Old. Betty Simpson’s and others, where folk could take their five or ten pounds of meal and fetch back the same a day or two afterwards, and all ready for hanging up on the bread-fleak to dry. All this privilege cost only a few coppers. Such bread as was in use then was three times the thickness of the present day oatcake sold by hawkers. Potatoes and other vegetables, chiefly home grown, were cheap. Butchers meat were also cheap and the poor folks' joint was usually boiled, and a basin of broth with plenty of oatcake or dumplings in the same, this formed the first course, afterwards came the beef and vegetables. The hung beef, or bacon, where such luxuries could be afforded, were much appreciated, as was occasionally a good fat old hen in its season. For these and all other mercies, old Barlickers were truly thankful yea!

THIRD ARTICLE: Mode and Manner of Dress. Boys up to ten or twelve years of age had no vests and required no gallases (braces) the jacket going inside the top part of the trousers, which were suspended from the former by four buttons. The material used for such suits was invariably drab fustian or corduroy with only two pockets in the trousers which were called toa (marble) pockets. The trousers were worn down to the top of the clogs, and no pockets in the jacket.

THE DAYS OF SCOTCH PLADDIE: In these days grown up men did not wear an overcoat, but the woollen plaid (or ‘plod’ as it was called) of various colours all the fashion. This warm substitute for the top coat was fastened close to the breast with an iron or brass double-ended hook which usually bore the initials of the owner. The Plod could be opened out when required, so as to protect the wearer from all kinds of weather. This innovation continued to be worn more of less quite up to 1860 particularly so by elderly men. The young men in adopting the overcoat, and since that time the Scotch Pladdie has never returned. Brown and Black velveteen and Fustian formed the greater part of clothing for ordinary working folk, while cloth was worn only by the people whose circumstances permitted them to do so. A good
writer had a neighbour who was proud to be wearing his wedding coat twenty years after that event. The coat was dark blue and cut ‘Swallow tail’ and adorned with gilt buttons, but it must be remembered that Sunday Clothes were never worn on the Saturday (as now) by either the men or the women folk, and in the majority of cases such a thing as being in, or out of ‘fashion’ never once troubled their heads.

Just a word about the women folk. The old Black Satin Coal Scuttle Bonnet was fast giving place to a much smaller shape, and this was generally made from straw or Leghorn and not from fabrics. Old Betty Bever (Veevers) the travelling Milliner from Colne, was the principal caterer for the women’s head-gear (there being very few Milliners' Shops then in Barlick) and did a roaring trade. She, and her assistants (in the season) came loaded here at least twice a week, and were quite a favourite with the working class young women. Old Betty Bever could supply her customers with a good serviceable bonnet, with ribbon strings to tie under the chin, and all other trimmings complete, and guaranteed for twelve months, for the reasonable sum of six seven or eight shillings at the most. (no ten inches long pins required) Women generally wore Shawls, both Sunday and weekday. A special Paisley Shawl made from thin material and beautiful design which could be worn in different ways was considered quite a luxury and never went out of fashion. Elderly women preferred the long dark graceful cloak or mantle. Women and men’s also children’s clothing were all home made in the town (excepting hats, caps and bonnets) The same may be said of the boots, shoes and clogs, and none of the before mentioned articles could be purchased at the shops. The clogs were not finished by the clogger, but had to be fetched from that tradesman and taken to the blacksmith for completion with irons or rings and wait their turn or kayle, yea. (Yes)

FOURTH ARTICLE: Household expenses. House rents were very reasonable, starting at sixpence for single-roomed houses (weekly) and going up for other and decent kinds of houses from a shilling by intermediate pence to two shillings per week. Shortly after this time, say 1851, the first four houses were built by the Forrester’s Club in Mill Lane, [Skipton Road] with separate back door accommodation the same being substantial through houses and a nice bit of garden in front, all this for half a crown a week. The writer lived in Forrester’s Row when a boy, and must have known.

Flour and Meal and several other commodities such as sugar were dear, Milk was cheap, eggs a half-penny each, bacon and good cuts of beef or veal or mutton, sixpence a pound. Vegetables and fruit were reasonable, fresh fish scarcely obtainable, while salted herring could be had at most of the grocers shops. Butter about average nine pence. Candles, the only article in use for lighting purposes either in houses or Places of Worship, there being no paraffin-oil or lamps up to this time of any kind. Candles were made in various thicknesses or counts from eight up to twenty in each pound, and a number fourteen's would serve a whole family when placed in the centre of the table, round which the knitting and sewing by the grown-ups were accomplished. While the youngsters enjoyed themselves either by reading books or playing harmless games such as spinning tom-totam for pins or marbles until the time to march up stairs. Candles, about five pence half-penny a pound, and when a half pound was bought for three-pence the jannock shopkeeper returned an additional farthing candle, or a row of pins, such candle was used for going to bed purposes.

Just about this time, 1850, some of the smart young men took a fad for wearing Wellington or top-boots, and although there were no flagged causeways you could hear the approaching footsteps of such individuals when they were fifty yards distance, bump, bump, bump! A performance which the wearer seemed to enjoy. This extraordinary fashion for the upper-ten young men, preceded by a few years the introduction of the elastic sided foot gear, which afterwards became so popular for both men and women’s wear. Elastic Sided Boots have also disappeared.

WELLINGTON BOOTS: A good little story from first hand re. Wellington Boots. It so happened in a family of five big boys that one of the eldest who wore the stylish Wellingtons on the Sunday had a rather inconvenient joke played on him on his return home very late at night. Of course, that was excusable, it being well known by the other brothers that he was overflowing with love and it took him a good many hours to reveal his infatuation, and for one who seemed to be all the world to him. However, on that occasion the younger urchins had hidden the necessary and indispensable Boot-jack consequently the ‘percher’, not wishing to disturb the family, took himself quietly to bed in full possession of his Boots until the morning when Santa Claus or someone else who had had their finger in the pie narrowly escaped having their lugs well pulled for the part they had played in the so called ‘Marlack’.

An old Barlicker who owned a few old cottages, while on his collecting round one week-end, met with a little surprise from one of his tenants, who paid a shilling a week rent, and who seemed a bit tardy at his having to part with that amount, and maybe, he had the morley-grubs just then, however, he said in an insulting manner; I wish I wor like thee, born wi’t silver spoon in thee mauth, an another thing, a think. I've paid enuff rent for this ‘ouse to ko it me oane’ After this the Landlord thus replied. ‘Oh does ta think soa? Thal happen let me say what I think, and that is. if nobody ed hed na more brass ner thee, tha'd a hed ta live awt at door i’t fresh air all thy life! Tha can crack that nut, en good neet!’

The good old home brewed and small drink were pure, and free from ‘fuddle’ and could be had at home and were sometimes used instead of milk for the porridge. This was real ‘Stay at home’ porridge, now totally ignored.

1846 REPEAL OF THE CORN LAWS: Great rejoicings and a grand procession of about thirty carts, representing all the trades and notables of the town and headed by the Barlick Band. This great event was a general holiday. Tommy Corwin was hewing a stone. John Wright was handloom weaving. Broughton Atkinson was tailoring, and all other trades in like manner were equally engaged, while riding in great pomp and ceremony in the numerous carts. Others also joined the monster procession on foot. A similar event took place at Salterforth on a smaller scale,


and a large currant-loaf, after its being exhibited along with the procession through the village, was distributed to the assembly ‘all round the May-Pole’. The writer witnessed both of these ‘girt stirs’ which were celebrated in the anticipation of the much needed and cheaper ‘staff of life’ which was to follow. Sir Robert Peel, John Bright, and Richard Cobden took the leading in this movement.

For the foregoing particulars, which have reference to new Railways, we are indebted. to a Gentleman friend, Mr. Bramley of Skipton, who kindly contributed the following reliable information namely.

1841 Railway opened from Keighley to Skipton. 1849 Railway opened from Skipton to Colne (called Colne branch). 1842 Railway opened from Skipton to Lancaster, and finally to Morecambe. 1870 Barnoldswick branch railway opened 15th February as per record. The writer remembers well, and. witnessed the first train run on the Colne branch, and Barlick seemed quite interested in this new and wonderful event, and scores of people left their work and journeyed to Hurst Hill, above Higher Park Farm, where an excellent landscape view was obtained, the same reaching from Broughton cutting, and along to E1slack, Thornton, Earby and all the way to Foulridge. After waiting for some time, all doubt or curiosity were set aside and steam from ‘Puffing Billy’ was seen coming from Elslack and the other intermediate stations to Foulridge. After this, the little crowd being satisfied, wended their way home with joy and gladness at what. had been seen, and caused the talk of' the town for many a long day.

1847 BURIAL at Colne of' John Harrison, a Foulridge navvy. This man was killed by a fall of earth while employed on the Railway near Kelbrook. The deceased was followed to the Grave in the presence of an immense number of people, by a number of navvies dressed in white smocks and trousers, each wearing a rosette in his hat. This accident happened. at Blue-Hill Cutting and near this Parish.

1847. Old Christopher Bracewell died at Green-End Earby, and was buried in a new large double vault near the tower at Gill Church. This old Gentleman was the Father of Mr. Wm. Bracewell, who had come to live at Newfield Edge Barnoldswick.

MODERN HISTORY: 1846 TO 1870.

1846. PRELIMINARY REMARKS: This year may be call ed the beginning of the Modern History of Barnoldswick, and also the decline of hand-loom weaving, which had to make way for the great change in the weaving industry. This will be easily understood from the following facts namely, that the inauguration of the steam loom altogether changed the capabilities of manual labour by which change a single person could manage with more ease, three power-looms, than the same individual could have worked previously on a single hand-loom, and all this at a greatly increased speed which meant more than a doubled increase on the original output of the old hand-loom. And further, no bobbin-winders were now required. Thus we may safely say that this great change had ‘come to stay’ and that competition was altogether out of the question. An ordinary old experienced hand-loom weaver very soon became acquainted with the new machinery and also with the pulleys and straps that all went round, and in a short time such persons, male or female might stand at ease for a few minutes now and again and carefully watch the progress of the weft and warp in the formation of the cloth, and knowing well all the time that keeping the looms ‘agoing’ meant money " and also Vice a Versa. When the Clough and Butts began running (some two years after this time) the hours were from six to six, and four o’clock on a Saturday which were shortly afterwards changed to half past two o’clock and again, finally, to half-past eleven and on other days changed to half-past five instead of six pm with one and a half hours for meals. Factory hours again reduced: 7am to5:30pm; Saturdays 7am to 9:30am about 1920.

Thus came the end of the old wooden handlooms in cottages and their bedrooms and no reflections need be cast on the same or on the worthy folk who made the best use of them they possibly could until some other kind of Invention took their place, after which they were discarded and broken up or used for some other purpose, while a clean comfortable bedroom was the outcome of this great industrial change.

1846. ERECTION OF CLOUGH SHED by the Mitchells to hold about 300 looms, while a part of same was used for winding, warping and cut-looking, there being no warehouse accommodation for some years after this time. Clough Shed was tenanted by the three brothers; William, Thomas and Christopher Bracewell who had for several years carried on the manufacturing business at Coates and Clough Old Mills, they being owners of the former and tenants of the latter places. The Shed was erected in close proximity to the Old Mill and required a new and separate engine, which was however driven from the same pan (or boiler) as was the old engine inside the Mill. There was also a large water-wheel used in the Mill. A great many formerly hand-loom weavers thus learned the new ‘art’ at the Clough Shed, while and before the Butts Mill and Shed were being completed the latter premises being so much more extensive, and requiring longer time for completion. This would be twelve months or thereabouts. The Bracewell Brothers were able to supply the new Shed with weft and a part of the warps produced in their old Mills already in their possession, however, the machinery in these two old places was not considered up to date and soon as Mr. William Bracewell (cousin to the above brothers) had finished the large mill and shed in Butts and furnished the same with new and modern machinery All this began to tell in favour of Butts, and many of the hands took advantage of the same and ‘changed places’. The Clough Shed was built chiefly by Barlick masons excepting the chimney and this was built by David Carr (Little Dave) of Gargrave and was the first tall chimney erected in the town. The writer of this article was told by old Mr. Wright William Bailey [sic] (who was a tenter at Clough Shed in 1848) that a few of the first looms in that place were made with wooden frames and were fetched from Trawden by the Clough Carter, Aaron Bilsborough who died here recently aged over ninety years, while Bob Foulds, the Tackler from Trawden, came to ‘gate-up’ those sort of mongrel looms. The makers name was Pilling, who soon after removed, and had a foundry built at ‘Guy Syke’, Colne, where he conducted a large business in the making of the modern power loom.

Before going further, an explanation of the word 'pan’ then in use, may be a little interesting and this will bring in also references to Butts as the two places, Clough and Butts were in progress concurrently. The ‘pan’ had no flues through it's centre, but was placed on a circular bed of brick-work which allowed a space of about eighteen inches or more between the bottom of the pan and the fire grate with a single oblong


door in the centre, while the fire space would extend some three or four yards back from the door after which an aperture was allowed for the smoke before reaching the damper. The first two pans which cane to Butts were of this old style construction whilst those which came afterwards were of the modern type with two flues in each (now called) boiler. These were considered a great and economical improvement, Mr. William Bracewell had the two old pans taken out in the slack time and broken up about 186I. It was at this time, and while this work was being done that poor Jack Riding lost his life whilst superintending these operations.

The boilers that came to Butts were made at Sandbeds near Keighley from thick iron plates and were much heavier than present day steel boilers, and when these old style boilers were brought by road and. came to Gill Brow some thirty extra horses were required and caused quite a commotion round the town. At Clough Mill and New Shed a new pan arrived, and a good bit of merriment was caused by the breaking of a rope whilst a lot of men and boys were helping to tug the pan from Low Gate across Peggy Field to the back of the Mill. Nobody was hurt, and all seemed to enjoy the fun whi1st they were laid prostrate on the ground.

After having made these few remarks, one must return to the general subject now under consideration.

THE CLOUGH SHED AND OLD MILLS (COATES INCLUDED)

Unfortunately for the town, the three respected Bracewell Brothers did not seem to have that push and go about them so necessary to enable them to keep pace with the then present day requirements, and consequently the business seemed to dwindle down and slip away from them. The two Mills were first closed down, this however, may be easily accounted for and was the case all over this part of the country when small old Mills with proportionately small out-put and rather heavy working expenses, combined with unsuitable premises and antiquated machinery, could no longer compete with the new and larger and modern equipped factories.

1860 About this time the three respected Brothers Bracewell before mentioned, gave up business and left Barlick altogether with the happy remembrances of all those who had known or been employed by William, Thomas and Christopher Bracewell, namely, that they had never been ‘Slave-drivers’.

So far, so good. Thus the Clough premises changed into other tenants hands who continued to run the Shed, while the old Mills were rendered almost useless and the machinery broken up for scrap iron, yea, that was so.

1860 At this juncture, Mr. Bennett, the Baptist Minister began business as a Manufacturer in a part of Clough Shed. A quotation from Mr, Lewis, Bethesda Baptist Church History, to whom the writer is indebted for this and several other items of information occurs at page 82 in the same historic work, thus; ‘In the year 1860 Mr. Bennett was prevailed upon by several prominent members of the Church to enter the Cotton Manufacturing Business in order to find employment for those who through depression in trade were leaving the town. This step unfortunately proved

a painful one to him. Soon after the American war began, which produced such disastrous results in the Cotton Trade in Lancashire and North Cheshire that Mr. Bennett, in common with many other manufacturers, succumbed to the severe losses suffered.

1860- The tenants who occupied the other portion of Clough Shed were the old experienced and formerly hand-loom firm, John Slater & Sons. The sons thus having the full benefit of their father's long experience, knowledge and perseverance. This
large family of young men, namely Joseph, Henry, Thomas, Clayton and James took an active part in the business, both up to the time of their father's death in 1867 aged 69 years, and also after that sad event the business seemed to go on and prosper, building and extending, and also letting room and power to others.

After Mr. Bennett gave up business, the whole of the Clough premises eventually were occupied by John Slater Sons who turned their energies to the Lindsey-woolsey Trade, and also to the coloured goods and fine Aberdeen ladies dress material while procuring the necessary sorts of the so called woollen weft required for this new class of goods from the central spinning districts around Huddersfield. All these goods found a ready sale in the home markets, and this was one reason why this firm kept plodding on namely, that they had several ‘Strings to their bow’. There was a great demand for the fine Aberdeen's which could be seen ticketed at fabulous prices in shop windows of large towns. All this meant work and employment and a small
margin of profit for the firm:

‘Like clegs they stuck or dogs e doaf. Till they secured both t’Clough en't loaf’ John Slater & Sons also for some time had a manufacturing business at Galgate near Lancaster. All this contributes to the happy and grateful remembrances of those who are ‘gone before’ and who did in their day and generation, to the best of their abilities both ‘sow the seed and toil and spin’. And the same (no doubt) duly appreciated by all the respected descendants of John Slater & Sons Barnoldswick in 1915.

184: ERECTION OF BUTTS SHED. by Mr. William Bracewell who recently came from Burnley to reside at Newfield Edge, Barlick. Although he was a native of Earby, he was not unknown to many a hand-loom weavers here. Mr Bracewell had a brother-in-law at Burnley, Mr. Smallpage, with whom he had spent several years in the manufacturing business (there being no Mill at Earby to this time). Butts Mill & Shed were considered to be a stupendous undertaking and a great number of masons arrived here from Blackburn, along with the contractor (called gaffer) old Jim Howarth who had three sons Rowley, Jack, and George. Butts Mills were built at the junction of the two becks$ which were arched over, and were thus erected on three different owners property namely. the Parrock, next the hillside of Royd’s (Great Croft) and the hill side of Lambert's now Lowcock's Calf Hall field. Adjoining the becks were several cottage gardens occupied by Jim O’Patience, Bill Demain, Jim Uttley, Richard Waite, and Tommy Atkinson. These however, very quickly disappeared. The Tubber Hill quarries were working almost day and night getting stone while the navvies were occupied in removing hundreds of loads of earth from the hillside where the Shed is built, the same being carted away to fill up a large old quarry opposite Emmotts' at Calf Hall, near the foot-path in Cornfield. Old Jim Howarth was Always on the spot and seemed to be a proper slave driver, and a terror to young or old who were anxious to have a glance at the great wonders then being performed in old Barlick The large Mill was four stories high and the Engine House was nearly at one end of the building. The Shed which at first contained 400 looms was very soon enlarged at the west end, and this increased the number of looms to 634. It would be about two years before any machinery arrived, the same having to be conveyed chiefly from Nelson Station and could not be obtained fast enough. The writer remembers going with his father and a visiting relative on the ‘Rushbearing Saturday’ to see the first trial of the engine and this would be August 1848. The chimney was said to be forty-five yards high, was built by Rowley Howarth assisted by Abe Heaton, a full grown Barlicker. The foundation of this tall structure was solid rock and in about 1877 had an additional ten yards of brick placed on the top. This was said to be necessary after the Ingleton (so called) Coals were introduced by Mr. Bracewell who had acquired facilities for working Coal pits at Ingleton.

