FRED TAYLOR

Stanley
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

FRED TAYLOR

Post by Stanley »

FRED TAYLOR

It's the 8th of September and I see from the BET that my old friend Fred Taylor celebrated his 90th birthday on the 5th. Thank you BET because I have to confess that as I became less mobile I lost track of him, shameful I know, after all he's nine years older than me!
I first met Fred over fifty years ago when ASDA, the new owners of West Marton Dairies, bought the cheese factory at Sedbergh where Fred was the cheese-maker. I was a driver at West Marton and sometimes had occasion to go up there. I took to Fred the first time I met him. A Dalesman to his backbone he never lost the soft Cumbrian accent that sits so well on the ear. I soon found out that his cheese was good as well!
Move on a few years and Fred was at Marton which had been converted from a bottling dairy to cheese. He came as cheese-maker and from then on I saw him on a daily basis. He soon moved to Salterforth and in the fullness of time married Newton Pickles' daughter Joyce which meant there was another connection. Sadly for all of us, but Fred in particular, Joyce died before her time and Fred was a hero, he looked after her wonderfully in her last illness, par for the course, he is that kind of man. Anything I know about cheese, I learned from my time at Marton and especially from Fred. As any of you who know me is aware, I am a nosey beggar and always ask questions.