When the chimney was completed the usual ‘lads’ were there ‘noses first’ and were ordered to fetch shavings from the joiner-shops after which the same were thrust into the bottom of the ‘luvver’ by the way of testing the strength of draft. When the lucifers were applied, a roaring blaze, and also an equally roaring shout echoed through old Butts. While all this fun was going on, one of the men snatched Dicky Webb's cap from his head and threw it up the chimney, however so strong was the draught that the cap was out of the top of same and dropped in the Parrock in next to no time.

THE BUTTS NEW MILL AND SHED, when completed, were soon in full swing and extensions and enlargements ‘knew no end’ while finally, Butts premises were found too small for Mr. Bracewell's requirements, and in 1854 he commenced to build another New Mill and Shed on his own estate, and afterwards known as Wellhouse Mill (to be dealt with hereafter) while the necessary required hands were coming here from all parts of the Country to fill up the places which old Barlickers were unable to take, and also too small in numbers to do so. Thus was the mixture complete, and soon all, both new-comers and old residents, fraternized together and dwelt in amicable citizenship in the once dear old Barlick.

There were said to be nearly 80,000 spindles in Butts Mill. It very soon became evident that the cold-water supply was inadequate for condensing purposes in summer-time and thus the old adage ‘lay up for a rainy day’ had to be reversed, and the Springs Dam was made, to lay up for a fine day. A vain attempt was made in Springs field, by cutting several deep trenches, in order to entice the old Dark Hill Well to forsake its first love and original birth place but without any success. This might have been done with good intentions and for the benefit of the town, thus viewed, the writer thinks it best to blame nobody.

Present day weavers may be surprised to learn that there were no taping or tape-legg machines at Butts for several years after weaving commenced there, all the warps were called ‘half-bear’ style, and such were not even sized on the premises. All this business was done at the Colne Size houses and carts were going to and fro loaded with warps from Barlick to Colne for that purpose almost daily. However after the introduction of the self-sizing machines, these journeys to Colne were considerably reduced and only the surplus goods which were sold to other weaving firms were thus treated.
Mr Bracewell was ably assisted in starting the Mill by several of his intimate friends, both confidential and managers from Burnley namely, Mr. Blackburn, Mr. Holden, Mr. Bibby, Mr. Pilkington and several others. And in addition to the weaving department he employed a good number of warpers for the supply of his customers at other places with his best yarns, while the looms at home used the mule twist. This also applies to the new Well House Mill, the same system being carried on at both places up to the end of the Mills running and the death of Mr. Bracewell in 1885 aged 72 years.

1850. and thereabouts. A bit of humour out of several, and connected with the early history of Butts Shed representing an original episode, namely, that matters were not always straight forward and sometimes small obstacles with rebukes crept into the general workings of this immense business. Thus it was said that early one morning at 5:50 two smart young men (Inspectors) either climbed the wall, or by some other means obtained access to the inner circle of the Butts premises where they secreted themselves until the looms were all in full swing sometime before 6 o'clock one morning. Those cheeky and unwelcome visitors dressed In their Sunday best, pounced into the Shed and made straight up to the young women and big lasses and axed these what they called ‘em, if Mary Jane, or Sarah Ann, or what else until they knew as many names as they wanted and it was very funny that they never went near any of' the men folk or even spoke to ‘Calico Jack’ or his tribe. However they didn’t stay many minutes, but went into the Engine-house to see what old ‘wag bi't wall’ had to say and happen thanking their lucky stars that they had not come into contact with old Joe Cowgill the watchman, who might have given them a dose instead of Shooting the wheel-barrow. After things had quietly settled down a day or two, lo and behold what next? All the women folk that had told what they called em got a circular telling them to dress up in their latest Betty Bever Bonnets and go to Skipton next Saturday, to some sort of a service without fail. Readers can easily guess what followed this palaver without being told:- (So much and cost.)

At Newfield Edge during those times, a grand old man named Tommy Berry was cowman and quite a favourite there, and it so happened that one night whilst he was quietly milking the cows, Mr. Bracewell leisurely looked into the Shippon and began to describe his troubles. Old Tommy courageously gave his master a bit of good advice saying ‘You should do reight, then reight will come to you’. It is thus to be hoped that young thirty-five ever after acted upon the golden rule to do reight thus administered by old seventy-five.

1850. And in close proximity to that time. The old Bone House at Gill Church was taken down and its contents buried. This ghastly building was open at the top, and in the corner adjoining both the buttress and the Church and nearly behind where the pulpit is situated. It was about a yard square and over two yards high with steps half way up the same.

Stone Coffin at Gill Church discovered while the sexton, old Bill Clark was digging a grave and soon a number of men and boys (the writer included) were on the scene and the coffin was hauled up with ropes and placed near the "little door" and very near
its original resting place. For some months after this occurrence, the Church was crowded with visitors from all parts who were anxious to see the stone coffin and attend the Sunday afternoon service held at Gill Church.
CORN MILL. large dam constructed which was formerly only a goit extending from Gisburn Road to within some thirty yards of the old round dam and becoming wider on nearing the same.

New Stone Trough at Damhead well which was formerly only a shallow oblong dub of spring water about the size of a modern bath not more than nine inches deep requiring care by all water-fetchers. This useful supply of pure spring water was never the same after the new sewer was constructed close to on the highway.

1850. EDUCATIONAL MATTERS including all the day Schools in Barlick which were supplying this important necessity were the following namely: Butts National School, Headmaster, Henry Dugdale. Baptist School Walmsgate, held in the Chapel. Head Master, Greenwood Wilkinson, Old Dame’s Schools, Martha Moors, Church Street; Martha Holgate's, Walmsgate. The two last named constituted what are now termed ‘Infant Schools’. Shortly after this time Dugdale removed to Slaidburn Grammar School, his place being taken by William Lambert, who in 1855 removed to Thornton-in-Craven and later still in January I856, Mr Gaskell. became Head Master of Butts School which post he occupied until the Old School was condemned in July
1875. The Brick School being built in this same year, Mr. Wilkinson left the Baptist School and was followed by Mr. H. Windle who did not remain long there after which time Mrs. Beezley took charge of this school for a short time, when the same was given up altogether while Mr, Wilkinson and Mr. Windle found employment under Mr. Bracewell and held honourable positions there the greater part of their lives. The old Dame's schools came to an end in 1852 by the death of old Martha Moor to the
regret of many parents including Mr. Bracewell and also Mr. Milner the former having three girls, and the latter two girls who had attended this school for several years. Mr Dugdale of Butts Schools was also a clock and watch dresser (like Old Bill Shutt) but unfortunately he spent a part of his school hours in this business and the writer of this article well remembers at various times seeing tumbler glasses upside down on the master’s desk. These contained more or less the works of the verges (watches) which were undergoing their ‘spring cleaning’ operations during which the scholars had to do the teaching. It may well be imagined that there were either no inspectors or else that their visits in those days were few and far between. All these remarks point to the conclusion that Schoolmasters at this time were Poorly paid for their services, and were almost entirely dependent on the school-pence which started at three-pence per week.

1850. The ‘Barring-out Day’ was a great event at the two Senior Schools. When a holiday was about to take place all the scholars contributed a small sum of money to these feasts of ‘fat things’ such as fruit, sweets, nuts and confectioneries, which constituted one of the principal features of these jollifications held in the school, and during which, should the master chance to go outside the room, the door was quickly ‘barred’ and he was not allowed to re-enter his school until the parleying was finished, and the one, two, or three weeks holiday granted amidst the bedlam there going on inside the room. At the Butts school one half of the ‘Nominy Money’ was thus appropriated while the other half was retained as a perquisite by the Scholar or Scholars who had performed the duty of reciting the nominy inside Gill Church on all reading occasions. This old custom which might be on a par with ‘Old Hen Money’ in a more polite form, has long since been discontinued. A few lines of the Old Nominy were as follows; ‘As many happy days I wish you still, As there are honey combs on Hybal’s Hill. I wish you never may deceased be, Till Sheep and wolves accord in unity, All earthly joys and heavenly bliss betide, This youthful Bridegroom and this comely bride.’


1851. Barlick was now rapidly becoming a more modernised place and economical people were beginning to realize the fruits of their new industry, whilst a few of the other class were always hard-up before the fortnight's end. The frugal folk had enough and perhaps a little to spare, and this soon began to manifest itself in various ways, first in home comforts and next in a desire to see and learn more of the outside world, and in this direction a grand opportunity presented itself at this juncture and was much appreciated namely;
1851: THE INTERNATIONAL EXHIBITION at Crystal Palace London. This made quite a flutter in modern Barlick and a good number of people in a position to do so~ availed themselves of the opportunity to go to London and visit the Exhibition held in Hyde Park after which the building was removed to Sydenham in Kent where it has remained ever since, and retained its original name Crystal Palace. And thus the Barlick folk were enabled to see the wonderful sights at the world famed Exhibition, whilst towards the end of the season Dick Tom, and Harry were not content to be left behind, they also ‘raised the wind’ and gave instructions at their homes for everything to be in readiness for their departure over Tubber Hill en-route for London namely silk hat to be polished, Dickey to be starched, Boots to be blacked with old Johanna’s best, sold on condition that the blacklead brushes were all to be put under lock and key during the operation. It is gratifying to add that all returned home safe and sound. delighted with what they had seen and heard, and were besieged with the stay-at-home folk ever anxious to get to know all they could ‘for nowt’. It may be truly said that at this time and for years afterwards almost every piece of pottery, toys, fancy crockery, leatherwork, picture-books, in fact nearly everything were emblazoned with paintings and pictures and photographs representing the wonders and scenes both inside and outside the magnificent Crystal Palace Exhibition of 1851.

The Old Johanna to whom reference has been made in the last article was an eccentric old man who resided at Foulridge and earned his livelihood by making and hawking blacking to the surrounding places. He possessed a very long white beard (nearly)
reaching to the bottom of his vest and was said to belong to a very peculiar sect called ‘Latter day Saints’

I851: BAPTIST CHURCH 2. (The former part of this history has been previously dealt with) The erection of the Bethesda Baptist Church which opened in 1852. This is the fourth and last place of worship connected with that body namely a Barn, a cottage, and the Old Chapel erected in 1797. The three last named places form one block of buildings, and close to the old burying ground of the Baptists.

1851. BETHESDA 2. The writer well remembers being present at the laying of the foundation stone ceremony at the bottom of the old back lane and the junction of the main road to Colne which ‘the better to see’, young lads like me had to climb up a tree. The two venerable old members who were entrusted with the ceremony were old Henry Pickles and old Stephen Dean , who with Mahogany Mallet and Silver trowel in hand accomplished their work both wisely and well. There were a large number of people assembled to see this great event, including Ministers, Singers
congregation and visitors. Miss Ann Mitchell a lady connected with the Baptists denomination whose ancestors had generously endowed this Church, she sold the
whole of the ground upon which the present Church stands and the adjoining burial ground for the nominal sum of Seven pounds. This handsome and commodious place of worship was considered to be an ornament to the town and was largely attended at that time. 1890 In this year a large New Sunday School was erected at a cost of £1,600 on the site immediately behind the Bethesda Baptist Chapel while in 1905 the Chapel itself was nearly rebuilt and considerably enlarged, and most of the inside was
re-constructed and made anew. To complete all these alterations and improvements, a new and up-to-date organ was procured as a help to Divine Worship in that sacred place.

I853 BETHESDA old-organ. A short story in connection with that instrument, as related by the organ-builder John Laycock on a visit to the writer (and fifteen years after this time) he having come on to put the finishing touches to a Barlick made organ. And the old gentleman seemed proud to repeat the story thus; ‘Mr. Bracewell came to our place at Closes Farm near Glusburn and said “I want to know how soon you can make an organ for the new Baptist Church at Barlick, they are in a great hurry, and must have one soon from somewhere.” Mr. Laycock, the organ builder at once took in the situation and temperament of his new customer by saying “Well Mar Bracewell, I have an organ finished in the workshop and if it suits you, you may have it, and the price is £160. This organ has been made for Cullingworth Church but they cannot agree and decide where to put it. Some of the congregation want it in the Nave whilst the Parson and a few others, prefer to have their new organ in the Chancel and that is the reason why this instrument is here and waiting their decision. However if you (Mr. Bracewell) decide to have it, it’s quite right, and the other people will then have a bit more time to settle matters while I make another. Mr. Bracewell seemed satisfied with this arrangement, and said “Very well, we will have it as it seems to be a Grand instrument and if it’s good enough for them, it will do for us and you can bring the organ to Barlick tomorrow if you like" Such is the early history of the old organ which was opened without delay in the Bethesda Baptist Church and ever after proved itself to be a worthy instrument and a pleasure to hear by the congregation of
that Church and people for just over half a century up to 1905.

1851. William Boothman's and Ralph Appleby’s new shops, built at the corner of Church Street and Newtown in Tom Slater's Orchard. Thus the fine old trees which overhung the street disappeared and the old stone stocks were removed from where the present causeway exists and deposited in Butts Pin-Fold in silent repose. These two old shops were some years ago acquired by the Craven Bank, now amalgamated with the Liverpool Bank whilst other shops followed in succession such as Henry Townson’s in 1855 Opposite Butts Top. John Slater’s in 1856 at the top of Mill Lane and Wellhouse Road. While strange to say scarcely any new cottage property was built up to about 1852. The tacklers at Butts erected five houses for their own use in the Long Ing Lane. John Slater of Barlick Lane built six houses and his brother (Harry) built a like number, both lots in St. James' square. However some of the
natives who had no factory hands had to leave their houses and find shelter as best they could, inasmuch as several houses had become the temporary property of the Mill Owner who thus had first claim.

Barlick in years gone by was under the rule and authority of Skipton where all plans for building here had to be submitted and passed before any operations commenced. Several blunders were allowed to pass whilst to rectify some of the same will be a great expense for the town. One specimen will suffice (out of many) in proof of this assertion. Mitchell Terrace, Manchester Road being allowed to build their front garden walls right close up to the channel and thus ignore their neighbours causeway, namely Bethesda.

At the south side of Butts, Mr. Bracewell was allowed to dig a hole on the side of the street and furnish a weighing machine. However after some years the same was removed elsewhere.

Town-end Public House. In olden times this place was called ‘Scotch Laddie’ with a gorgeous sign board. representing the full-dress kilted Scot, until the steam engines were invented then its name was changed to ‘Engine Inn’ and again changed to Railway Hotel after the Barlick railway was opened in 1870. The Engine Inn and adjoining property was owned by Mr. Hartley Robinson who erected two new Shops now occupied by the Yorkshire Penny Bank with Solicitors offices in the upper rooms. Mr. Robinson occupied a bit of spare land called ‘Saging Hill’ for cutting-up trees for Clog Soles he being also a clogger. Charlie Robinson, his son left Barlick when a boy and in after life he became a large woollen Manufacturer at Batley, Chas.
Robinson Esq. is now living in retirement at Harrogate and was born at the Engine Inn Barlick his mother being a daughter of old David Duckworth, farmer.

1850. Up to this time there was not a single house from Tom Slater’s Barn (better known as butcher Baldwin’s) Newtown, until Long-Ing was reached, leaving out New Laithe farmhouse, and the two old thatched houses on Canty Hill, and then in ruins. No, not a dwelling house from East end of King Street to Long Ing, either right or left, or even up Blue Pot Lane.

1850. The same may also be said of Town Head. Not a single house on the left side after the Benevolents Chapel, and end of Back Lane, whilst on the right side, a few houses and also a shop were built on the triangle, but Hartley Wilkinson's shop on the same side was there last, and remains so up to this time 1915 at top end of the Club row.

1852. A brisk start was now made in building cottage houses and the centre of the orchard was rapidly being made into streets now called Orchard Street, Garden Street and Market Street. Also on the left side of Newtown as far as the odd house built by
John Swires a tailor whilst on the right side the new houses extended to the bottom of Blue Pot Lane and afterwards a row of houses were built at the top of the same Lane. also houses were built connecting King Street with Newtown by a Club at Gisburn. The Barlick Oddfellows Club also built some cottages in Mill Lane adjoining Sam Bell's new shop. A new shop was built for M. Turner and Sons (before this date) by Mr, Mitchell of Thornton, this was nearly opposite Seven Stars Inn and on the site of an old shippon used by Mr. Tom Smith of that place. All the before named properties were erected by private enterprise and some of the persons who thus speculated were R. Shuttleworth, Higher Park; James Cook, Height Side; Wm Boothman, Richard Broughton, William Broughton, Kelbrook; James Nuttall, Johnny Wigglesworth and perhaps Berwicks of Gisburn, and a Club from [the] same place; William Bradley, Oddfellows and Foresters' Clubs and old Sam and Harry Green. And no doubt there were several others thus engaged in various parts of the town building homes for the working folk at the time. In 1852 old Tommy Hudson of Town Bridge died. He was called a Squire and wore a starched side-board collar, and often a black velvet smoking cap and was said to be a very strong Wesleyan. His fine house door was painted white, with brass knocker on same and he enclosed and pallisaded the causeway to make his house more private.

1855. About this time property was very cheap in Barlick and a plain substantial four roomed-house could be erected for £I00 while a row of houses in Peggy-Field, on changing owners only realized £80-2-6 each house. This Property not being in the main thoroughfare and now called Bethesda Street has not increased in value as the cottage property in Newtown and Rainhall Road has increased. Then, some forty houses were built in that district taking both sides of the street, and none of the same cost more than a hundred pounds, with an average rental of 2/- per week.

Now it may be said that all the cottages in Newtown and Rainhall Road have been made into shops since the erection of Long-Ing Shed in 1887. This ‘change of front’ has been accomplished by the use of iron girders and large plate glass windows whilst
the bedrooms and kitchen remain ‘as before’ and it is not too much to say that all this cottage property, after these alterations are now realizing more than four time the amount of the original rent then. And this present age may truly be classed as a period of ‘rise’ and of course progress as well. The last paragraph does not include the much newer and more modern terrace approaching the Wesleyan Chapel. This system of making shops out of old cottage houses has by no means been confined to Rainhall Road as a large number of houses have been similarly dealt with in various other parts of the town.

1854. CRIMEAN WAR began in March which caused great distress and poverty in Barlick by the Mills stopping for weeks at a time until good news came in March 1856 when the blessings of peace once more dawned upon the community at large. 1854. Erection of Wellhouse Mill and Shed by Mr. William Bracewell on his own estate and afterwards called ‘New Mill’. The Butts premises being considered too limited for further extensions. Old Jim Howarth and Sons were again the Masons, and Rowley built the chimney, assisted by Abe Heaton and its height was sixty yards and great difficulty was experienced in making a proper foundation to carry this immense structure the site being soft black earth. This was also the case in the building of the Mill which was only three stories high and the walls caused much delay by their giving way and getting out of plumb and had several times to be straightened before the third story was completed although the foundations were placed on top of the sod. At this time a steep little hill opposite the Mill and which caused great hindrance to the traffic from the Canal at Coates. This short Vicarage Brow was lowered about four feet or more at the top whilst the sand obtained from this improvement was made good use of along with the lime at the New Mill. While all this was going on, most people had their doubts about where the water had to come
from inasmuch as there were no becks near and these misgivings had arisen from past proof of the insufficiency of water at Butts with its two becks and the Springs Dam into the bargain. However all this seeming obstacle was removed by the construction of two large dams for cooling purposes. These were supplied from a large tank connected with a drain which Mr. Bracewell had obtained permission to make in order to drain the land nearly half way to Cockshott's Canal Bridge and almost parallel with the Canal. [Tha Bowker Drain] The tank being connected to the dams by a small donkey engine pump and running day and night.
1858-9. And yet another enlargement across the end of the Mill and thus forming the shape of the letter ‘T’. Thus when the whole premises were completed, and the two pairs of Mules removed out of the Shed into the new end of the Mill the total number
of spindles were over 88,000 and 728 were the number of looms in the Shed.

Strange, but true, that a six-inch cold water-pipe was laid across the fields and through the street down to Butts Beck from Wellhouse Mill. The same was used for a few years after the latter was completed but was abandoned after the engines at Butts were
supplied with a new invention. All the engines at both Mr, Bracewell's Mills were on the Beam principal while the horizontals or rope movements were not as yet adopted.

1859. The Squire now turned his attention to the erection of Cottage houses, namely thirty houses called ‘Bentham Square’, next the Twenty-Row and later the Nineteen-Row but these 69 houses were altogether inadequate for the requirements of the scores of families coming into the town hence the private builders had to make up for this shortage houses while agents were being sent to different towns in search for more hands by Mr. Bracewell to such places as Luton, St. Albans, Coventry, Devizes, Stamford and other towns. An attempted list of places from whence the ‘hands’ came may be interesting and taking Butts hands first and up to the erection of Wellhouse Mill namely from Todmorden, Ingleton, Black Burton, Settle. Moreton Banks, Rough Lee, Addingham, Horton, Kelbrook, Salterforth, Foulridge and in 1855 from bonny Gazegill.
Whilst the later arrivals for Wellhouse Mill just before 1860 and onwards, came from Airton, Bentham, Bell-Busk, Bordley-Moor, Hawes, Carleton, Gargrave, Grassington Gisburn, Grindleton, Lothersdale and Long Preston, and the large towns before mentioned and procured by the Agents; Mr. George Wellock and his co-partners, acting on behalf of Mr. Bracewell. The writer admits inability to give from memory a perfect list in the article just read the same being only ‘attempted at’.

1858. Now when the two New Mills and the three Sheds were running in Barlick what improvements may thus be safely expected and enjoyed by the majority of the inhabitants of which the following are a few out of the many such changes namely, hearth-rugs and carpets gradually took the place of the formerly bare flags scattered over with sand while paraffin lamps and later gas took the place of the dingy candles. Also the well-stocked wardrobe became an accomplished. Fact. Instead of (in some cases) Sunday and weekday alike. Good food and plenty of it was generally forthcoming and no doubts or fears as to where the next meal was coming, from. And last but not least of all was the dear ‘little nest egg’ which was gradually accumulating in the corner of the drawer by all the not extravagant class of folk who thus utilised the overplus of cash for the ‘rainy day’ or for any other purpose they might have in their minds, and well knowing that the same would be their first and best friend in time of need.

1856. WEST RIDING CONSTABULARY came into operation on September
30th. Barlick contributed a few of its young men to this new organization namely, Charlie Shepherd. Joe Blackburn, Dave O’David’s, Joe Pickles, Will Demain and Will Windle while Johnson Edmondson did not reach the reach the required standard in height and was not accepted on that account. Thomas Waite of ‘Henhouse Farm’ was parish Constable under the old system and had to relinquish that position and hand over the hand-cuffs to the newly appointed officer of the West Riding Force. There was no proper place for prisoners or Police Station until about twenty years after this time, and the same was carried out in an old cottage with a cellar underneath and approached from the outside, opposite the Seven Stars Inn, where old Jeremy Riley officiated in the capacity of Chief Officer for same and afterwards Mr. Parkin, who resided there until the New Police Station was erected after which he became the First Inspector.

1856. New Swell in Gill Church Organ and other minor additional improvements at a cost of £80. This work was entrusted to Mr. John Laycock, Organ Builder, Closes Farm Nr. Glusburn, while the Organist was Mr. Watson of Masham who had recently opened the new organ at Bethesda and caused so much surprise to the musical natives by playing tunes with his feet and having his arms leisurely folded during that wonderful operation.

A short story (which ought to have been included in the West Riding Paragraph before mentioned) Once upon a time it so happened in those days of the old Parish Constable and years before 1856 that a prisoner was handcuffed and taken into the
Seven Stars kitchen and securely tied fast to some part of the iron-work in the fire place, might be the oven-door, there to remain until he could be safely escorted to Skipton. This mighty giant seemingly not content took advantage at the temporary absence of his captor and made a desperate effort to free himself with the result that the whole mass, including the oven, boiler and firegrate were torn from their places and came with a crash flat on the floor while the hero of this little (but true) story
remained a prisoner.

1855. THE PRIMATIVES [sic] IN BARLICK. In this year a devoted woman named Mrs. Lancaster and connected with this Society came to live here and soon made a few friends who for a short time rented the clubroom at the Engine Inn. Services were held and afterwards in an upper room up the steps at the lower end of Newtown, then again in the lower room of same at the end of the ginnel. This room soon became too small and in 1858 Mr. William Bracewell generously gave a plot of land in the Orchard for the erection of a new Primative Methodist Chapel. The foundation stone was laid in July by the Rev. John Hedley and the building was completed in May 1859 to accommodate 250 people and at a cost of £300.; This site is now called Market Street.

1878. In this year this chapel was considered to be inadequate to the growing requirements of the Primatives, and also not up to date, and consequently Mr. Bracewell was again approached and gave the present site in Station Road, valued at £400. In June 1879 the corner stone was laid by Mr. John Eastwood and Mr. Robert
Anderson. In September 1880 when the building was completed the Rev. Thomas Markwell occupied the pulpit on the first opening Sunday. On the second Sunday, the Rev. W. Rowe, on the third Sunday the Rev Josiah Woods M.A. While to complete the Musical part of the service, a grand organ was built by Laycock & Bannisters of Cross Hills at a cost of about £325. And this last event brings the history of the Primative Methodists up to the year 1911 and now called ‘Bethel Primative Methodist Church’.
I850 – 1860. Up to the middle of this decade, there was not a single piano or harmonium in all Barlick excepting ‘Newfield Edge’. The first two such table Pianos were billeted in Tackler Row at Mr. James Lowcock’s and Mr. Joseph Edmondson's, Newtown, while a good harmonium was procured for the Town Head Chapel and a similar such Instrument was bought by J. W. Thornber and the cottage half-upright piano became the general favourite, while in less than twenty years these were to be counted by the score and this increase in the numbers has continued altogether up
to the present time 1915 while the Harmonium has disappeared altogether and the American (so called) organ has taken its place. Next followed in rapid succession the sewing machine, the first of which came to Christopher Sutcliffe’s Tailor Folly. The next one to John Waites' at Dam-Head Farm for his daughter Grace, while both sewing and wringing machines soon became indispensable in a great many households. At this time a young Mechanic named Dick Hanson was busy trying to construct a Traction Engine and was almost successful (at Dam Head). Dick was at same time successful in hooping Grace’s finger and he ultimately left the town.

I855. Riding the stang, This was the last occasion at which this silly old custom was performed In Barlick and the coarse and insulting language used on these occasions, also the names of the victims will be best left alone altogether.

1855 to 1865. About this time a curious fashion for women folk became popular. This new style of adornment was called a ‘Crinoline’ and was just the very opposite degree of fashion now passing away called the ‘Hobble Skirt’ and both of these extremes may be classed as a ‘Wee Bit Silly’ while the Crinoline might thus be preferred as allowing plenty of room for the wearer to stride. Yet when the same had to encounter a limited space such as connects one field with another then all their skill and dexterity were required in order to accomplish a graceful manipulation of the task. However, the old say is that ‘practice makes perfect’ and let us hope it did so.
Leg-a-Mutton Inverted sleeves, just a rub for the men folk. This style may also be classed among the silly whims of fashion and consisted in the men’s coat sleeves being made tight fitting down to the elbow after which they became gradually wider until they reached the enormous width of 18 Inches at the bottom and the same were stitched some nine times round and faced inside with red silk. Surely this kind of cuff allowed plenty of fresh airy and formed a miniature crinoline all around the wrist. After this, both sexes hands and say ‘we might as well be out of t’nation, as be out of fashion’. However the crinoline fashion did not last more than ten years and the men’s Leg-a-Mutton sleeves for a much shorter period. When men began to wear their watches in their waistcoat pocket with ‘Albert’ across the same and discarded the trousers fob with its dangling bunch of seals outside. About this time a new fashion for men’s trousers came into vogue, fly fronts and still remains so, but a certain amount of prejudice had to be overcome before the same became general and it was the writer's unhappy lot to experience a bit of this stupidity on one occasion when a garment of this description was taken to a customer's home. The Mrs. flew into a ‘tantrum’ saying ‘who ordered them that way? Take ‘em back, or else they go on't back o’t fire’. A quick exit was made by the tailor who left the good lady to cool down at her leisure. ‘Such is fate. Grin and bide it.’

1851. SALTERFORTH EBENEZER BAPTIST CHAPEL erected. 1903 New Baptist Church erected at Salterforth and former Chapel used as a School.
Salterforth; Date on house near Canal Bridge 1778. Robert Broughton, Mason.

I850 to 1860. At the beginning of this period funeral cards became fashionable. The first such card seen by the writer was in 1850 and originated at the burying (funeral) of a Forrester, Joseph Marshall, T. Atkinson being a Forrester brought home from this funeral our first such card which had the following verse printed on same: ‘We shall from Sodom flee when perfected in love and haste to better Company who wait for us above’. From this time and onwards, funeral cards became quite an adornment on the walls of cottages houses. However, this kind of decoration has disappeared of late years. Also another old custom, common at working-class funerals at this time, has long since disappeared. Namely that each person. who attended a burying were expected to contribute a shilling or more, according to circumstance, while such individual’s were taking their long and last farewell glance. And such gifts were thankfully received by the relative to the deceased who was seated closely thereby. And the object of this custom was to help to defray the expenses (their not being in Barlick up to this time any insurance companies) Of course the usual slice of Currant Loaf and biscuit, carefully folded in white paper and sealed with black wax were distributed to each mourner who kindly attended on these solemn occasions, which were sometimes called by certain thoughtless persons a ‘currant loaf and slow walking procession’.

1850. CLUB DAYS AND CLUB WALKS. The Club-day was undoubtedly the red-letter day of the whole year in Barlick, June 24th. And formerly these processions went to service at Gill Church, there being a special service there on that date, said to be in connection with the Daubers Dole and this festival was then for some years carried out in an orderly and inexpensive manner until Barlick in later years became more ‘flush o' brass’. Then it was that Societies began to engage the expensive Brass
Bands and also to hire the full regalia from their High Courts Store for these special occasions. After all this the Clubs discontinued their attendance at the Parish Church and marched round by way of Bancrofts, accompanied by their respective Bands, finally returning to the steaming hot dinner awaiting them at the different public houses where a stand was erected for each band while after dinner and the usual smoke the music was continued alternately at the several stands for the remainder of the day. All these attractions, which brought hundreds of visitors from the neighbouring places, soon became almost unbearable in the street with thirty stalls of sweets, fruits and pop all amongst the crowd. It was said that one could have walked on people's heads and also what about the bairns? Hence it became necessary to have a Gala Field with bandstand in centre and each band to play in their turns while various kinds of sports were also provided in addition to the music till after the sun went down. Then ‘Johnny goes marching home, again, hurrah, hurrah,’ And the magic spell of music no longer contains the dear old rat-tat, rat-tat. The Glusburn Brass Band always finished up the Club-Day with the same tune Which seemed to say: Let this night be e’re so dark. Lat it be wet or windy. I will return safe back again. To the girl I left behind me.

The Gala Field proved very successful and was a great improvement on the crowded street while everybody contributed their wee bit toward the expenses of the Club-Day. It is sometimes said that ‘all things come to an end’ and assuredly this great festive day was no exception for after it was changed to the Saturday the same gradually lost its charms and before 1880 the Club Walk day had become a thing of the past, and the clubs also (with one exception) ceased to exist, having sold their property and ‘divided up’ while each member received their proportionate share according to scale.
In the latter years of one of these Societies there came an electric ‘shock’ after which confidence became shaken with the ultimate result that this Club also divided up in 1881-1882.

Bacup and Black Dyke Bands seemed to be the favourites amongst the rest of other Bands. The following is a verse taken from the title page of an old Bye-Laws Book in use by the Forrester’s Court, Henry De Lacy No. 107, dated 1837 and held at the house of Ann Edmondson, Cross Keys Inn Barnoldswick.

‘These laws, though human, spring from those divine.
Love laid the scheme love guides the whole design
Vile is the many who will evade these laws
Or taste the sweets without sufficient cause.’

1855. Or about this time Mr. Bracewell rejoined the Wesleyan Society.

1861. Power looms were run in Clough and Coates old Mills for a short time by water power and chiefly so by the former employees at Butts. This was said to be done as commission work by these new beginners. Shortly after this time a ‘storm began to brew’ between two of the leading men of the town, namely Mr. William Bracewell and Mr. James Nuttall which lasted for several years. This lamentable struggle upset the town and party felling ran very high with Law Suits and turmoil of which there seemed to be no end. The ‘Water Rights’ the chief bone of contention, while the worst part of this business was that some of it’s keenest supporters reduced themselves to penury. However, the writer has no desire to dwell upon this, or kindred subjects.

1857. The fate of the Old Bell at the Wesleyan Chapel. This memorable ‘Call to Prayer' was taken down from the place which still remains on the top of the gable nearest the town and removed to the Butts Mill and there placed in the stone work already prepared for such purposes over the penny office which still remains intact. The Blacksmith (Tom Walker) was unable to hang the bell properly, with the result that it never became useful as a ‘call to work’, while on one occasion during a temporary breakdown, the old Bell came to grief. by the action of a young-man who climbed a ladder with hammer in hand which he used with such zeal that the Bell resented his treatment and suddenly cracked, then flat went the music of this old relic, never more to be heard. Soon after this the ‘Sirens’ was adopted in 1855 at the Mill
and could be heard on Malham Moors nearly twenty miles distance. What about the peaceful slumbers of the natives? Surely ‘use had to become second nature.’

1858 to 1859. NEW DAY SCHOOL, the first to be connected with the Wesleyan Chapel erected adjoining the old Chapel on Jepp-Hill and two stories high with steps outside. (All this block of buildings now form the Town Hall) The first Headmaster was William N. Trevor with Miss Baldwin (now Mrs. Gregg) and Joseph Marshall as first pupil teachers. These two last named are still living, Mrs Gregg In Barlick and Mr. Marshall retired at Black-pool.

1861 to 1862. NEW DAY SCHOOLS. These handsome and commodious schools were erected by the Wesleyans in Rainhall Road and were an ornament to the town.

A short story connected with the sweet toned old Bell (before mentioned) When memory lingers and loves to call back stories of youthful bygone days then it is that the patience of a reader becomes sorely tried. A few years previous to the removal and discontinuation of those sacred chimes which were duly performed by old. Jemmy Waterworth the Chapel Keeper and candle-snuffer and all other Sunday and
weekday duties combined, for the nominal sum of 2/6 a week. This devoted old servant little thought that his six o’clock Bell was being used for any other purpose than the one for which it was originally intended, watches being scarce. And yet such
was the case in at least one instance which came to the writer’s knowledge, and Blue Pot Lane figures in this little old story as the regular meeting place of two stout young men as previously arranged, at the sound of the six o' clock Bell. All this was done in order that Tommy Corwen and Tom Windle might enjoy each others company for a full mile at the end of which there were some magnetic influences at work which could not be restrained. And in due time these attractions became so powerful that eventually two strapping young women put an end to Tommy and Tom's journeys to Salterforth by having their surnames changed and coming to live with them and help to make them comfortable at their new homes, now at old Barlick in A.D. 1849.

1852 to 1877. GAS and services at places of worship, gas being very expensive. The price being for many years 7/6 per 1000 feet. A great number of places and private houses used paraffin lamps until this commodity became somewhat reduced in price after which time gas became more generally adopted. Mr. Bracewell laid all the gas mains and supplied the public with the same. The services at the Chapels were at half past two and six o'clock up to about 1877 when they adopted the half-past ten morning service and discontinued the afternoon service. Up to about 1868 there were very few evening services at St, James’s Church. However they have been regularly continued up to 1915 starting at half-past six, with morning service at half-past ten and Gill Church at half past two, except on the first Sunday in each month when the morning service is held in the Parish Church and commences at 11 o'clock.

1868. For several years before this time the church people were anxious to have an evening service at St James’s church. Of course, the vicar, the Rev. R Milner was advancing in years and cou1d not see his way to undertake three services on a Sunday while the Churchwarden Mr. Henry Waite did not encourage such new-fangled ideas and plainly asserted himself by saying ‘I think there is daylight enough to worship God if you only made good use of it.’ However with the introduction of a new organ on May 24th 1868 at a cost of £105 the evening service became an accomplished fact.
Soon after this the respected old Vicar died in 1870 aged 69 years and the Rev S H Ireson became vicar of this parish, his first sermon was 21st August 1870.

1861 to 1865. AMERICAN CIVIL WAR. ‘Dole Times’ Or ‘Cotton Famine’. These were indeed times of distress caused by the Mills stopping for two and three weeks at a time it being impossible to obtain any raw cotton from America. However as soon as this material began to arrive from Egypt in moderate quantities and also from India called Surat (and this of an inferior quality) there was some slight improvement in trade, and this, together with the allowance of cash received from the Mansion House Funds somewhat mitigated the existing state of want in the town. These ‘Doles’ were administered by a local committee, either by way of cash, or special tickets made out to suit the wants of the receiver, either for food at the grocers shops, or for clothing or clogs at other places. All such tickets being issued at regular intervals by the Dole Committee which came as a ‘boon and a blessing to man’ in poor modern Barlick. At this crisis all kinds of devices were resorted to in order to try and procure more cotton, while even cotton flock beds were utilized for this purpose and mixed up with the raw material at the Mills. The Rev R. Milner, as Chairman of the Local Dole Committee, was deputed to London in order to secure a fair share of the accumulated wealth at the Mansion House for his needy parishioners and a better man could not have been sent on this urgent errand of mercy, judging from his past achievements in that capacity and the former results obtained by him inasmuch as he, Mr. Milner, was called the ‘best beggar’ in the Parish and as such he proved himself to be by his pleadings at the Mansion House on this occasion which resulted in a handsome sum of money being allotted to poor modern Barlick.

1862. September the 29th. This exact date of the Vicar's visit to London, is still cherished by the writer, inasmuch as on account of Mr Milner's unavoidable absence on this special business at the Mansion House, a neighbouring clergyman (Mr. Hayes) had to attend at Gill Church to perform a certain clerical duty in connection with a great event in the history of the writer's life.

1864. BIBLE HAWKING. At this time Mr. Edward Slater, who had recently the misfortune to lose one of his arms whilst following his occupation at the Wellhouse Mill, ‘Ned’ as he was called, commenced a new business and outside Barlick, which eventually covered a district of at least a hundred miles. This was called ‘Bible Hawking’ and Ned employed a large staff of Agents and collectors while in after years, other Barlick young men followed the same train of business, which in some instances embraced the jewellery and watch trade also. And most of this hawking was done on the instalment system. A certain sum being first paid down, and the remainder being afterwards received by the collector and under this system the vendors had to charge more than ordinary market prices for their goods in order to cover the expenses of the collecting Agents and other losses in connection with this rather risky business which came in for a fair share of criticism by the ‘dogs in the manger’ at home. While this system of hawking was carried on for more than twenty years and after the death of its founder poor Ned in 1885 aged 45 years. The writer of this article comments from an unbiased standpoint and maintains that Barlick ultimately reaped the greatest benefit from this enterprise by this accumulation of wealth which has been spent in, and for, the welfare of the town. First by assisting in the promotion and formation of companies and next by these same energetic young men becoming manufacturers and employers of labour themselves. Then let it be said ‘honour unto whom honour is due’ both to the living and unto all those who in their day and generation did ‘bear the heat of the day’ and are now gone to their rest.

1864. Coates New Shed to be erected. In this enterprise Mr. James Nuttall was the leading man and the building, when completed to hold 300 looms, and undoubtedly was built as a ‘refuge place’ for would-be manufacturers who had been thwarted in their endeavours to become such at Coates Old Mill and then deprived of the water power at that place which put an end to their efforts for time being. However, as it is said, ‘it is money that makes the mare go’ and unfortunately there seemed to be a shortage of this important commodity and this caused considerable delay in the erection of this new shed and sometimes it was humorously remarked that the builders ought to be supported and encouraged with ‘Brass Hammers’ in order to get the work completed. However, patience and perseverance at last were crowned with success and this, the fourth shed in or near Barlick, became a source of employment and has ever since those times of ‘big dog, and little dog struggles’, added its share to the welfare and prosperity of the town. ‘Evil be to him that evil thinks.’

1865. For some years after this time there was quite a ‘lull’ in the building of mills or sheds in Barlick and all seemed to be at a standstill in that direction. The only development of the town was in cottages and shop property, and the first move was made at Clough Shed by an extension of 100 looms in 1868, with room over the same for preparing Woollen Weft, which was in a few years discontinued and looms were chiefly substituted, the same being run by Mr. Stephen Pickles. While after a lapse of ten years, in 1879, a new mill was built at Clough but abandoned as a Mill in 1880 and part machinery intended for the same was taken to Canada with Mr. Clayton Slater's removal to that Colony in 1880. The New Mill at Clough was owned by John Slater & Sons by whom room and power were let to a number of individuals or firms at this time. 1880. [Clough] This was said to be the real start of Barlick’s prosperity in the expansion of the weaving industry and the whole mill was soon filled with looms and other machinery necessary required for the same. One hundred and forty-four looms on each floor, making a total of 576 looms on the four first floors, while the loft was jointly used for preparation purposes for same.

1880. The following a few of the names associated with that new venture and some of whom are still carrying on the manufacturing business in Barlick. Nutters, Edmondsons, Slaters. Windles, Ormerods, Brooks, Browns, Bowkers and many others, either in company or otherwise. Bob Foulds, of loose reed fame, having previous to this time removed his looms from the Old Mill and taken them to County Brook, commonly called ‘The Stew Mill’. This host of plodding new manufacturers at C1ough Mill and Coates Shed were sometimes called the fraternity of ‘Thine and mine and me cousins’.

1854. BARNOLDSWICK COOPERATIVE INDUSTRIAL SOCIETY LIMITED.
This new adventure started in an humble way in a small cottage opposite the gable-end of the present Craven-Liverpool Bank with perhaps not more than twenty members. However, after occupying three different premises with varied improvements, this Society erected its own first shop in I870, namely, opposite the Bethesda Chapel and it is already well known that they have continued to prosper and extend, until a membership of 1850 has been reached in 1915 with a corresponding number of branch shops all over the Town in addition to the large and. ornamental shops In Albert Road while all these shops are now required in their various departments in order to cope with this immense business, which has grown with the town and during its sixty years of existence.

1861. For a few years after the Co-operative Society was formed their business was conducted chiefly in the evenings and this by the Committee, somewhat on the free gospel principle. However at this time (census year) a proper shop was rented by them across from Jepp Hill bottom and these premises were opened daily while

Old John Sellers was in sole charge of the same for some years. The-old gentleman loved to be a bit comical at times and particularly so when he thought that anybody was trying to get at him. It so happened that on this occasion when Mr. John Petty called for the census paper which he had to collect, and while carefully looking over this document he said in a friendly and congratulatory way to Mr Sellers; ‘John. You will be about the oldest man in the town.’ ‘Eh! Marry I.’ said Old John, ‘I var like sal if I live long enough!’ [I very like shall be …] However time and tide which wait
for no man has changed all this, and the Co-operative Industrial Society Limited has in 1915 a working staff in their various departments of 55 employees.

1866. Foul Syke Beck, and our neighbours at Bracewell.
At this time the Foul Syke Stream was bridged over by Mr. Stephen Broughton (mason and his sons.) This beck, which forms the Parish Boundary of Barlick and Bracewell, was a very difficult and dangerous stream to ford in flood times although there was a foot-bridge, this could not be reached without climbing over the fence and back again when reaching the same (at both ends) While the two streams at Bracewell, which were much smaller, had a few years previous to this time been bridged over, this took place before the death of Robert Hopwood Esquire, then the owner of the Bracewell Estate. Some few years after this event, Mr. John Turner Hopwood, son of the former, and heir to the estate, commenced to erect in 1868 a fine
Mansion on the site of the old Hall sometimes called ‘Abbey’ and in close proximity to the old Parish Church of St. Michael. (older than Gill) However Mr, Hopwood’s sojourn at Bracewell of Organ fame was very brief, only about five years, after which the new Hall became vacant and has remained so almost ever since. It may be remembered by old musicians in Barlick that Mr. Hopwood was a musical man who spent large sums of money on new organs during his short residence at Bracewell. First a fairly good instrument for the Church (which took the place of the useful little organ which found Its way to Bolton-by-Bolland Church) And the next, a very large instrument replaced the new organ in the church while yet another yet another large organ was placed in Mr. Hopwood’s large room at the Hall. This was a magnificent instrument built by one of the best firm in Paris. Thus there were frequent organ recitals in the Hall to which friends were invited and Mr. Fred. Archer of Crystal Palace usually presided on such occasions while Dr Spark of Leeds Town Hall presided at services in the church to overflowing congregations (musical Earby included) After the conclusion of one of these services Dr. Spark made a humorous remark while congratulating the officials and said, ‘I am sure you will have a good collection as I do know that the organist subscribed an unlimited number of notes!’ After all these services and other entertainments which were most enjoyable in this ‘Corner of Craven’ people naturally thought that Mr. Hopwood had ‘come to stay’ at Bracewell. However, such was not the case, and music lovers were disappointed and all hopes of future entertainments thus came to an end.

It is to be regretted that the large organ in the church dedicated to the ‘Glory of God’ in memory of Mr. Hopwood’s late father was some years after sold to the Roman Catholic chapel at Accrington and for few years a small American organ alas was substituted for same while more recently, and during Mr. Peberdy's vicarate, yet another organ, this the fifth instrument within living memory in Bracewell Church, and said to represent either all or part of the Munificence of Mr. Andrew Carnegie still remains in 1915. The old Bass Violin and also the Flute of an earlier period are not included in last paragraph.
1865 ADVENTURES of a Barlick Self-Taught Amateur Organ Builder. A short, and personal paragraph. In this year a small New Organ was sold to the Vicar of Kelbrook who soon after left the district and the organ was bought for ‘Hague House’ Academy. About 1869 Mr. Tunnicliffe of that place died, and at the sale afterwards, Mr. Robert Anderson of Barnoldswick became the purchaser and the instrument remained in that gentleman's care for a few years in the premises of the present Yorkshire Penny Bank. In 1868 a second new organ was built and sold to Mr. Marshall of Rishton. 1873. In that year a third new organ and much larger one was completed and sold to the Salem Chapel people at Nelson, the same being used by them for nine years when a new organ was built for that Chapel by Laycock and Bannister and the Barlick made organ eventually transferred to the Wesleyan Chapel, Walton Street, Cowling, where it still remains in 1915. For many years about this time, the services of the Barlick Amateur were in constant demand for tuning and repairing pianos, Harmoniums and other instruments and also for teaching music on the same. While even Mr. Bracewell in 1877 at the time the New Wesleyan Chapel was opened, asked the writer to offer a price for the small organ then in the old chapel which he did, and was accepted. That small instrument was rather uncommon in style, having no pipes in front but simply panels filled in with pleated red silk. 1812. Again in this year, Mr. Bracewell employed the ‘self taught amateur’ to take down an organ which he had purchased at Clapham and remove the same to Horton-in-Craven where it still remains in the Chapel there. After this a second old organ was sold by Mr. Bracewell to the writer.

1852. The Mechanic’s Institute established in the upper room of the National School. A few of its prominent leaders and teachers were the following :- Mr. John and Mr. Robinson, Turnery. Mr. Thomas Seedle Forte, Mr. Wm. Henry Hebden and later Mr. Joshua Lancaster and his sons. After a few years the education department objected to the Institute being held on the School premises and they removed to the room in Green Street over the Commercial Inn Stables and after long struggles there they, in the year 1879, formed a Committee of Trustees and purchased the Old Wesleyan Chapel (Now town hall) and School adjoining the same which included a large lecture Hall, reading and smoke rooms and had a somewhat flourishing career for some years being assisted by Government grants for the various science and art classes, and in connection with the city Guilds of London. Also a class was held for teaching Cotton Manufacture in which the late Mr. John Lancaster and several others took a prominent part in all Educational developments. The Yorkshire Penny Bank occupied a part of these premises at regular intervals and the large Hall was let for various kinds of entertainment, dancing classes, theatrical performances and mesmerick jim-crack affairs etc. All this was continued with varied success until the entire premises were sold by the Trustees to the Barnoldswick Local Board and thus the Mechanic’s
Institute came to an end in Barlick with a final farewell.

1852. BARLICK FAIR. Begun about this time and was well patronized for some years, the morning business being limited to cattle. sheep and pigs while in the afternoon a horse fair was held which in a few years dwindled down to nothing. And the same may almost be said of the cattle fair which at the present day is scarcely recognisable.

1860. TEMPERANCE SOCIETY. For years about this time this society was strong, and they organised the cheap trips to the sea-side, the people then having to start from Earby or Foulridge. The Barlick. railway not being open until 1870. These trips were at Rushbearing Holidays. The same Society also controlled the ‘Penny Readings’ entertainments which were so popular about this time. They had their ‘Walking day’ and Gala-field day on the Good Friday. The Joshua Lancaster family were the chief
upholders of the Temperance cause. Eastwoods and many others were equally staunch supporters of the Tee-Total persuasion. However, eventually, the Sunday Schools had to take up and carry on the Temperance cause. Some such in connection with the Schools being called ‘Band's of Hope’ or ‘Blue Ribbon’ or other titles to suite their fancy,

1865. BRASS BANDS. At this time Barlick had two Brass Bands. The old band and the New Model Band which was supposed to be a sort of Temperance Group consisting chiefly of young men, and as such they became very popular and for a time their services and accomplishments were highly appreciated which unfortunately came to an end after several years time. While the old Band continued in one way or another to ‘blow their horns’ and are still considered to be a fairly good Brass Band in 1915.

It is refreshing to be able to hand-down old Time stories instead of more modern history so well known to most readers. The following is one of those stories. At this time the Barlick snuff takers Fraternity was at its zenith and although this mythical band of the Old Scotch Brown snuff devotees never once advertised itself nor even registered under the Friendly Societies Act yet their affections for their object in view never wavered. On very rare occasions did these people betray themselves by the ‘Sneeze’ so peculiar to new beginners. Their Head office was ‘rent free’ at the most popular junction of the Town called ‘Lamb Hill’ and was approached by a few steps. Old Harry Hardacre was their esteemed president, an office held by him from year to year, while the vice presidents included the Rev. R. Milner (said to be a three fingers dipper), Old Johnny at Spen, old Jim Crier. and one of the Clough Tacklers while one of the guests who often found this Place was Old Ann Bennett. However, as time rolled-on, the number of members began to decrease and to the sorrow of the once welcome guests, the dear old president gave up the Ghost in 1873, aged 60 years. While the woman folk who had certain duties to perform after his death, reverently
deposited his once beloved large snuff-box in the same receptacle as his own mortal remains. While there still survives at the writer's own home a substantial proof of that little and somewhat ludicrous incident of over forty years ago.

1852. NEWSPAPERS. and the old time scraps not previously mentioned. Newspapers were in very limited numbers in Barlick and few people cared to avail themselves of such excepting some of the well-to-do class of folk. The ‘Preston Guardian’ came on a Saturday (price three pence) to Old Jim Crier's. This was a Company House for men on a Sunday and called ‘Congress Hall’ in King Street, where all the news was read and expounded by Old Fuff Townson, the Town Crier (who used a wooden ‘Rick Rack’ instead of a bell) Unfortunately this "Black Toffee shop’ was a temptation to children to spend money on a Sunday then considered to be a sin. The only so called stationer’s shop was at Town Head for a time and next house below Pear Tree Cottages and a window was specially made for old Dick Wright close to the Road-Side. However, when he removed to more central premises in Town Gate, the window was afterwards walled in and the same may be seen to the present day. Old Dick journeyed to Earby Station every weekday morning and returned to Barlick with the then required newspapers in a bag which he carried on his back and this bag gradually increased and the stationer and Newsagent had eventually to procure an assistant until the Barlick Branch line was opened in 1870. Of course this does not include what might otherwise have come by post.

1850 The ‘Hen Pecked Club’. This was a jocular and bogus institution, and was said to include all married men who were compelled to perform household duties. Hon. Sec. Old Tommy Atkinson (The writer never saw any books).

Boggarts and Ghosts. Of these there were just a few and the same were generally near some cow-keeping apartments while such beasts did an occasional groan during the time some timid folk were passing that way. There was however just one exception with regard to the "Boggarts’ and that was at Long Ing and the supposed originator of the same nobly and cheerfully carried that honourable title of distinction to the end of his days, ‘Boggart’ .
Old Lennie, the teeth extractor, was said to use a kind of pincers. for which folk seemed thankful at that time. (teeth makers, or dentists, or even false teeth being entirely unknown) Old Peggy Atkinson, the 'Pots for Rags’ dealer lived in the room underneath Old Lennie in Westgate and Old Peggy washed herself once a week whether she required it or not. Old Jonas had the same trade as Old Peggy, and he lived In the Butts, while his brother Johnny Piggy, noted for Barlick Fair Toffee lived In Westgate. Old Bill Pollard was the popular cottage house bellows mender. All these have long since passed away.

1861. The Yorkshire Penny Bank held in Butts School and afterwards removed to Green Street along with the Mechanics Institute. Mr. R. Gaskell and Mr. J. Eastwood were the local Bank Officials.

1870. FLOWER SHOW. For a few years about this time these shows were held in a large tent borrowed from Gisburn and the Parrock or the Foe's Field was used for the same, with Japanese troupe and other attractions. However such expensive affairs never proved successful and like the Brass Band Contest they were finally abandoned it being said that the promoters (although assisted by voluntary subscriptions) were out of pocket.

1870 and 1879. EPIDEMICS. These were two years of serious Scarlet Fever visitations, whilst it was said that 35 children died on the former occasion and nearly that number in 1879. (in that year the notorious burglary Charles Peace was hung on Pancake Tuesday) There were also other times when scarlet fever was prevalent, both before and since these times with additional slight visitations of small-pox-between the sixties and seventies, However it may be said that Barlick was no worse than other places who also had no water supply or proper sewerage scheme while even up to the
present time. these outbreaks in a milder form still ‘keep coming) but with far less fatal results and this in spite of all that modern science has achieved.

1870. BARNOLDSWICK RAILWAY BRANCH opened February 13th (one mile
and seven-eighths in length). This was a great event in the history of the town and a large banquet was held at the ‘Seven Stars Hotel’ for the Directors and prominent Shareholders who were to be congratulated on the accomplishment of this long felt want in Barlick. It was to be regretted that for nearly twenty years, this Company paid little or no dividend after which there was a marked improvement for some ten years and in October 1899. the original Company finally sold the whole estate to the Midland Railway Company. However it remains a truism that the Barnoldswick Inhabitants are greatly indebted to the enterprise of these pioneers of the much needed branch line of railway and it is to be hoped that all such energetic people did, either directly or indirectly receive compensation for any trivial loss of interest they might thereby have suffered. And it may further be truly said that the town could not possibly have grown as it did even at this time of its early years but more so up to the present time had it not been for the Barnoldswick Branch Railway.


MODERN HISTORY
1870 TO 1915


1870. this part of Modern history which embraces a period of over 40 years is not is not intended to be very historical but only a chronological reminder of past events in the development of the town in more recent years. Most of the same being already known to people who are middle aged or past that time of life, and thus the same will be briefly dealt with as considered superfluous to the writer's original intentions which have been all through this little work to ‘hand down’ to posterity the life and times of long ago in Old. Barlick with stories and remembrances of the good old ancestors of the present generation who then, in their day, did the best they could for the welfare and trade of old Barlick. Thus, let the memories of those who have ‘gone before’ be ever cherished as a link in the chain of time and as forerunners of the prosperity of Modern Barlick.

1870. The Elementary Act was passed, establishing School Boards where needed.
At this time a start was made for the erection of seven new shops in Church Street. Mr. R. Anderson's was the first and adjoining the present Bank premises, while the others followed at short intervals and all these were built three stories high. After the Branch Line Railway was opened the outside world soon began to find Barnoldswick and in 1874 the Skipton Building Society opened a monthly branch office in East View Terrace and appointed Mr. John Hartley as their Agent. This society was well patronized and many present day cottage property owners are indebted to this or other kindred societies for the privileges thus available in their being able to borrow capital in order to complete the eventual purchase of their own house by taking up shares and repaying in this manner both interest and principal until such property became the member's absolute freehold. There are several such societies now in the Town and Barnoldswick Building Society is one amongst the rest.

‘So don't scorn the Monkey your honourable Friend, But keep him well fed and send him ahead.’

1875. THE BRICK SCHOOL. Erected by Mr Bracewell in order to avoid a Board School and called ‘Barnoldswick and Coates Unity School’ and on January 10th 1870 the scholars were transferred to this place from the old school after the same had been condemned and Mr. Richard Gaskell was appointed headmaster there, and remained so until the end of 1878. After this time Mr. Gill of the Wesleyan School became headmaster and the school was afterwards used as a separate boys school, the Wesleyan's became a girls and infant school alone and remained so until the death of Mr. Bracewell in 1885. After which the brick school was given up and used as a Liberal Club and for various other purposes. At this time Mr. Gill left the town remarking like many other people that Barnoldswick’s days of prosperity had come to an end. Thus the Wesleyan School once more became a mixed and infants school and
under the headmastership of Mr. Isaac Barrett which honourable position was held by that gentleman until his death in 1910.

1876. CRAVEN BANK. This, the first real business branch bank in Barnoldswick was opened in Mr. B. Lean's parlour and afterwards in the disused shop adjoining the same, with the old palisades in front. And on Lamb Hill C.E. Clayton Esq. (now residing at Milnthorpe) had that first honourable duty to perform on behalf of the Craven Bank, and held that position until December 1880. The writer is indebted to Mr. Clayton for this the only trace of originality he has been able to obtain on this subject while the same gentleman kindly refers to the late Mr. James Nutter as being the first, if not his only customer on the occasion of his first advent to Barnoldswick in 1876. The Bank was continued on Lamb Hill until 1891 when the same removed to the corner shop of Church Street and Newtown when they afterwards acquired
the adjoining premises and thus became greatly enlarged, while in recent years the Craven Bank has become amalgamated with the Bank of Liverpool Limited.

1877. ERECTION OF WESLEYAN CHAPEL in Rainhall Road and opposite the Schools belonging to the Wesleyan denomination. This chapel is said to be an imposing edifice, and completed in 1877 at a cost of £8000. The munificent gift of the late William Bracewell Esquire of Newfield Edge in Barnoldswick. Mr. William Pickup of Burnley was the architect while Mr. Ormerod Whittaker superintended the mason’s work and the joiner’s work (including the organ case) was executed by Mr. Bracewell’s own workmen. This building speaks for itself and a more substantial and handsome Place of Worship of its kind is not to be found in the district of Craven.

1878.ERECTION OF BANK HALL in the Township of Coates. A beautiful Mansion, and built for Mr. C.G. Bracewell on a commanding site. This work being carried out by the same Architect and the other workmen who had just previously completed the Wesleyan Chapel.

1879. ERECTION OF BAPTIST CHURCH. A handsome and commodious place
of worship in North Street off Manchester Road.

1880. Death of Mr. W. M. Bracewell suddenly at Calf Hall, Barnoldswick. The deceased gentleman was the elder son of William Bracewell Esq. and only 41 years of age. This sad event cast a gloom over the town.

1882 May 8th CRUEL MURDER OF LORD FREDERICK CAVENDISH. Chief
Secretary for Ireland and one of the Member's for this division in Parliament which took place in Phoenix Park Dublin. This sad news first reached Barnoldswick from Clayton Slater Esq. who then resided in Canada, and wired direct here before the news from any other Source arrived.


1883. At this time a change of Postmaster in Barnoldswick became necessary, and the late respected Mr, John Lancaster was appointed on 25th January 1883 to that position and faithfully discharged the duties of the same for a period of over 11 years
resigning in April 1894.

1883. ERECTION OF NATIONAL SCHOOL at a cost of £1800 in York Street to take the place of the Old Butts School. Mr, Alfred Pollard, formerly of Salterforth National School, was appointed Headmaster and has honourably discharged those duties up to 1915, resigning in 1922.

1885. DEATH OF WILLIAM BRACEWELL ESQ. of "Newfield Edge" Barnoldswick aged 72 years. This sad even cast a gloom over the town.

1880. Death of W M Bracewell as before mentioned, at Calf Hall aged 41 years.

1889. Death of Mr C G Bracewell of Bank Hall, Coates aged 43 years. It will thus be seen that in a single decade, the three, father and two sons, sole partners of this honourable family on whom the carrying on of this large business were called from this scene of action which had engrossed their minds in no small degree during their sojourn in Barnoldswick. Arriving here in 1846 and tarrying until 1885, say about 40 years after which the end of their time came. And thus let us hope that they are now at rest in peace from their labours after having accomplished a great work for the benefit of once old Barlick.

1887. FIRST JUBILEE OF QUEEN VICTORIA. In this year on June 20th our Sovereign Lady completed the 50th year of her Reign and Great rejoicings were held all over the country too numerous and magnificent to repeat here.

1887. Barnoldswick endeavoured to celebrate the ‘Jubilee’ through the kind. munificence of Henry Slater Esq. who provided an excellent ‘Tea feast’. This was for all inhabitants over 60 and 60 years of age, the same taking place in the Baptist Church, North Street. Nearly one hundred persons availed themselves of this privilege which was under the management of a committee selected from all the religious denominations in the town. The writer of this article being favoured with the secretaryship on that memorable occasion.

In order to make the following article more continuous, namely, the erection of weaving sheds and also other matters immediately to the present time as one subject after which a return will be made to the former date and other history proceeded with in chronological order.

1887. The first important company venture in Barnoldswick, Coates Old Shed excluded was the Long Ing Shed erected at first for 1,188 looms and divided into three sections of 396 looms each, and soon afterwards extended for another 481 looms, whilst more recently another extension has taken place, thus bringing the total loom space up to 2,009. (including 274 large sheeting looms)
These premises were at first occupied by T S Edmondson (and James Nutter for a short while) Mr E Ormerod, Mr J Brown, Mr T Bowker, Messrs. Eastwood and Maudsley, and Messrs. Holden Brothers the majority of whom have passed away. While Mr R Brooks and Mr. James Edmondson very soon became tenants after an enlargement and also a removal of some of the first Tenants and have continued such until very recently. While others have at different times taken the places of the former Tenants (who have moved to larger promises) namely Messrs. Brown and Bailey’s (589 looms) Messrs. Boocock Brothers (now retired) Messrs. Dewhurst Limited, (586 looms) J. Wilson's Ltd. (596 looms) Messrs Wilson and Pearson Ltd. (200 looms) and Messrs Hartley Ltd (420 looms) Total. 2,009. Thus it will seen that not a single original tenant now remains at Long Ing in 1915.

1888. SALTERFORTH SHED erected by a Company for 400 looms and in 1899 an extension for another 238 looms took place. Mr James Slater of Coates has been one of the principal tenants since its erection and also Mr. Brown and until recently Mr. Whiteoak and several others for a short time after its enlargement to 638 looms.

1889 FORMATION of a second large Shed Company called Calf-Hall Shed Company.

1889. ERECTION OF CALF HALL SHED. At first built for 800 looms and tenanted by Messrs Stephen Pickles & Sons, Messrs Windle & Batley, and Messrs B & E. Holden. Large extensions have been made at different times since it's first erection and the total number of looms are now 1,659.

The Tenants at the present time are as follows:

Messrs. Edmondson and Company 416 looms.
Messrs Monkswell Manufacturing Co 413 looms
Messrs. B. & E. Holden 414 looms.
Messrs. S Pickles and Sons 416 looms.
TOTAL 1,659 looms.

1898. WELLHOUSE' SHED AND MILL purchased by the Calf Hall Shed Company
and after several extensions, enlargements, and other Structural alterations and Improvements, these premises contain 2,333 looms and at the present time are in the occupation of the following tenants:

Mr James Moorhouse 653 looms
Mr Josiah Windle 401 looms
Exors. Of Mr William Bailey 384 looms
Messrs. Dewhurst and Dugdale 270 looms
Messrs. Slater Brothers 236 looms
Messrs. Waterworth, Holdsworth and Company 192 looms
Mr Thomas Nutter 192 looms

Total 2,333 looms

1903. BUTTS MILL AND SHED Purchased by the Calf Hall Shed Company and after alterations and pulling down parts of the mill not required for warehouse or preparation purposes. The whole of the ground floors were utilized for loons (this sane process had previously been adopted at Wellhouse Mill) Butts premises now
contain 1,930 looms which at present are run by the following tenants, namely:

Craven Manufacturing Company 825 looms
Messrs. Wilson and Company 436 looms
Mr James Horsfield 406 looms
Mr E Aldersley 262 looms

Total 1,930 looms

1905. VIADUCT SHED COLNE Purchased by the Calf Hall Shed Company
has 885 looms. Total number of looms for which Room and Power are let by this Company In Barnoldswick 5,922. In Colne 885 looms. Total of 6.807 looms.

1889. After the death of Mr. C.G. Bracewell in this year, Mr. John Eastwood had control of the Butts premises for a few years and in Company with Mr. H. Maudsley and Mr. John Hodgkinson. Messrs. Eastwood. & Company had a number of looms and also sub-let room and power to others; the late Mr. John Wilson and the Bradley Brothers, Mr. Anthony Carr, Messrs Horsfield Bros and other names who are either merged into companies or who have withdrawn from manufacturing altogether. After Mr Eastwood relinquished his undertaking a Butts Mill Company was formed consisting chiefly of tenants with the respected townsman Mr. S Slater as secretary on behalf of the craven Bank and this company continued until the aforesaid purchase of the entire Butts premises by the Calf Hall Shed Company in 1903.

1903. MOSS SHED COMPANY. The Moss Shed was erected first for 1.728 looms and soon afterwards enlarged for another 432 looms and the tenants are as follows:

Messrs. John Widdup and Sons 432 looms
Exors. Of T S Edmondson 432 looms
Messrs. E Ormerod and Sons Ltd. 432 looms
Messrs. B and E Holden 432 looms
Messrs. Holden Brothers 432 looms
Total 2,160 looms

1905. BANKFIELD SHED Called the Barnoldswick Room and Power Company Limited. No 1 Shed built in 1905, tenants Messrs. James Nutter and Sons (who formerly had 400 looms in Calf Hall Shed) now at Bankfield and have 901 looms. Bradley Brothers who started at Butts in 1902 in Mr John Eastwood’s time and subsequently had 400 looms there are now at Bankfield and have 880 looms.

1909. BANKFIELD No. 2 shed built in 1909. The present tenants are as follows:

Mr John Sagar 400 looms
Messrs. Alderton Brothers Ltd. 200 looms
Messrs. Horsfield and Wright 200 looms
Bankfield Manufacturing Company Ltd. 200 looms
Messrs. Baxter and Whipps 200 looms.

The total loom space at Bankfield Shed is for 3,080 looms.

1911. BARNSEY SHED COMPANY LTD. New shed built to hold 2,100 looms. The following are the tenants:
Bailey and Roberts. (formerly 200 looms in Wellhouse) 420 looms
N Horsfield and Son (formerly at Butts with his brother
James with 200 looms and increased to 400 looms) 420 looms
The Rainhall Manufacturing Co Ltd 210 looms
Cairns and Lang 210 looms
John Widdup and Sons 210 looms
Johnson Slater and Widdup 210 looms
Barnsey Manufacturing Co Ltd 430 looms
TOTAL 1,320 looms


1911. WESTFIELD SHED COMPANY. New shed built to hold 1,320 looms. The following are the tenants:

Robinson Brooks and Son 900 looms
J Whiteoak and Sons 420 looms
TOTAL 1,320 looms

1915. CROWNEST SHED COMPANY LIMITED. New shed built to hold 2,080 looms and commenced on 3rd February 1915. The tenants are as follows:

Mr Anthony Carr. (formerly at Butts with 200 looms
and increased to 300 looms.) 400 looms
Mr James Edmondson. (Formerly at Long Ing Shed
with 400 looms and in 1913 increased to 600 looms) 600 looms
Mr Joseph Windle. (Formerly at Clough with 100
looms then at Calf Hall in 1888 with William Bailey as
Windle and Bailey with 400 looms. Then on own account
At Wellhouse on own account with 400 looms and at
Present is running 400 looms at each place) 400 looms
Harry Pickles Ltd. 440 looms
Mr G Dethick-Brown 200 looms
TOTAL 2,080 looms

1915. FERNBANK SHED COMPANY. New shed to hold 2,200 looms. This shed is nearing completion and is expected to commence running in September of this year [1915]. The whole of the loom space is said to be taken up. The intending tenants are:

Edmondson and Company. (Formerly at Calf Hall Shed) 880 looms
Wallers Limited. (Formerly at Barnsey with 210 looms) 440 looms
Whittaker and Company 440 looms
Alderton Brothers Ltd. (Formerly at Bankfield No. 2
Shed with 200 looms) 440 looms.
TOTAL 2,200 looms

COATES SHED. Over the canal Bridge is by far the oldest company enterprise in this parish and now has 400 looms, the present firm is constituted as follows:
J. William Myers, Wilkinson and Harrison. 400 looms

1915. (August) Yet another shed has been commenced building for Messrs. Nutter to hold 1,200 looms which will be called ‘Newfield Shed’ and owned by the Executors of the late James Nutter Esquire, JP. TOTAL 1,200 looms.

In order to complete this article, the writer concludes by giving the report of our esteemed County Councillor, Stephen Pickles Esq. On the occasion of his giving evidence to the Select Committee on the coming requirements of the town regarding the proposed water supply for Barnoldswick and the Act of Parliament required in order to procure the same from Elslack for our growing town. Mr Pickles said that. ‘In 1885 there were less than 2,000 looms in Barnoldswick and in 1896 there were 7,300 and in 1905 there were 9,500 and before the end of 1915 there would be 22,100 looms. Under normal conditions (if no war) there would be 25,000 looms by the end of 1916.’ (Extract from the Craven Herald of 30th April 1915)

The writer also desires to thank all those who have contributed to the chapter of ‘loomology’ now closed, including Mr Samuel Slater, the well-known authority on this subject and also Mr R S Windle for his kind and voluntary assistance in order to ensure correct information, whilst Mr Edmondson Banks has also willingly added his important share of correct knowledge on the same subject.

Thus it may be said that manufacturers in Barlick (generally speaking) have been very successful since their commencement. Although at times trade has been bad and also some years ago they had to contend with disputes and strikes yet taking this business as a whole, (if we may be allowed to think) the net results will be summed up as ‘SATISFACTORY’ and one thing that has been most conducive to their success in the earlier stages of their enterprise was the formation of Companies who provided the necessary Room and Power for the parties or individuals who might not otherwise have been able to do so for themselves and secured the mutual benefit of both communities, namely the speculative shed building companies and also the tenants who rented the same. Thus encouraging progress thrift and employment and the development of wealth all round and proving how the welfare and interests of capital and labour are inseparable and bound up together for the accomplishment and realization of the general good of mankind.

While other speculative Barlick Manhood has not been asleep during the last thirty years. In the front ranks of this category, the cottage-house builders are entitled to a word of congratulation, including a few real Masons and contractors and others who employed foremen. All such have done wonders by erecting cottage-houses by the score for the thousands of workpeople requiring by the increase in the manufacturing- business in the Parish.

1888 THE ST. JOHN’S AMBULANCE ASSOCIATION or First Aid to the injured. This, the first movement of its kind in Barnoldswick was organized in the autumn of. this year and the classes for tuition and drill instruction were held in the Seven Stars Assembly Rooms and were ably conducted under the supervision of H.C. Alderton Esq. Physician and surgeon and on April 11th 1889 at the conclusion of the session, a Social was held and a small token of recognition for his services was presented to Dr. Alderton on which the names of the class were inscribed, the same included over fifty students (some from Marton and Salterforth &C) namely:-

Atkinson W.P. Bradley W Green Henry
Blackburn J E Broughton J R Green William
Bailey J W Clark Hugh Hartley Leonard
Barrett Isaac Dean John Hartley George
Bell Joseph Devanney J H Kendall R (Jnr)
Blanchard T Eccleston W King Thomas
Blezzard R Garrett James Lancaster F
Bradley C E Garrett P H Littlefair W
Broughton A Green George Noble William T
MacDonald J J W Robinson S Smith Robert
Norcross John Sagar William Standing Joe
Nutter Edmund Slater Edward Suthers J T
Ormerod J E Slater F H Thompson H H
Ormerod J S Slater Frederick Uttley Thomas
Pollard John Slater Jabez Wallace S
Renton Josiah Slater Joseph Watkinson E
Robinson J Smith Edward White Simpson
Windle D A Windle J T.

The Classes had to undergo examination by another Doctor and the same was continued yearly until 1895 when the Barnoldswick Division joined the properly organized official Brigade at Headquarters thus rendering themselves eligible for Active Service either Military or Naval and praise is due to all those who have devoted so much time and labour in bringing the Barnoldswick Brigade up to it's present state of efficiency. All this having been done voluntarily and with the sole aim of the ‘good Samaritan’ for the relief of suffering humanity and such noble and devotions of love and self-sacrifice can only find a reward in the ‘conscience’ of those who have so generously performed the same, amongst the many the following are a few who have thus laboured for the success of this Association namely: Mr, J.W. Thompson (the right man In the right place) Mr. W J J MacDonald, Mr, J. Garrett, Mr. P.H. Garrett, Mr. Thos Baxter, and Mr. George Green and also others worthy of praise. It will be remembered that 53 of the Brigade were sent out to the South African War, 5 of whom never returned while nearly 100 members have been requisitioned for the present war, 12 of whom lost their lives in the Rohilla disaster at Whitby on the 30th of October 1914 while the BEM has been awarded to one of our valiant Barnoldswick boys.

The writer regrets to say that the Ambulance Association in Barnoldswick has not always received the generous and voluntary financial support which it so richly deserved. This may have arisen in part from unthoughtfulness or from being unable to grasp the moral obligations of people in a position to render help to such a noble and Christian humane cause and thus to realise that such is their privilege and opportunity for doing good to their fellow-men.

However, after the part the Brigade has taken in the present war let us hope that in future the Ambulance Association will not have to curtail it's sphere of usefulness for lack of support at home.

1814 ENCLOSURE ACT. I7th June.I8I4 Barnoldswick and Salterforth (Whitemoor) Enclosure Act passed this day 54 George III. Chapter 137. Butler’s Award made,
1877. 27th January. First meeting of the Parochial Committee held this day in the old Baptist Chapel. One part of the duties of this Committee was the enforcement of the School Attendance Act.

1890. May 14th. BARNOLDSWICK TOWNSHIP LOCAL BOARD Sanctioned by the west Riding County Council.

HOME RULE FOR BARNOLDSI4ICK. As far back as 1875 and 1883 Barnoldswick had been endeavouring to obtain a local Board, while another such Ratepayers Meeting was held on December 15th, 1889 and a further effort was made. The late William Clark took a prominent part on this occasion and 65 signatures were obtained and this led up to the Authorities granting their request through Mr F Bracewell, Churchwarden and Mr, C.P. Charlesworth, Solicitor of Skipton. 1890 the "Pioneer" November 21st issue. The Barnoldswick Local Board Election. After much speculation and excitement the result of the first Local Board Election for the new Local Government District of Barnoldswick was made known about 7:30 last evening. 32 candidates went to the poll. The result of the polling being as follows:

John Lancaster 561 Herbert Charles Alderton 578
James Nutter 292 James Broughton 310
Greenwood Wilkinson 292 Henry Slater 276
Proctor Barrett 235 John James Shutt 217
William P Brooks 211

The above were the nine successful candidates. The unsuccessful candidates were:

T S Edmondson 193 R Anderson 133 R Heyworth 176
S Pickles (Jnr) 177 A Pilkington 174 J M Edmondson 172
J B Roberts 162 William Clark 157 C Shuttleworth 153
William Sagar 169 J W Widdup 139 William Sellers 131
Richard Mitton 129 J Nuttall 111 J W Thornber 96
Thomas Dent 83 R Dean 71 John Hartley 64
Richard Bailey 61 J Pickup 57 James Slater 55
Josiah Edmondson 28

Mr F Bracewell, the returning officer, announced the result of the poll and summoned the first meeting of the Board for 2:30 on the following Wednesday (26th inst.) at the Mechanic’s Institution. Next followed the usual vote of thanks to the officers which were properly acknowledged. Mr C P. Charlesworth was the solicitor on behalf of the new Local Board.

1890. 26th November. FIRST MEETING of the local Board held this Wednesday afternoon at which Mr. John Lancaster was unanimously voted to the "chair". Mr. Samuel Slater being appointed as temporary clerk while on December 17th 1890 Charles Thornton Esq. became the permanent clerk and Solicitor to the Board and
has honourably fulfilled the duties of the same up to the present time, 1915. Charles Thornton Solicitor died August 7th 1920 aged 61 years.

It will be remembered that the Meetings of the Board were for several years conducted in the large parlour connected with the post-office (that stately old million-window room which formed a part of the ancient ‘Wellhouse Farmhouse’ which had it's back to the street and it's front to the Garden and Orchard) In 1895 the old Farmhouse and the adjoining plot of land were sold and six new shops were erected-on the combined sites. After this the Barnoldswick Urban District Council removed to the Craven Bank Chambers where the Town's affairs were administered.

1899. I4th December. The Council obtained permission to borrow £1000 for the provision of Public offices after which the Mechanics Institute became the permanent property of the U.D.C. and has ever since been recognized as ‘The Town Hall’ December 21st 1900. Town Hall opening ceremony. Purchased by the Council from the Trustees of the Mechanics Institute (formerly Wesleyan Chapel) for the sum of £373. The sum of £1000 borrowed from the Local Government Board were required for the alterations and public offices necessary for the Town Hall. Mr. A. Pilkington the Chairman performed at the ceremony using a Gold Key subscribed for by the U.D.C after which a Special Luncheon was provided accompanied by the usual Speechmaking which brought this great event to a conclusion.

1891. WATERWORKS TABLET AT WHITEMOOR. Thus:

BWW
1891
J S
(John Lancaster, Chairman)

About this time there was a great clearance from the causeways and outbuildings when some hundreds of rainwater tubs were no longer required and all this came as a ‘boon and a blessing to man’ in now what was fast becoming modernised Barlick.

1892. THE LONDON AND CITY AND MIDLAND BANK (this is the date given by the officials) was at first opened in a small lock-up shop at Butts Top, and after a short stay there they removed to larger premises in Station Road. However, after some years this place was also found to be inadequate and in 1910 the Company purchased two shops in Newtown and erected on that site the new and up-to date Bank Buildings. While the upper storey or Bank Chambers are entirely occupied by Mr, R,S. Windle, Incorporated accountancy, one who has by dint of sheer perseverance earned for himself the honourable positions in which he is now engaged. While very recently "The London Joint Stock Bank" opened a branch here in Barnoldswick and their place of business is now at the entrance to Skipton Road.

Solicitors, of these the Town in not lacking at the present time – 1915 also insurance companies in abundance.

1892. August 31st 1892. PURCHASE OF GASWORKS for the sum of £13.850 by the local Board. The vendors being the Barnoldswick Gas And Light Company who had acquired the same from the executors of the late William Bracewell Esq. a few years previously.

1893. July 17th The BARNOLDSWICK LOCAL BOARD GAS ACT received the Royal Assent.

1894 December 31st FIRST MEETING of the URBAN DISTRICT COUICIL

1895 May 8th DIVISION of the town into four wards, North Ward, East Ward. West Ward, and Central Ward.

1895 November 26th Power to appoint and revoke appointment of Assistant Overseers conferred upon the Council.

1897 July 27th Road roller arrived at Barnoldswick.

1897. QUEEN’S DIAMOND JUBILEE. This event in Barnoldswick was marked by the erection of an Ornamental Drinking Fountain and Gas-Lamp Standard Combined, and placed in the centre of Church Street at Butts Top, the same being erected by voluntary subscriptions.

1902. June 20th. Recreation Ground. One of the Letcliffe Farms having been purchased by the Council ‘King Hill’ was laid out as a Public Park whilst the adjoining field was apportioned as a Recreation Ground. These two folds being set apart for the use of the ratepayers. The remainder of the land together with the buildings being still let as a farm. The opening ceremony was performed by the Rev. F. W. Patten, Chairman on the above date.

1903 WINTERBURN WATERWORKS opened requiring a I0 miles pipe track to the top pool of the Leeds & Liverpool canal at Greenberfield in this parish.

1903. January 1st. BY LAWS relating to Recreation Ground sanctioned by Local Government Board.

1905 March 15th. Order of the West Riding County Council appointing four guardians. (one for each ward)

Since the formation of the Local Board no less than 27 Local Government Board enquiries have been held in order to receive sanction to borrow sums of money varying from £250 up to £10,514. The chief purposes for money has been so borrowed are as follows: Gasworks, Sewerage Works, Recreation Ground, Private Streets and Roads improvements, Isolation Hospital, Public offices, Fire-brigade equipment etc. While addition and extensions to most of the above works have demanded the attention of the council from time to time.

NAMES OF CHAIRMEN since the formation of the Local Board.

I. JOHN LANCASTER Elected November 1890 to 1896
2. HENRY SLATER April 11 1896 to 1898
3. ALFRED PILKINGTON April 1898 to 1901
4. REV F. W. PATTEN April 1901 to 1904
5, JAMES NUTTER April 1904 to 1907
6. JAMES EDMONDSON April 1907 to 1910
7, FRED HARRY SLATER April 1910 to 1913
8. WILLIAM EDWARD HARPER April 1913 to 1916

OVERSEERS 1915 - 1916

JOHN JAMES SHUTT, WILLIAM HENRY MAUDE
JOSEPH WINDLE, RICHARD BROWN

WEST RIDING COUNTY COUNCILLORS FOR THE BARNOLDSWICK DIVISION.

1889 to 1898 Sir John C, Horsfall Bart.
1898 to 1904 Rev. L.B. Morris.
1904 to *** F J Wilson Esq.
1907 to 1913 Stephen Pickles Esq.,

AREA OF THE PARISH OF BARNOLDSWICK AND BRACEWELL

BARNOLDSWICK 2130 acres
BRACEWELL 1920 Acres
BROGDEN 1670 acres
SALTERFORTH 650 acres
COATES 700 acres

PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS. SKIPTON DIVISION.
1885 Sir Matthew Wilson Bart. Liberal 5059
Mr S C Lister Cons 4269
1888 Mr Walter Morrison Union 4423
Sir Matthew Wilson Lib 4289
1892 Mr C S Roundell Lib 4700
Mr W Morrison Cons 4608
1895Mr W Morrison Cons 4902
Mr J A Farrar Lib 4763
1900 Mr F Whitley-Thompson Lib 5139
Mr W Morrison Con 5007
1906 Mr W Clough Lib 5834
Mr R F Roundell Cons 5601
1910 Mr W Clough Lib 6579
(Jan.) Mr R F Roundell Cons 6071
1910 Mr W Clough Lib 6151
(Dec.) Mr R F Roundell Cons 6100
1918. A turn of the tide. Colonel Roundell’s majority 2,281. In 1922 he had 3023 majority. In 1923, 1391 majority. October 29th, 1924, The New Conservative E Roy Bird had a majority of 5,977 in a three cornered fight.

OBITUARY OF LATE MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL
12 June 1897 James Broughton 68 years
11 Dec 1897 John Lancaster 56 years
11 June 1899 Henry Slater 68 years
11 Nov 1903 John Pickup 71 years
4 May 1904 Greenwood Wilkinson 80 years
8 March 1907 Robinson Heyworth 70 years
12 Aug 1907 Alfred Pilkington 57 years
18 April 1909 James Slater 74 years
14 Feb 1914 James Nutter 69 years.

POPULATION OF BARNOLDSWICK SINCE 1801
1801 769 1861 2110
1811 892 1871 3117
1821 1344 1881 4028
1831 1612 1891 4131
1841 1849 1901 6381
1851 1848 1911 9703
The population of the parish at the last census, 1911, was 10,704. The population of each ward at 1911 census was: East, 2,947; North, 2541; West, 2,405; Central, 1,910.

INDEBTEDNESS ON 31ST DAY OF MARCH 1915. (less balance in sinking fund)
Gasworks, £31,112. Water, £7772. Sewerage, £13,823. Isolation hospital, £150. Recreation ground, £1086. Town Hall, £390. Private street works, £292. Fire Brigade, £270. Highways, £2,249.

1915. THE DISTRICT RATE AND POOR RATE which are subject to alteration according to the requirements of the Council are as follows:
District rate 3/6 in the £ realising £6872. Poor rate 3/- in the £ realising 6078.

Gas costs 3/- per 1000 cubic feet.

RATEABLE VALUES. (on the 1st day of April 1915)
Rateable value, £45,248. Assessable value; £43,319. One penny rate equals £180. Debt under sanitary rate, £27,386. Whole indebtedness, £58,496.

1915.The following list constitutes the present members of the Barnoldswick urban District Council. Chairman William Edward Harper Esq.: Vice chairman James mercer Edmondson Esq. North Ward, W B Barrett, James M Edmondson and Josiah Windle. East Ward. Rev. W F Patten, William Edward Harper, James Edmondson. West Ward. Thomas Nutter, John James Shutt, Richard Brown. Central Ward. Frederick Henry Slater, Fred Robinson, William Henry Maude.

There are also co-operated with the above list of Councillors several gentlemen and also two ladies who are sanctioned by the County Council to assist on one (or both) the following committees namely: The Local Pension (old age) sob-committee and the District Education Sub-committee of Provided Schools.

1915. Looking forward. BARNOLDSWICK URBAN DISTRICT COUNCIL WATER ACT.
The above act obtained the Royal Assent on July 29th, 1915. Owing to the rapid growth of the town the Council decided to make a further provision for the future water-supply (that most needful commodity) and after considerable opposition in
both houses of Parliament their endeavours were eventually rewarded by the scheme which enable the Council to provide sufficient water for a population of 30,000. This scheme is estimated to cost about £100,000. The Council are to be congratulated in securing a Farm from George Lane Fox Esq. on Elslack-Moor which possesses an abundance of water from natural springs and the same will be conveyed from Elslack Moor to a high altitude reservoir near the Barnoldswick Recreation ground.

The services of the most eminent water engineer expert (Mr Gilcock) were obtained and the present scheme was prepared and submitted to Parliament. The Council was represented before the Select Committee by Messrs. William Edward Harper (Chairman) James Mercer Edmondson (Vice chairman) and the Rev. F W Patten (Finance chairman) together with the clerk Accountant, and water manager. Messrs Patten, S Pickles, C C and S Slater gave evidence in support of the scheme. Several other professional experts also gave evidence (including Engineering and Rainfall experts) while the Council engaged the services of three members of the King’s Council to represent their case in addition to Messrs. Lees and Company, the Parliamentary Agents.

Inasmuch as several of the last pages have (with very few exceptions) been devoted absolutely to the Town's affairs, and most of the articles and statistics, both financial and otherwise are derived from the council Year Book for 1915-19I6, the only reliable
source from which such valuable information was obtainable, the writer hereby acknowledges with thanks, on behalf of this little work the kind assistance thus willingly rendered by the loan of the same, or in any other like manner, by the Gentlemen holding such honourable positions and their kindness to oblige.

1915. With the increase of population in Barnoldswick the West Riding County Council have had recently to erect larger Day-Schools at the junction of Gisburn and Skipton Roads while another such school is in contemplation at ‘Lane Ends’.

Also in the meantime the Roman Catholics have built a new day-school of their own adjoining their present church in Gisburn Road. While the west end of the town seems to have been entirely overlooked and ought to have had a day-school in Calf Hall Road (or thereabouts) for the accommodation of that part of the town, instead of the children having to tramp half a mile elsewhere.

1910. THE INDEPENDENT METHODIST’ S erected a large Sunday school adjoining their Chapel (in Walmsgate) costing about £2,500.

1911. THE WESLEYANS erected a large Sunday School behind their beautiful chapel in Rainhall Road. The Wesleyans have also recently erected a neat Mission Chapel in Calf Hall Road and also secured a plot of ground (off Gisburn Road) for another mission chapel (Chapels are not called churches)

The Congregationalists have recently built a temporary chapel (off Gisburn Road) and secured a plot for a larger place of worship at no distant date.

The Church of England have also purchased a plot of land for a new church at the entrance of Skipton Road and near the present St James’s church which has to be replaced on this site by a more commodious sacred edifice.

The Spiritualists have also two places of worship in the town, and the Salvation Army have a place of worship called ‘Barracks’.

By the way of a change and also by request, the following tale copied from the ‘Pioneer’ is inserted in this work as being interesting to lovers of what may be called ‘Historic Legends’.


THE PIONEER. April 1st, 1910.

ST MARY A tale of Gill Church, Barnoldswick (by Henrietta Blackburn)

I t w as in the cold grey dawn of a winter’s morning that Prince Rupert stood beside the Monastery containing a few remaining Monks of the Cistercian order which stood near the Old Roman Church at what is now called Barnoldswick. He had crossed the border from Lancaster on his way to Manchester to join the forces of Sir Marmaduke Langley, and delivered important messages from the king to Sir Marmaduke. The Prince had come from a skirmish at Atherton, near Bradford, and was trying now to gather forces again as he expected more battle and slaughter before long. News had just been brought that Cromwell had also crossed the border with a fair good. Company and that orders had been given to allow no quarters to the soldiers of the king.

Prince Rupert had but a very small Company, a mere handful only and he knew that it would be sheer madness to be overtaken or encounter the larger party of Parliamentarians. so he ordered each of his twenty men to look out for himself till the enemy had passed as he was aware that they had already arrived at Marton where they were staying the night.

The dawn came very slowly and Prince Rupert stood alone. His men had scattered in various directions, when his eye caught sight of a speck in the distance just on the breast of the hill, which turned out to be a maiden just budding into womanhood. She was dressed in the manner of a Yeoman's daughter of the well-to-do class. She had a very voluminous skirt, short bodice, and pointed velvet cap who was evidently taking an early morning walk and the Prince whose courtly bearing and brave front were
pleasing to the ladies, vaulted the wall and was soon within speaking reach. Doffing his bonnet in his usual courtly fashion he said, "Fair maid. I can see thou art one of the King's loyal subjects and in the name of the King I beg thee to help me. I must find shelter from the enemy for a few hours until they have passed. I can see by the kindness of thy face that thou wilt succour one of his majesty's subjects and find me a hiding place" The maid listened, and a slightly frightened look came into her face, and her voice quivered a little as she answered. "Yes, I am a loyal subject of his majesty but I do not know where to find thee shelter, as the enemy misses nothing and nowhere but if thou wilt follow me I will try my best. And wilt thou follow quickly, as the daylight will be on us soon".

She led the way across the fields towards the church. Not a sound could be heard, even the trees seemed to have stilled their rustlings in the hours between dawn and daylight. The Prince followed with stealthy tread and they reached the churchyard, winding their way in and out between the gravestones which stood up bold and grey looking twice their size in the morning's gloom. They reached the door at last, and she put up a warning finger as she gently pushed it open. The body of the Church was in complete darkness but the candles on the altar were still burning casting a lurid light around themselves. Mary stepped cautiously inside and the white-faced fugitive followed, when she turned to the left and led the way up a narrow winding staircase. Up, up they went right on to the leads where they could survey the surrounding country. But all around was grey and chill. Not a speck of light or sign of life could be seen. But stay, what was that? It was a human voice which was carried in the thin morning air, and a second and a third voice could be heard although they were yet some distance away. The two silent listeners knew that they were the voices of the enemy who were out seeking for the prince. Now, for the first time since they had entered the Church, Mary spoke saying in a whisper, “Come along there is no time to lose” And they retraced their way into the chamber of the bells. There are three bells hung in a row across the tower, and they almost touched the floor. Indeed it is only when the bells are pulled that the clappers are seen at all. She beckoned to the Prince and as he stood at her side she whispered in his ear, for well she knew that the slightest sound. would travel and betray her. Then he caught hold of the top of the bell while she knelt on the dusty floor and caught the clapper, and then pulling off her tiny velvet cap with it's snowy white border, she put it between the clapper and the bell and noiselessly pressed it to the side. Rising she went to take her place at the bell's head, while the Prince curled himself up inside it. Then she slowly let the great bell downy and not a trace of the Prince cou1d be seen. She hastened her steps down from the belfry into the vestry where she found the robe and scapulary of one of the sisters, and putting them on, completely covering her dress and hair. She knelt before the burning candles and began to tell her beads. So earnest was she in her prayers that she did not hear the searchers enter the church. One of them stood behind the kneeling figure but the figure was motionless, not a motion or quiver could he seen nothing he heard but the soft metallic sound of the beads as they passed through the
fingers of the worshipping nun. The man standing behind her was the leader of the search party, and also a devout catholic and the burning candles and the silent sister, praying here in the lonely church in the dawn, moved him very strangely.

He silently left the sister putting up a warning finger as he joined the rest of the company at the church door. Then motioning two of his men to follow he led the way up the winding stone staircase into the belfry searching every corner as they did so till they reached the leads and had found nothing. Then the captain turned to his men and sad “Go down gently, and do not disturb the meditations of our sister who is a true sister of the church to keep such a lonely vigil and not likely to harbour an Enemy to our faith"

As silently as they could they left the Church, each one crossing himself as he passed out. The Captain, with his head uncovered was the last to leave and did not. resume his hat till he had left the churchyard. He was wending his way to Thornton Village about a mile away.

Mary still knelt silently telling her beads till the dawn began to break through the windows, making the candles look grey and ghostly in the early morning light and filling the aisles and pews with uncanny and chilly shadows.

It had not been more than a few hours, but to the figure under the bell it had felt like a lifetime. He could scarcely breathe, and every joint seemed to be breaking and he felt that if he was not relieved from his cramped position soon he could not long survive. But what was that? A gentle footstep. He clasped. The clapper of the bell more tightly and the touch of the velvet bonnet gave him strength again to bear the pain a little longer. Then a whisper came saying "Hold the clapper and I will go into the room below and pull the rope. I think I can manage it better from there, and Mary our Blessed Lady be with us" The Prince heard the pit~pat of retreating footsteps, and then the bell began to slowly lift and he felt the cold morning air; and then a shaft of light broke across his feet and the bell went higher and higher. He pushed out his feet and he heard his joints crack as he did so. Then the bell was lifted high enough for him to creep out, but his limbs were too stiff to move.

The morning was perfectly still, even the birds had not begun to twitter, and he could hear the cracking of the bell-rope as he sat there, the clapper resting on his breast. But the rope cracked again and the bell was slowly descending so he managed to roll out on to his chest and work himself out of the bell and still kept hold of the clapper encased in the red velvet bonnet. The bell fell silently into it's place and the clapper hung loose. He placed the bonnet into his breast pocket.

When Mary had mounted the steps he stood upright before her with his hand upon his heart and gave her a most courtly bow. She stood before him in her simple satin gown and her golden hair done lightly over it's rolls making a frame for the beautiful. cameo-like face and he bowed again saying, “Good morning fair dame. To thee I owe the sight of this day's light. May those bright eyes never shed tears for thy kinsmen in distress" and again he bowed before her.

She had carried the nun's dress over her arm and she now held it out to him saying, “Good morrow Sir. Now sir, thou had better put on this robe and then you can cross the fields for as to-day is the Lord’s Day the people will come to worship early and we must away. And Mary the Holy Mother protect thee and turn thy heart back to the
faith of thy fathers”.

The Prince quickly put on the gown and was ready to follow his deliverer out into the chill morning air. Not a living thing was to be seen as they crossed the fields behind the Church to the house of Ralph Mason, Yeoman, the father of Mary. All was still here. They went round to the back of the house. and pointing to a bay mare she said “Take the mare, it is my own and thou can'st go across these fields to Eshton where thou wilt find some of thy Company also thine own steed and my mare will find her way back if thou hast not further need of her. So take it, thou hast no time to lose.”

Then throwing off the gown of the nun he mounted the mare and lifting his hat he rode off and was soon out of sight behind the trees and Mary slowly turned into the house. It was still early In the day and she could scarcely realise that it was only a few hours since she had left her bed. It had looked years almost. So much seemed to have happened. Mary was first in the Church that day and after she had replaced the gown and scapulary in the place she had found them she went up to the belfry and with the besom she found there she removed all footprints from the dusty floor and none told their beads so earnestly and so devoutly as did Mary Mason on that Sabbath morning in October 1646.

The troublesome times continued and Mary Mason entered the cloister and became one of the most devout and saintly of women. It was her hand that often smoothed the pillow of the dying and helped to uplift the fallen. Her gold hair had been replaced
By the white bands around the now more beautiful though more sorrowful face making it look more cameo-like than before, so saintly and white in its repose. Though sometimes it bore a look of regret or repentance as she knelt before the altar at her prayers.

The war was almost over and the country was becoming calmer when one day several horsemen could be seen crossing the field towards the church, but when they reached. the door of Ralph Mason's farm the leader of the little band dismounted and begged an audience with the farmer. When the Prince (for it was he) returned, his face wore a drawn grey look, and as he bid his courtiers wait for him, he wended his way to the church. It was with weary and leaden feet that he went through the churchyard and found his way into the aisle that led to the altar. As he did so a white-gowned figure approached him and motioned him to follow her into a tiny room where hung a crucifix and where burned several lighted candies around a white shrouded figure of which the nun turned down the coverlet, and disclosed the dead face of ST MARY MASON.

The Prince fell on his knees beside the still figure and the sister discreetly withdrew and took up her post outside the vestry door. While inside the strong man wept and kissed the dead hands crossed so devoutly over her breast. Then he stood besides the head of the figure and pictured that dear dead face as he first saw it with it's little velvet bonnet and an uncontrollable wish to see it again as he had once seen it came over him. He tore away the white bands and drew the little velvet bonnet from his bosom and gently put it in their place and he kissed the cold brow and lips and great sobs shook him as he clasped the sleeping form to his heart When the sister returned he held up a warning finger as he laid the body down again and the num made it straight and re-adjusted the pure white bands around the marble-like face and the Prince was gone.

Amongst the Crown Jewels of England is a small crown with the top part of brown velvet and no one (except the Royal Family) up to now knew that the velvet with its border of almost priceless jewels was the small pointed bonnet of a yeoman’s daughter.

But it is a fact can be verified if one can only see the chronicles of the family which say “The Prince Rupert entering to the monastery where he died, caused the Church of Gill to be rebuilt and hereafter dedicated to St. Mary Mason who should have been the consort of Prince Rupert, who gave up all claim to the throne, not caring to bear
the crown without it sharing it with the woman to whom he owed his life.

Prince Rupert died a catholic with the hope of joining again the maiden who risked so much to save an unbeliever and an enemy to her church through her loyalty to her king. The crown, with it's little velvet top is supposed to be a talisman against evil and when any important papers are to be signed or strange people to be met it is always worn. And so far it has proved itself so for no one has ever come to disaster who has worn the little pointed bonnet of the Yeoman’s Daughter, ST,_MARY MASON.

BEFORE CONCLUDING, the wrier here calls back a few historic facts which have been hitherto omitted, namely:
In 1843, or about that time the first ‘Lucifer’ matches were brought into Crowfoot Row by George Livsey who had returned from ‘livering-in’ his hand loom pieces at Colne. This caused a flutter of wonderment and curiosity in the town. These matches were tied up in small bundles and were slivers of wood with a tip of brimstone at the end and why they are called ‘Lucifers’ is suggestive of their connection with Lucifer’s majesty. However, matches in small boxes soon became very popular and the old flint and steel and tinderbox, which had hitherto served their purpose became a thing of the past.

1850. BOBBBY WATERWORTH, a Barlick shoemaker, was also a composer of music. He published a ‘tune book’ containing Hymn Tunes, Chants and Responses. He was the father of the late James Waterworth, Shoemaker of Church Lane, Barnoldswick.


1852. Old Tom Jolly (Hewitson) the Blacksmith at Butts Top was said to be a reformed man and an Evangelic connected with the Benevolents, and when he gave up his trade he kept a sort of day-school in a room under the Chapel at Townhead. School fees one penny per week.

1853. The Archbishop of the West Indies, the Right Rev Enos Nuttall, spent his early days in this Parish. He is the son of the late James Nuttall of the middle cottage of the three just over the Canal Bridge at Coates. He attended the Butts School until he was about 13 years of age.

1850. Bracewell Boarding School. Under the tuition of the Rev. Thomas Hayes, Vicar, sent forth several good scholars, including Clergymen, and also the late Astronomer Royal for Scotland, Sir Ralph Copeland, who held that eminent position on Colton Hill Edinburgh before the observatory was removed to outside the City on Black-man Hill, where he died a few years ago. Mr. Copeland was a native of Shropshire and cousin to his first wife, Miss Susannah Milner of the Vicarage, Barnoldswick.

1860. Wagonette. Bob Burrass (Eastwood) was the first to introduce this class of vehicle and in addition to Weddings and Buryings he did a good business in taking school and other parties for long drives outside the town.

Old shows and waxworks exhibitions and various other kinds of shows were well patronised by the young folk while even Sam Bell and old Neddy and old Eck and old Demaine were never absent. (the old shows were called ‘jackanapes’)

Kit Wigglesworth of Syke House could boast how he saw a Boggart on Henhouse Brow but he kept the real secret to himself.

Old Wilfred of Stainton Hall was the most popular ghost story in days of yore.

While old Dicky Waddington of Pikeley Fields could tell some serious tales about the Boggarts at Tosbar Syke.

Old Jacky at Doctors was the only twine manufacturer in Barlick and Gillions Lane was his place of business.

Old William Thornber was a keen and a good fisherman. He lived in the Butts and owned the Hill Top Farm. He would go as far as Howgill for a nice basket of trout and Clogger's Beck was often visited by him.

Old Tommy Atkinson could sometimes catch a trout in Butts Beck and one day the writer told him of a ‘snig’ (eel) which he soon secured.. That fish was twenty inches long. Just fancy. (Butts beck over 70 years ago)

Coates Old Mill where some kind of ‘Supping Stuff’ was made in the gas house which had a strong flavour of whisky. This was done on the sly by two of the workpeople and we may suppose that a ‘wee drap’ was very good on a ‘Cold and frosty morning’.

Barlick Annual Merry Neet of jollification (This has no connection with the colour of hair required for wishing good luck on ‘New Year's Morn’) Merry Neet was held on the fourteenth day of January and called ‘Old New Year's Day’ the same as the 7th of January was called ‘Old Christmas Day’. This was brought about by our country adopting the new style Kalendar of Pope Gregory XIII which had been in force on the Continent since it's introduction in the sixteenth century whereby at this time England’s Kalendar varied eleven days from the rest of Europe.

By the Statute of 1751, these days were dropped out of the month of September in 1752 and the old style was discontinued. Hence it was that some folk could not understand the reason why such a change was necessary and thought they had been cheated out of the days so dropped. Barlick’s Merry Neet lost its charms and its reminiscence of Sir Roger de Coverly over half a century ago.

TOPOGRAPHY
BARNOLDSWICK possesses natural privileges which are peculiar to itself. Namely that wherever you live or in whatever part of the town you reside you may be set free from the bustle of busy life in ten minutes and enjoy a bit of fresh air and country scenery although within the last twenty five years this privilege has been somewhat curtailed by the rapid building extensions. Nevertheless the same facilities held good although to a lesser degree. And all these privileges are by nature the heritage of the residents and as such may be truly prized. Namely, the dozens of public footpaths which converge on the town in almost every direction. And the numerous beautiful and quiet country lanes, be the same rough or smooth, where one may take their leisure in peaceful retirement and without fear of being molested or endangered by new and Modern travelling machinery.

In 1870 the inhabitants of Barlick were deprived of one of those beautiful footpaths ‘all through the fields and meadows gay’. This was half a mile long commencing in Newtown and terminating on the canal towpath between Coates and Eastwood Bridges. The new railway line crossed this footpath about one hundred and fifty yards from it's entrance was used as a pretext for the closure of the full length of the same. This was considered to be a lost privilege although one which few dared to contest, in those days of ‘mum and hush’ or ‘Tubber Hill’. The foot-path just mentioned was invariably called by old folk thus:- ‘Down Jack Shutt Fields to Coates’ the Shutt being or said to be owners of Wellhouse Farm. Previous to the same becoming the property of the ‘Bracewells’ after which Old Tom Slater farmed this land, and the path gradually changed its name to ‘down Tom Slater's fields’. The respected old Grandfather of our worthy townsman, Mr Samuel Slater.

THE DISTRICT OF CRAVEN in which this Parish is situated extends about thirty miles Southwards from the sources of the Ribble and Wharfe (Cam Fell) to the border of Lancashire and includes the first twenty miles in the course of the Aire and the whole fertile district from Bingley to Mytton. The Deanery of Craven embraces 55 parishes which number has considerably increased as a result of many sub-divisions of parishes.

For the sake of those who take an interest in the present article we here insert a table showing the different altitudes of a few of the best known places and elevations in the Parish and taken from the latest ordnance map of this district.

(All in feet above sea level)
Weets 1300
Lister Well 1100
Brown Hill 826
Tubber Hill 775
Recreation Ground (Men’s shelter) 725
Church Street (broad arrow on steeple 547
Canal towing path 488
The Hospital 475
Near Broad Ing Bridge 440

It will be understood that the altitudes in the Parish vary from a little below 440 feet up to 1300 feet above sea level and this gives a clear variation of over 860 feet. So that plenty of scope is given for the exercise of those who enjoy a bit of ‘dree’ climbing and are gifted with a good pair lungs and a desire for exercise and fresh air followed by an appetite ‘as hungry as a hunter’.

Just a few of the most prominent mountains and hills as seen from the Weets and the recreation Ground. From Weets may be seen Blackpool Tower and Big Wheel looking due West over Chatburn and. Clitheroe while in this direction are Pendle Hill. (I,831 feet above sea level) Longridge Fell (1,149 feet) Barlack Pike (1,7011 feet) while more to the right are Waddington and Grindleton Fells and North is Ingleborough and Pennighent and from the wall-side looking over Harden are Cowling Pinnacles and more south to Boolsworth (1,700 feet) Other views will be
obtained from Recreation Ground Shelter, the most popular resort.

The Weets does not give much view Eastward not even of Barlick (from its highest point) However a good view Eastwards is obtainable from Brown Hill while some of the Lake District Hills can be seen on a clear day looking through the hollow at the foot of Little Ingleborough to the left of same from Weets.

Recreation Ground (Men’s Shelter) views which may be seen from other hills but reserved for this favoured resort starting on the extreme left are Harrop Moor and various hills and fells in Bowland Forest. While a little more north can be seen Croasdale Fell (1.433 feet) Bowland Knotts and Whelpstone Crags and further north is Ingleborough with its flat top (2,373 feet) while more to the right is Simon’s Fell and still more so is the highest mountain to be seen from this place, Little Whernside (2,414 feet) with its rounded top and the distance of 26 miles as the crow flies deceives the eye as this mountain seems lower than its neighbour, Ingleborough. While due to the North (but much nearer here) are the Settle and Malham Range of
Hills with Rye Loaf Hill (1,794 feet) the little knoll which crowns this range can be seen as well from the corner of Church Street direct north. While more still to the right are Fountains Fell (2.191 feet) and Darnbrook Fell (2,048 feet) next comes Great Whernside (2,310 feet) near Kettlewell and almost in a line with Gargrave. Then comes Rylstone Fell (of White Doe fame) and Flasby Fell and Sharpah and Crookrise then Embsay Crag and due east is Simon’s Seat (1,592 feet)

These last named places may be seen from outside the Men’s Shelter, and this brings us to the end of the crescent of irregular mountains. While the country itself is equally interesting to all admirers of beautiful and varied Landscape Scenery, the most noteworthy of which is Malham Cove.

There are a few grand old houses in the Parish. Coates Hall is a fine old mansion. Gill House is an ancient Mullion windowed spacious building and there are also several similar specimens of Farm Houses on a smaller scale. The oldest ‘bit of mason’s work’ in Barnoldswick is to be seen at the old house dated. 1714 (before mentioned) off King Street in the back lane, namely the top stones on the wall which have a mould on the edge and are a very quaint old style.

About the highest inhabited house in the parish is Duck Pond. This plot of swampy moorland was purchased over sixty years ago by Mr Gregory a leather merchant of Burnley who had the same cultivated, drained and manured with boat loads of Guano which came from Liverpool to Coates. And thus the once happy rendezvous of the wild duck became a farm with all the necessary buildings and a dwelling house which formed the residence of Old Gregory who ended his days in that solitary and peaceful region ‘so near the sky’.

WATERSHEDS. The major part of Barnoldswick Parish is in the Ribblesdale while a very considerable area is in Airedale including almost the whole of the township of Salterforth. While a small part of Barnoldswick Urban District Council is also in Airedale. This lies to the left of Tubber Hill, Dye House and most part of Higher and Lower Park and across to Barnsay.

BROGDEN TOWNSHIP is entirely In Ribblesdale.

COATES TOWNSHIP is in both dales, Aire and Ribble. While this parish (Barnoldswick) contributes to three rivers, a small stream from Sandyford joining the Calder thus running round the South side of Pendle Hill and joining the Ribble from the North side of Mytton on its course to Preston.

SALTERFORTH. Which may be said to be deprived of some of its natural rainfall by the canal and also (according to information) by the introduction of a drain on or near Moss Farm the water of which was originally conveyed under the canal and into Salterforth stream.

THE WEETS contributes most of its rainfall to Barnoldswick while the western slopes go down to Smithies Bridge, Sawley and the Northern slopes form the source of Foul Syke this brook having no real spring is sometimes entirely dried up during a long drought. The writer has seen Mr Ignatius Crook of Aynhams Farm fetch water for weeks during these times with horse and cart containing tubs from Lane Bottom for his cattle and domestic use.

THE LISTER WELL AND WHITE HOUSE AND HALL SPOUT. Three good springs almost entirely contribute their support to the Leeds and Liverpool Canal.

Therefore, we are bound to confess that Barnoldswick people are greatly Indebted to the two excellent springs, Dark Hill and Swansey Carr, Lane Bottom which are in themselves a source of wealth-producing energy and also NATURAL BLESSINGS.

It may also be said that about one half the weaving sheds are supplied by canal water.

OLDEN TIMES. It may also be interesting to remind present day readers of a few facts and reminiscences which existed in Old Barlick before the 1850s. There were no stationer’s shops only a small cottage near Pear Trees, Townhead and if you wanted a lead pencil or copy-book or steel pens you had to travel to Townhead for them. All clothing, both for male and female had to be ordered before-hand as none was to be had at the shops. While clogs and shoes came under the same category. Stockings, chiefly home knit. All bread made at home, no bakeries in the town excepting Oatcake bakeries. No kinds of tinned fruits, or jam jars, or bully beef, or any such eatables was to be had at the shops. House-wives boiled goose berries &c coming from the gardens, only two-pence a quart. No tomatoes, celery, bananas, dates or any kind of fancy eatables was procurable. No packet of bacca of any kind
but only Skipton loose cut shag bacca. Hundreds of people in Barlick could neither read nor write. No Road Steam Roller, the broken stones requiring months to settle on the roads. No dentists or false teeth. No Railways, no motors or charabancs no bikes or prams or wringing or sewing machines. No Gas or Gas ovens and a [dearth of] many other useful articles. And still the fact remains that even without all the aforesaid commodities the Inhabitants lived and died and begat sons and daughters in Old Bar1ick.

COCLUDING REMARKS.
This little history, now concluded in its present form was not intended to introduce into its pages at all the modern scientific developments social, domestic or commercial. With all the hundred and one wonderful improvements which have come into use for the benefit, comfort and enjoyment of present and future generations. All this we may truly say has been accomplished and realized within the living memory of middle-aged people of the present day and one may now look back with pleasurable satisfaction upon the results of increased prosperity which is to be seen, not only in the town itself, but also in the suburbs and outskirts of the same which are adorned by those lovely dwelling places, the likes of which were, up to 1885, not even dreamt of in Old Barlick. And not to mention the number of miniature millionaires and other equally worthy citizens for fear that any such remarks might be misconstrued as tainted with flattery in so doing.

Thus, while not claiming any educational attainment to perfection, nevertheless I am pleased to think that I have in some degree succeeded in what were my primary motives which prompted me to record what seemed to have been, up to this time, either neglected or otherwise considered unworthy of attention by more eloquent persons than myself. Namely. OLD BARLICK HISTORY.

This having now been accomplished in a simple and homely manner, and with the kindest regards to all those ancestor’s names may have been used as a name to illustrate what was intended. Thereby I sincerely trust that this little work will be accepted in the same friendly spirit in which it has been written.

Since the last of Loomology were made there have been a number of changes of manufacturers. Some by total retirement from business, others from compulsion or misfortune, Mr. Hartley of Thornton has extended his sheeting business to a large part of Crow Nest Shed. F. Suthers and Sons are now manufacturers at Wellhouse Shed. A firm named Petersons have started at Long Ing Shed and there may have been changes at other places.


[Transcribed from two versions of the original manuscript by Stanley Challenger Graham in April 2004. 41,090 words]



























A
Admergill 15
Almshouses 16
AMBULANCE ASSOCIATION 59
Amos Nelson 7
Atkinson 17
Ayes 7
B
backtin 27
Bagshaw 6, 15
BANK HALL 54
BANKFIELD SHED 57
BAPTIST CHURCH 37, 54
BARLICK FAIR 50
Barnard 7, 14
BARNSEY SHED 57
Barrett 8, 15, 25, 54, 60, 61, 65
Barrowford 8, 14
Beds 21
Bedsteads 21
Bennett 25, 32, 33, 51
Bentham Square’ 41
Berenger de Todeni 3
Bernulf 3
Bethesda 32, 37, 38, 39, 40, 42, 48
BIBLE HAWKING 47
Blacksmith 15, 45, 71
Blezzard 22, 60
Blue-Hill 30
Boarding School 71
bobbin-winders 22, 30
Boggarts 52
Bonnet 28
Bracewell 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 12, 16, 17, 22, 25, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 45, 46, 49, 50, 53, 54, 55, 57, 61, 62, 71
Bracewell Estate 49
BRASS BANDS 51
BRICK SCHOOL 53
Brockden 6
Burton 7, 11, 41
Busfield 15
Butler Award 10
Butts 19, 22, 23, 24, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 38, 39, 40, 41, 45, 52, 55, 56, 57, 58, 62, 63, 71, 72
BUTTS MILL 56
BUTTS SHED 33
C
Calderbank 7
CALF HALL SHED 56
Canal 8, 9, 10, 14, 15, 40, 41, 43, 71, 73, 75
Candles 28
Capstick 7
Chartists 20
CHARTISTS 20
Cholmondeley 16
Church Street 13, 36, 38, 53, 54, 63, 73, 74
clogs 24, 27, 28, 47, 75
Clough 10, 13, 17, 31, 32, 33, 45, 48, 51, 58, 64
CLOUGH 31
CLUB WALKS 44
coal 13
coals 9, 10, 13
Coates 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, 17, 31, 40, 45, 47, 48, 53, 54, 55, 56, 71, 72, 74
COATES SHED 58
Coldocke 7
COOPERATIVE 48
CORN LAWS 29
CORN MILL 36
CRAVEN BANK 54
Crier 13, 23, 24, 25, 51
Crinoline’ 43
Crook 16, 25, 75
Crossley 8
Crow-Row 14
Crowfoot 14, 71
CROWNEST SHED 58
D
Damhead 26
Daubers Dole 17, 44
Dean 13, 15, 18, 25, 37, 60, 61
DOOMSDAY BOOK 3
dress 26
Duckworth 15, 18, 25, 39
E
Earby 5, 16, 17, 22, 30, 33, 49, 51
Eastwood 7, 15, 25, 42, 52, 55, 57, 71, 72
Edmondson 8, 15, 23, 24, 25, 41, 43, 45, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 61, 65, 66
EDUCATIONAL MATTERS 36
Elementary Act 53
Enclosure 10, 60
ENCLOSURE ACT 60
Engine 10, 15, 34, 35, 39, 42, 43
EPIDEMICS 52
F
Fence-End 17
FERNBANK SHED 58
FLOWER SHOW 52
Forrester’s 23, 28, 45
Foul Syke 49
Fountains Abbey 5
funeral cards 44
G
Gamel 3
Garfot 7
GAS 46
GASWORKS 62
Gill 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18, 19, 23, 30, 32, 35, 36, 42, 44, 46, 47, 49, 53, 67, 70, 74
Gillions 10, 16, 17, 72
Gledstone 6, 7, 16
Graziers 15, 16
Great Croft 33
Green-End 30
Greenberfield 8, 9, 63
Greenough 7
Greenwood 8, 18, 36, 61, 64
Gregson’s 3
Greyhound 15
Greystones 15
Grimshaw 16
H
hague 10
Hall Spout 9
HAND LOOMS 22
handlooms 14, 31
Hargreaves 8, 15, 25
Hasty Pudding’ 27
hearse 23
Heber 16
Hey 22, 25
Higgins 8
Holdsworth 15, 17, 56
Howarth 33, 40
Hudson’s 14, 22
I
ILBERT DE LACY 3
Inghamite's 10
Ireson 7, 19, 46
J
Jepp 12, 14, 18, 23, 45, 48
John Dean 7
K
King William Rufus 4
Kirkstall 4
L
Lamb 13, 15, 16, 25, 51, 54
Lancaster 3, 7, 16, 25, 30, 33, 42, 50, 51, 55, 60, 61, 62, 64, 67
Lidgett 23, 24
Limestone quarries 9
Lister Well 9, 73
Livsey 14, 16, 25, 71
LOCAL BOARD 61
Long Ing Shed 55
luvver’ 26, 34
M
Mark Hacking 7
Marton, 3
May-Pole’ 30
Mechanic’s Institute 50
Methodist 12, 42
MIDLAND BANK 62
Milker’ 22
Mill Lane 19, 28, 38, 39
Milliner 28
Milner 6, 7, 15, 18, 21, 25, 36, 46, 47, 51, 71
Mitchell 8, 10, 13, 16, 25, 38, 39
Monastery 4
Monks House 7
Moor Cock 15
MOSS SHED 57
Mount Saint Mary 4
N
National School 15, 17, 22, 36, 50, 55
navvy 30
New Ship 19
Newfield Edge 30, 33, 35, 43, 54, 55
NEWSPAPERS 51
Nuttall 45
O
oatcake 27
Oddfellows 14, 39
Orchard Street 39
ORGAN 18
P
Parish Church 5
Parrock 8, 33, 34, 52
Patten 7, 63, 65, 66
Peele 7
Pinder 7
plaid 27
Pontefract 4
POOR RATE 65
porridge 29
POSTAGE 18
Power looms 45
putter-out 22
Pyncombe’s 15
Q
Quakers 10
R
Railway 30
RAILWAY 18, 52
Railway Hotel 17, 39
RATEABLE VALUES 65
Rawsthorne 15, 18
Recreation Ground 73
Reservoirs 8
Riding 4, 14, 32, 42, 43, 61, 63, 66
Riley 7, 25, 42
Roger of Poictou 3
Ronge 20, 21
Roundell 6, 7, 14, 15, 16, 18, 64
Rushbearing 34
Rushworth 10, 12
S
Salterforth 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, 18, 22, 24, 29, 41, 43, 46, 55, 59, 60, 74, 75
SALTERFORTH SHED 56
Sandyford 12, 74
Serlo 4
Seven Stars 15, 23, 39, 42, 52, 59
Sharpe 12, 25
Shawl 28
Shoemakers 16
Slater 16, 17, 19, 22, 25, 27, 33, 38, 39, 47, 48, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 64, 65, 66, 73
St, Mary-le-Gill 5
St. James' Church 14, 15, 17, 22
steam engine 10
Stirabout 27
Stock 16
Stott 7
Sweep 26
T
Tanjib 20
Taylor 8
Telegraph 19
TEMPERANCE SOCIETY 50
Tempest 5, 7
THE WEETS 75
Thomas Mallaby 6
Thornton 3, 5, 6, 10, 12, 14, 16, 30, 36, 39, 61, 68, 76
Toothill 12
Town-gate 13, 14
tune book’ 71
tunnel 8
V
VIADUCT SHED 57
VICARAGE 21
W
Waite 15, 18, 25, 33, 42, 46
Wasney 17
WATERWORKS 62
Waterworth 24, 25, 46, 56, 71
Watson 8, 25, 42
weather cock 23
Wellhouse Mill 34, 40, 41, 47, 56
WELLHOUSE' SHED 56
Wesleyan 19
WESLEYAN CHAPEL 54
WEST RIDING CONSTABULARY 41
WESTFIELD SHED 58
Westgate 13, 52
Whitemoor 10, 12, 15, 60
WHITEMOOR 12, 62
William Drake 6
Windle 16
WINTERBURN 63
Woods 7, 42
Y
Yorkshire Penny Bank 52
Stanley Challenger Graham
Stanley's View
scg1936 at talktalk.net

"Beware of certitude" (Jimmy Reid)
The floggings will continue until morale improves!

User avatar
Stanley
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 38185
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 12:01
Location: Barnoldswick. Nearer to Heaven than Gloria.

Re: OLD BARLICK BY WILLIAM ATKINSON

Post by Stanley » 17 Jul 2012, 05:06

I got mail this morning referring to Old Barlick.

I live at 34/36 Church Street, on the corner of Lamb Hill, andI follow with
interest your weekly article, "Stanley's View", in the Barlick and Earby
Times. I have recently carried out some research on the previous occupiers
of my house and have found certain information that is in variance with
that contained in a booklet in Barlick Library. The booklet is titled, "Old
Barlick", prefaced by Stanley Graham. Page 64 of the booklet shows a modern
photgraph of my house and the adjoining house, no.32, which is the shop
premises of 'Whichcraft'. The information supplied with the photograph is
that my house was Tommy Hudson's house and that it is possible that this
house and the house attached, now "Whichcraft", were built by him in 1838
and that the two buildings were known as "Hudson's Buildings". In point of
fact although it is likely that "Whichcraft" was built in 1838, my house is
much earlier, being at least 18th Century, the carcass possibly being
earlier than that. The whole of the front of the original ground floor of
my house is now below the present ground level, and 50% at the rear is now
below the present ground level. The original street pavement is still
present below my exisiting forecourt area with the original front windows
and door, below the present ground level. This is in consequence of the
culvetting of Gillians Bec in the 1830's, resulting in the raising of the
ground levels at the front of my house and its side in Lamb Hill. At the
same time an upper story was added to the house to compensate for the loss
of the ground floor. The Deeds of my house show that the owner/occupier in
the late 19th Century was Alice DEAN, nee LAMB and she died there in 1908.
The Birth records show that Alice LAMB was born in the house in 1822, and
baptised 12/05/1822, her parents being John and Sarah LAMB. It is possible
that Lamb Hill takes its name from John, although it is also possible that
he inherited the house from another LAMB after which the hill is named.
There is a 19th Century pew in Ghyll Church with John LAMB's name on a
brass plaque. The 1841 Census shows John LAMB living in my house with his
daughter, Alice, and a female servant. It is apparent that by then his
wife, Sarah, had died. The 1871 Census shows Alice still living at the
house but now with her husband, Benjamin DEAN and their daughter, Isabella
DEAN. Benjamin DEAN was the son of John DEAN and the DEAN family are shown
living at Monks House, Barnoldswick Lane, (now Manchester Road), in the
1841 Census. With regard to Hudson, you may already know that there is a
Hudson pew in Ghyll Church and also a Hudson's Yard off of Butts Road, near
its junction with Church Street. In addition, I have seen a 19th Century
map of Barnoldswick that seems to indicate the terraced cottages in
Walmsgate, to the west of the butchers, as being Hudson's Buildings,
although the placing of the name on the map could confuse the actual
location of Hudson's Buildings.

I hope that this is of some interest to you and I would welcome your
comments. My email address is:

Roy Bunn.

Roy, thanks for the mail. You are right about the confusion which buildings exactly are 'Hudson's Buildings'. The 1853 map is ambiguous and the census doesn't help because his address is given as Hudson's Buildings. Then there is the matter of the palisades which have been replaced now which Atkinson referred to in Old Barlick. As I always say, research alters the story and your evidence, which I don't doubt for a moment, deepens the mystery. I have always suspected that The buildings on the corner of Butts could be a better bet because of Hudson's Yard but have never found any direct evidence. So I agree with you, the jury is still out on Hudson's Buildings. One of these days..... Best S.
[I'll post this mail with the transcript of Old Barlick on the site]
Stanley Challenger Graham
Stanley's View
scg1936 at talktalk.net

"Beware of certitude" (Jimmy Reid)
The floggings will continue until morale improves!

User avatar
Stanley
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 38185
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 12:01
Location: Barnoldswick. Nearer to Heaven than Gloria.

Re: OLD BARLICK BY WILLIAM ATKINSON

Post by Stanley » 01 Oct 2016, 05:01

Bumped!
Stanley Challenger Graham
Stanley's View
scg1936 at talktalk.net

"Beware of certitude" (Jimmy Reid)
The floggings will continue until morale improves!

User avatar
Stanley
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 38185
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 12:01
Location: Barnoldswick. Nearer to Heaven than Gloria.

Re: OLD BARLICK BY WILLIAM ATKINSON

Post by Stanley » 06 Oct 2016, 05:06

It is very satisfying to see how many people have accessed this rare text. Well worth the trouble of transcribing it and also add the re-published version on Lulu.com. Old William deserves this attention!
Stanley Challenger Graham
Stanley's View
scg1936 at talktalk.net

"Beware of certitude" (Jimmy Reid)
The floggings will continue until morale improves!

Post Reply

Return to “Rare Text”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users